We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No question it was a clear candidate for the second star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Can Jubany

Can Jubany
Carretera de Sant Hilari Km 15, Calldetenes, Spain
938891023
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $50 - $120
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Girona, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No question it was a clear candidate for the second star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a superb experience in Can Jubany. Practically flawless,
Service was top notch. The best of all restaurants with one star we've been to and better than the attention we got at el Celler last time we visited a couple of months ago.
They were many, very kind and very professional, and the setting is fantastic. They rebuild this old Catalan countryside house to perfectly accomodate the restaurant feeling modern but preserving its identity very well. It reminded me of the impression I got when I first visited El Racó de Can Fabes, unfortunately closed last year after the chef died unexpectedly.
Food was incredibly well presented and executed. I detected not even the slightest flaw in the cooking, not too raw, not too salty, not too burned neither too prepared in advance, as you sometimes happen to guess.
To write home about was the rice with 'esperdenyes' and the brod with prawns cook a la Japanese in the table. My wife enjoyed a lot the oyster, a bit too much like what I had at 41º by Albert Adrià.

Worth saying that even if the chef is a bit of a celebrity he is very nice and approchable. I love how he publishes many of his recipes online in their website.

What is missing for a second Michelin star? nothing at all. Did the critic broke up with his girlfriend the night he visited? otherwise I'd be very curious to hear how this restaurant is at the same level of many others with one star in Catalonia with not so good execution, worse setting and worse service. Only Massana in Girona compares to this one and that is also an unfairly rated restaurant.
For a third? maybe a more defined and easy to identify style. Maybe, and this is just my guess, some dishes were too safe and others were too similar to famous chefs' dishes like the ball of cheese made with liquid nitrogen.

Anyway, if not getting a second star will keep the prices from rising, then I'll thank Michelin for being unfair to this place. Otherwise, please, wake up and do well your job, Michelin! we still need your guide because the trendy list of Restaurant Magazine is too short and too single-minded to replace yours any time soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    20
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Igualada, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Each dish is a creation where the ingredients are combined in a sensory harmony of smells, colors, flavors and textures. In the garden, don't miss the showcase of kitchens in operation, a spectacle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“invention meets impeccable attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

every dish was a unique creation, from a raw carrot to an ice-cream gorgonzola football, from starters to dessert you are in the hands of an incredible team..no fault to be found right from the design to the actual dining experience...a triumph.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Superstar: Excellent and better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have been to this restaurant several times and I can proudly say that he is one of the most talented and honest chefs I have met in my life. He is so down to earth and humble that makes you appreciate even more his food.

The restaurant is located about 40 minutes from Barcelona, in a cute country side little town, the restaurant is located in a old "Masia" where he grows his own veggies and eggs. The restaurant is very cute and nicely decorated. The menu is long and has great choice for all kind of clientele. The food is served in a very sophisticated way but you can still see, smell and bite your food.

The service is good, perhaps the only thing to improve is that they can barely speak spanish or english, given that is a very traditional Catalan town and everyone there mostly speaks the local language.

I think this is probably the chef with the greatest future and we will all definitely hear about him not only in Spain, but around the world.

Don´t miss the chance to visit this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gave the vacation the little extra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

6 adults, 5 kids - all giving Can Jubany top rating. We went for the season meny, and the restaurant provided with the little extra for the kids bringing the experience to new levels. Can Jubany is best suited for couples/business, and we where not sure if this gave value for money for the kids (age 9-14). But it did! They loved it (though not all the food, but they tried!), and so did we. Can Jubany is a surprise, try it - you will not regret it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Jubany also viewed

Tavernoles, Province of Barcelona
La Vall de Bianya, Province of Girona
 
Tona, Province of Barcelona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Can Jubany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Jubany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.