We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelican Inn

The Pelican Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pelican Inn to your Saves list
The Pelican Inn
Warminster Road, Stapleford SP3 4LT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Stapleford B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very friendly helpful staff who were all attentive, Evening meal was good as was the cooked breakfast. Room warm and spacious and good hot shower. The bed mattress was very soft but this might suit some people.
A good place for a stopover etc and ideal for people with children or dogs as both are welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
17
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here as needed to attend a business meal just up the road. Accommodation is set to the rear of the pub, well heated room, obviously can also cater for people who want to have toast etc, as one of the rooms has a kitchenette area. Comfortable bed, warm well heated room, digital TV, tea and coffee facilities in the room. Nice breakfast cooked to order. Very friendly staff giving a warm welcome and also very helpful in dealing with enquiries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Friendly staff, great food and value for money. Plenty of parking and a nice warm fire features in the dining area.Good range of ales, extensive food specials on board. BBQ area in the garden for warm days. Room adequate but could be updated, no problems though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

called for lunch on 24/8/12 on our way to Bournemouth.
My wifes BLT ciabatta was fine, my so called steak and brie was awful..soggy..hardly any brie and the steak was two tiny pieces of gristle.
Complained to the barman who said ' SORRY ABOUT THAT MATE' and that was it.
Shocking customer service,poor quality ciabatta, and no suitable apology or due consideration.
very annoying, wont be visiting this couldnt care less place again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stapleford hotels

The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
507 reviews 507 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Arrived at five...dinner is not served until six. The wonderfully warm and welcoming bartender urged us to wait..."Ranked second in pub food!" he proudly announced. We were hungry and would be forgiving had the food been better than average. Bruschetta arrived on soggy non pre-toasted bread. It would have been average or better had the bread not yielded before our teeth arrived. Her salmon was farm raised, cooked just about right, but assaulted by a dill browned butter sauce that was more than browned. The salad as well assaulted by a dijon mustard dressing. My battered fish was just O.K. a reasonable portion which had little zest. The mashed peas were a green glob that caused on-going intestinal distress for several days following.
We waited. We were promised it would be worth the wait. Was it? Nope!

Room Tip: we ate there...it is also an Inn and I heard a number of folks who appeared to sound satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We held an 80th birthday party here and the staff were universally helpful and friendly. The food (a barbeque) was very good and the normal/specials menu was also imaginative and, when we tried it later, delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our annual family meet was held at The Pelican , we were pleasantly surprised.The annexed rooms were spacious clean and comfortable and the menu choices were extensive for all including the four vegetarians in our party.We had a 3 course meal during our 2 night stay, the food was exceptional,and the portions were large and well presented. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff they were cheerful and helpful at the same Well done Pelican--highly recommended for visitors to Salisbury and the surrounding area. We will return.

Room Tip: all rooms face the garden/outside seating area so choice is irrelevent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Inn

Address: Warminster Road, Stapleford SP3 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Stapleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stapleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pelican Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelican Hotel Stapleford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelican Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.