We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway from the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Husa Sant Bernat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Husa Sant Bernat to your Saves list
Husa Sant Bernat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta. Santa M Palautordera a Seva Km. 20.8 | Montana Finca El Cot, 08460 Montseny, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Montseny
Wilmslow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located in the Montseny nature reserve at an altitude of 800m this is a great hotel to spend the weekend. It is about an hour drive from central BCN. We used the hotel as a base to go walking in the mountains and there are many different and challenging hikes that you can start nearby. The views and scenery are spectacular from the hotel grounds and also from the balcony of the room. Make sure you stay in the original part of the hotel and ask for a mountain view. We stayed the first night in the new wing which is nice and modern with a really big bed but no balcony and no view. When you return from your days activities sit in front of the open fire with a big St Bernard for company before you go for dinner. The restaurant has a fixed or a la carte menu. We ate there both evenings having the set menu on Saturday and chose from the a la carte on Sunday. Both meals were excellent and great value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: In the old building. 2nd floor. Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hotel is in a breathtaking location, and is perfect if you want a peaceful holiday,

We stayed in the main building. Ourrooms were large and comfortable although we would have liked a safe in the room. They are in the newer section.

We didn't eat much in the hotel but the food we did have there was good although expensive.

There is a beautiful patio at the rear of the hotel with stunning views.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

You will need a hire car here although there is a taxi service from the nearby village.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Located in the middle of the mountains of Parc Natural de Montseny, this is a beautiful place for a relaxing weekend in nature. It is only a 45 minutes drive from Barcelona city, but you feel as in a different world. A small road leads you through the the Natural Park and to the hotel, and once you are there you should go walking/hiking in the surroundings of the hotel. (There is nothing else to do in the surroundings, so I don´t recommend this hotel if you don´t like hiking in the mountains :-) ) They also have rooms for meetings and weddings. The food in the restaurant is good, but menu prices are relatively high. Breakfast is good, but the view from the terrace on a sunny morning is better. I stayed one night in November 2010.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a truly wonderful hotel in the most beautiful location. Cannot find a single bad or negative thing to say. Although only rated a 3 star hotel, in many ways it surpassed many 4 and 5 star establishments where we have stayed. Do try to book a balcony room with open country views, well worth the small supplement. Our room ( 233 ) was delightful. The buffet breakfast was very good, nice selection of things. Best of all was two Nespresso coffee machines with a selction of sachets. A nice change from the usual undrinkable hotel coffee ! We also used the restaurant which was reasonably priced and provided set lunch and dinner menus as well as full a la carte. Without exception, the entire staff were kind and helpful.
Best of all were the 'resident' St Bernard dogs ( 3 ). Although we can imagine some guests might find them a bit intrusive, they are the most gentle and good natured breed in spite of their size. This did not seem to put off a large number of couples with small children who were fellow guests. However, in our view, it is not a suitable hotel for young children. There is an outside swimming pool, but no shallow area for little ones. Also although the hotel is only on two floors, there is no lift for parents with buggies.

There was plenty of room to park your car and free WIFI. All in all, a most enjoyable 4 day break.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

As a Belgian expat couple living in Barcelona, we want to discover more than just the city. That's why we booked a night at Husa Sant Bernat mid of June as part of a road trip in the Catalan country side.
Where to begin...First of all the trip to the hotel is just fabulous. We drove for about an hour in park Montseny, and we didn't cross a single other car, we felt very far away from the city. Arriving at the hotel's ground is just fabulous... The hotel perfectly blends into the environment and the views are just magnificent. While we parked our car, 3 St.Bernard dogs came up running to us, greeted us, and guided us to the front desk.
We only paid 85euro on a Thursday night, but I'm sure we got a free upgrade as our room had a lovely balcony, over viewing the beautiful hills. The bathroom looked a bit outdated but was very clean.
During our stay it was raining a lot unfortunately, but we decided we will be back during the summer.

In short: Very recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Husa Sant Bernat in May, and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! The room was very comfortable and the view of the surrounding mountains and countryside from our balcony was breath-taking.
The 3 resident very friendly Saint Bernard dogs followed us around the grounds and were eager to take us on the hiking trail behind the hotel.
We had dinner in the restaurant and it was superb, and the wines were reasonably priced.
We would definitely stay here again if we come back to the area.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Great peaceful location, characterful building, friendly and helpful staff, roaring log fire, and the friendliest St. Bernard dogs you're likely to meet. We ate in the restaurant both nights, and enjoyed the set menu, which at 26€ seemed very good value. The hotel is right in the middle of the Montseny national park, so a good base to explore, although you will need a car.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Husa Sant Bernat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Sant Bernat

Address: Crta. Santa M Palautordera a Seva Km. 20.8 | Montana Finca El Cot, 08460 Montseny, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Montseny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Montseny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Husa Sant Bernat 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Husa Sant Bernat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Sant Bernat Montseny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husa Sant Bernat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.