We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Foresta del Salto del Corvo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Foresta del Salto del Corvo to your Saves list
La Foresta del Salto del Corvo
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Strada Provinciale Nunziata Puntalazzo, 10, 95016 Mascali, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Mascali B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nearly excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

La Foresta del Salto del Corvo is in a quiet and fairly remote location, about 8km from Giarre. It's ideal as a base for exploring the east and north east corner of Sicily by car.

The staff were really friendly staff and our room was comfortable, although hanging space for clothes was rather limited. There was a good choice of breakfast with use of homemade and local produce. You should try the evening menu at least once during your stay - the menu is set with whatever food is available on the day and the food was excellent.

There were only a few things that held this back from an excellent score: 1) You have to go right round the building and down some concrete steps to get to reception - it felt like entering through the back door. Parking at the top of the steps is limited and it's quite a way up, round and down to reception if you have to park at the front of the building; 2) There's very little sound insulation between the room and the corridor, meaning that downstairs toilet fans and TVs in other rooms can be heard very clearly; 3) The area around the swimming pool could do with a good tidy up - the photographs on the main website (http://www.laforestadelsaltodelcorvo.it) were obviously taken quite a few years ago and both the ground and the facilities have become a bit scruffy over time.

However, don't let a few negatives put you off. This is a really nice place to stay, and eat, if you're looking for somewhere away from the tourist hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I recently stayed for a few days at La Foresta with my partner and son (aged 9) on a trip to Sicily and we loved it so much we went back for the last day of our holiday to experience it all again - it was definitely the best place we stayed in Sicily. It's a haven of peace, beauty and warmth. A great combination of feeling as if you're staying in a wonderful Sicilian family house whilst enjoying a boutique hotel experience. We found La Foresta on the side of Etna with beautiful views out to sea and near the village of St Alfio and on our arrival, we were very warmly welcomed by Matteo the son of the owner who then showed us to our gorgeous room (comfortable beds, lovely linen and a sense of Sicilian past). We immediately felt relaxed by the spirit of the place - it oozes calm and peacefulness. We then ate in the gorgeous little restaurant that evening and wow what an experience. Its a small but perfectly formed menu and such great value too. The local wine was delicious. I think by the end of our stay and between our lunch and evening meals we had sampled the majority of the food, lovingly cooked by Matteo's brother. We were completely impressed with it all. The day always started with a fresh and home made continental breakfast too and we were looked after by the lovely Melissa who is a true asset to La Foresta's staff. It's well worth trying their home made pistachio cream on toast - it's to die for. Then the day was spent around the huge swimming pool (which is beautifully kept) - my son absolutely loved it as it's large enough to play ball games and dive into without any impact on other swimmers. It's also worth noting that even though our stay was in peak season in August, the place has a lovely calm ambience even when fully booked. Mornings around the pool were always quiet and even when we did see some of the other guests in the late afternoon, there wasn't really any impact on our space as it's such a huge pool. We also booked a trip up Etna through Matteo and it was perfectly organised and a great experience. Matteo and all the staff run the place beautifully - always professional but low key so much so that you never felt harrassed but always knew they were there if you needed anything food or drink wise. La Foresta del Salto del Corvo is definitely a very very special place in so many ways.
Louise Doyle

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Thanks to friendly and kind staffs, my family really enjoyed short stay in east Sicilia. Especially, big clean pool, restaurant food, Etona volcano tour by professional guide are outstandingly excellent. A lot of green surrounding was also very relaxing us. (Japanese family with 9, 6 years old)

Room Tip: Some rooms have veranda, some rooms don't. Room which has veranda is better to dry clothes and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

La Foresta is a great agriturismo located in a quiet, remote location surrounded by fruit trees and vine groves and use of a car is essential.It has fantastic views of the sea and mountainous woodlands. Very friendly staff, good choice of breakfast. Matteo, Melisa and the rest of the the staff do an excellent job and are attentive to your requirements. Evening meals available which are gourmet standard. If you just want something simple like a pizza or fries then they can do that as well. La Foresta offers Mount Etna tours which you simply book via Matteo and is definitely worth the trip. La Foresta is in an ideal place for exploring the Eastern side of Sicily with the resorts of Taormina, Noto and the beach all within relatively easy reach. Siracusa and Agrigento need a bit more travel time but are possible. The large swimming pool offers a relaxing time when you just want to chill out with refreshments always available. The rooms we had were quite small but had what we needed and were clean. There were some other rooms which seemed bigger so you may need to make requirements known when you book. As with most agriturismo's, they are a point of return after exploring and sightseeing and therefore shouldn't be classed the same as an hotel. Having said that, La Foresta offers more than some 3 star hotels that we've been to. The staff let you decide how you want to spend your time. The is no pressure to do anything or buy anything you don't need. We were sad to leave - definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony. Second floor rooms have poor WiFi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon to Sicily, and of everywhere we stayed this place was my favorite. You're on the foothills of Etna, Taormina is 30mins up the road, and from the hotel you have great views down to the sea. Except, it didn't really feel like a hotel, more like the perfect combination of staying in a hotel and staying in someone's home. Matteo, the guy who runs the place, has just decorated the whole property really well - and it has a very arty feel. And we were made to feel genuinely welcome by him and all his staff. Could've stayed there for much longer. If you go, I would definitely advise taking the option at least one night to have dinner there too. We did - it was 4 courses of superb home-cooked food and local wine that we were able to enjoy slowly, without the stress of driving out somewhere. Again, you feel like you're in someone's home and they want to look after you, but without being pestered at all. (Best pasta dish I had in Sicily - thanks guys!). Our room was great, really comfy bed and generally just felt very snug in there. Swimming pool was excellent too. If you're visiting this area of Sicily and don't want the awful stress of staying in Taormina or one of the beach towns, and prefer to stay up in the hills and just be really looked after by a lovely group of people, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I made an error re. the dates when booking this hotel. I accidentally booked it for June whereas we were traveling in July. The hotel called me on the day where they thought we would show up which of course caused a bit of confusion on my part. However they have handled this mixup of dates on my part in the best and most helpful way. My impression of the place is that it is a really personalised experience based on helpfulness and hospitality and I look forward to hopefully visiting in real life some other time soon (as July turned out to be booked).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

A very nice weekend spent at the agriturismo.. All family enjoyed it and will be back soon. Place is quiet, clean with lots of outdoor space for children to enjoy. Nice dining room with great fine food served. Breakfast is also good, a little basic but ok. Enjoyed breakfast in the sun by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Foresta del Salto del Corvo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Foresta del Salto del Corvo

Address: Strada Provinciale Nunziata Puntalazzo, 10, 95016 Mascali, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Mascali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mascali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Foresta del Salto del Corvo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 15 'from the Sea of Taormina, 20' from the craters of Etna, 40'dall 'Catania Airport, lives the Forest of Salto del Corvo. 8 Acres of Land from fruit and a farmhouse of the XVI century farmhouse with 12 rooms and two swimming pools overlook valuable suckers along the coasts of the Eastern Mediterranean, water Odysseus and King Arthur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Budget Places so you can book your La Foresta del Salto del Corvo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Foresta Del Salto Del Corvo Mascali, Italy - Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Foresta del Salto del Corvo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.