We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull place, stunning panorama, great host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amada Carlota Hotel Rural

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amada Carlota Hotel Rural to your Saves list
Amada Carlota Hotel Rural
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Cotariella 16, 33310 Torazo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torazo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rosmalen
1 review
“Wonderfull place, stunning panorama, great host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a must go when you visit Asturias and picos de Europa.

This place is nicely designed, panorama's out of every room are beautifull, guestrooms are with good beds, hot showers, nicely decorated.

Enjoy the sunrises over the top of the hills with the "clingle/clangle" from the cows in the distance....

Carlos and Yolanda are the best hosts you can think off, Carlos know the places around, ask for things to do/visit you will not be dissapointed, take a seat in the lovely restaurant and enjoy the cooking of Yolanda.... A recomandation, her cooking is verey creative, for us it was at star level!

We booked 2 nights but stayed 6 nights. Go for Parque Ponga and beaches Carlos know about, beautifull.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    7
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
79
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in La Casa Blanca, Xiranes whose owner recommended Amada Carlota to us for dinner and advised that booking is a must. As it was our 18th Wedding Anniversary we decided to give it a go. Carlos was very welcoming when we called in to book our evening, giving us the choice of Gastronomic or Japanese tasting menu. We chose the Gastronomic. Arriving on our chosen evening, we were again warmly welcomed to Carlos who led us to our table which was beautifully laid in an intimate setting. Only one other couple were dining so 2x2 tables. The restaurant does not cater for many people [maybe 12 at most] and it soon became clear as to why. Every course was served by Carlos who took time to explain the ingredients and the source. Yolanda presented each course in a unique and pleasing to the eye manner. Such a shame to disturb it by eating each morsel. Carlos advised us on the wine to have and it was delectable - completely right as accompaniment to the meal. Overall, the complete Menu degustacion was well balanced, properly seasoned, light and easy so we could savour every mouthful allowing the flavours to circulate around the mouth and palate. All ingredients were obviously fresh and lovingly cooked. At the end of the menu, Yolanda joined us. Our fellow diners were Dutch so could converse; Carlos was our interpreter. Carlos then treated us to a liqueur he himself had made. Delicious. We had an incredible, amazing and - yes - divine experience at Amada Carlota and cannot recommend enough. It is A MUST if you are travelling/staying in the Asturias region. We were there in the evening so couldn't enjoy the views though Carlos told us to come back during the day so that we could do so. Unfortunately time did not permit. However we drove all around this area and can well imagine what the views are like from the Hotel. Stunning, awesome, sensational! The mountains and valleys are breathtaking. For true gourmands, the Menu degustacion Verano 2013 comprised: Sopita de Citricos, Cuchara de Salmon fresco, Milhoja de Queso de Cagra y Kumato, Crema de Tuberculos, Huevo frito con Patatos, Bocado de Manzana Verde, Pato confitado con Manzana, Pastel de Carlota, Pan, Cafe - all for the very reasonable price of 27.50 euros per person plus drinks. My memory is salivating with recall of this dinner as I type! Thank you Carlos and Yolanda for a simply marvellous evening we will not forget!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riguepeu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 years ago (before we were into writing reviews) and now feel we must add our comments to all the others.
We were extremely well looked after by Carlos and Yolanda with our food cooked to order and of high quality. The views are stunning if the mist is not obscuring everything, it is a chance you have to take.
The house is delightful, spacious but keeping a rustic feel.
We were made extremely welcome and although we only stayed 2 nights we have a special memory of amada Carlota.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights. Just getting there is special. Coming from the sea, the road winds up the mountains. We had seen the green of the coastal mountains from afar. Now we are in the middle. The air smells of grass and herbs.
Then you turn off from the main road. Beautiful views of rolling hills and valleys, and in the background you can see the first peaks of the Picos.
The hotel itself is beautiful decorated. The rooms and bathrooms are modern and cozy at the same time. The view from the terrace is amazing. We hear the ringing of cowbells.
Carlos and Yolanda are very amiable hosts. Carlos was always there for special insider tips. Moreover his "Spanish Lessons" have satisfied our curiosity.
Last but not least we have to mention another highlight, the culinary delights prepared with loving attention to detail by Yolanda and presented by Carlos - a real treat for the eyes and for the taste!
We hope to come again and can highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

although staying in the same village I came here every morning for an excellent breakfast and great advice from Carlos for sightseeing in the immediate area. Nothing is too much trouble for him and his wife Yolanda who is the powerhouse in the kitchen....we dined here one night and I can't describe how much I enjoyed her cuisine.....local ingredients, sympathetic flavours and great modern twists,, unbelievable value for money....I will certainly be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. We paid extra for a terrace room - and it really was worth it. The view was incredible. The room was clean and modern although a little basic (eg. There was no tv). The dinner in the restaurant was fantastic. We ate there every night and really enjoyed each meal. Carlos, the owner, spoke very good English and was extremely helpful with sight-seeing suggestions. We would really recommend the Amada Carlota to anyone seeking a quiet rural getaway in a beautiful part of Spain.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geleen, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed one week in this magnificent hotel with its incredible view on the hills of Asturias (and the Picos!). The owners know everything about all the activities and sites you can visit. We got some great tips (hiking, cycling, restaurants, bars) which made our stay a special experience. The service was outstanding, the hotel itself is a modern and beautiful place, the view on the hills surrounding it is amazing... Beside all the nice restaurants we visited we also enjoyed several outstanding dinners in the hotel itself. They can serve excellent local dishes or for example Japanese food (!!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amada Carlota Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amada Carlota Hotel Rural

Address: La Cotariella 16, 33310 Torazo, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Cabranes Municipality > Torazo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torazo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amada Carlota Hotel Rural 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A more rural, tranquil retreat is hard to imagine: Amada Carlotta stands alone in thick, green countryside. Carlos and his wife Yolanda opened Amada Carlota in 2006 with the ambition of creating a rural hotel combining ultimate peace and quiet. One regular glowing guest describes the atmosphere as 'a unique experience…paradise'.The building itself is modern - the public rooms are decorated in an unlikely combination of Art Deco and rustic charm - yet somehow they work. Guests are encouraged to 'engage' with their surroundings by appreciating the views from each big picture window. Bedrooms are decorated in neutral colours and modern furniture. Patterned bedspreads make them feel countrified and homely. The rustic theme is continued in the restaurant, which offers generous portions and big flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Amada Carlota Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amada Carlota Hotel Rural, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.