We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast on our 3-week trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zubieta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zubieta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zubieta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atea s/n, 48280 Lekeitio, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Lekeitio
Auburn, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast on our 3-week trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We flew into Bilbao (from California) and after one noisy night there, headed an hour north to Lekeitio to get rid of jet lag. Lekeitio is a small port town and in October, it was warm, lovely and quiet. We were advised to drive to Lekeitio through Markino because it is less windy than the other route.
Hotel Zubieta is exactly as shown in photos (not fancey, but quaint). As other reviewers have mentioned, it is difficult to find. Our GPS wouldn't put in the exact address so we called. They told us to take the first round about and look for the school. Their sign and entry is in a school parking lot. There is a nice long driveway so no noise from the school. The walk to town was 10 minutes as stated. We had room 106 I believe with the window looking out to the meadow toward the east --very quiet for us. The breakfast room as well as the patio was so lovely and peaceful. The food was plentiful including hot perfectly cooked scrambled eggs with meat. In town at dusk, families came down to the beach promenade.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm not sure which was the greater gem, the Zubieta or Lekeitio: probably the hotel because we found several really interesting ports/harbours from Ondarroa to Getaria to Hondarribia in our travels along the N Spain coast, but the Zubieta was most unusual in having 'class without flash' We stay in a lot of hotels around the world but the Zubieta has a quiet charm, class, design sense, and lack of pretentiousness that many more expensive/higher-rated hotels could learn from, both in its staffing and interior style and its garden setting. The Zubieta was an absolute oasis which we'll revist.

Room Tip: The hotel didn't have a pool or fitness centre, otherwise they like everything else would have b...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I really liked the Hotel Zubieta - the people were very nice, the breakfast and bar tapas were good, the hotel is comfortable and charming.
Listen carefully - the town is a waste of time. We thought a nice seaside town in Northern Spain would be fun(thinking Barcelona) - but this place is a dump - don't expect to have any fun in the town. The beach is nice, the harbor is nice, but don't imagine going out for a fun dinner - the town is practically dead.
If you want fun, go to San Sebastien - full of people and restaurants, check out the "old town".
There's a great restaurant Aiten Etxe in a town Zarautz up the coast - it has great shellfish, and a fantastic steak covered in Foie Gras.
The Guggebheim in Bilbao is well worth a visit.
The local countryside is very pretty and unspoiled.
DO NOT repeat do not expect to have fun in Lekeitio.
The architecture and people are as fun/romantic as Sarajevo, Bosnia - during the war.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Really enjoyed our 4 nights stay in this lovely hotel. Beautiful building, rooms, great terrace/bar and the most wonderful staff you could wish to meet. I will add no further comments about the hotel to all the 5 star reviews which are all spot on.
Without exception, however, ALL staff here are helpful and friendly and only too pleased to help you enjoy your stay.
I must give particular praise to the 2 lady receptionists who were particularly so helpful when we found that Brittany Ferries had cancelled our boat from Santander. With no French map one was good enough to print us the Googlemap route through France and discuss the way.
Will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Hotel a bit tricky to find because of the one way system. If travelling from Gurnika when you reach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a glorious hotel, pretty, small and personal. The bar is friendly and serves lovely tapas twice a day and coffee and drinks throughout the day. The sitting room and terrace were very pretty and we spent alot of the day sitting out in the sun, or enjoying drinks at night. The staff are the best thing about the hotel as they were unfailingly friendly and helpful. The hotel and its lovely gardens is small and quiet and feels like an oasis as it is just off a town square and the walk down into the harbour, bars and restaurants is easy. We were a mixed family party with less abled parents and the hotel suited them very well too. I highly recommend it to you.

Room Tip: some rooms are over the terrace which have a lovely view over the gardens and valley but might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here 3rd & 4th Sep 2012. Lovely setting and fantastic service from all staff including calling us to say we had left passports, money etc in safe beffore we had driven too far. Town, beach & harbour (with great local bars especially the organic one just as you enter harbour area) just 5 mins walk. Also a superb restaurant 200yds the other way from hotel out of town. Breakfast was excellent and there is a very well appointed bar.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper would recommend you ask for a room away from the small lift and stairwell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a lovely peaceful hotel, on the edge of the town of Lekeitio, yet just a ten minute stroll to the harbourside. The staff are friendly and the setting is beautiful. The rooms are a little 'old style' and because of this, it feels a bit over-priced. We stayed one night and it was a brilliant place for a stop-over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zubieta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zubieta

Address: Atea s/n, 48280 Lekeitio, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Lekeitio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Lekeitio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zubieta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel con encanto en Lekeitio, Pais Vasco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Zubieta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zubieta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.