We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel just outside a beautiful village in la Rioja” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa De Laguardia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa De Laguardia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa De Laguardia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo De San Raimundo 15, 01300 Laguardia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Laguardia
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel just outside a beautiful village in la Rioja”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is a good place, nothing extraordinary, but clean and practical to discover some small "bodegas" around, because the village is full of them! And the Small spa is a plus in the dark winter days, to relax before going out for dinner, like we did.
On the positive side, the large size of the rooms and the beds. We saw a playing corner for children and possibility to go to the spa with them during vertain hours, which may be interesting travelling with little ones. On the less positive, the decoration of the rooms and the noise from the corridor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    119
    48
    5
    4
See reviews for
57
142
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

To start with something good, the food and kindness at the restaurant was fine. However, the rest of it was a very bad experience. The worst of it, absolutely unacceptable, was the bathroom. At around 4 am a terrible smell started to build inside the bathroom. By the morning, we could not enter there, only to quickly go to grab our body hygiene kit. We could not shower, nor use the toilet -- we had to use one by the reception. When we told about this problem to the receptionist, they did not made any compensation for us. And we noticed some smell also in other parts of the hotel, although not so bad, so they probably have this problem in other rooms. Apart from this, the hotel is vulgar, and ugly decorated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We call to make arrangements for a double room which we confirmed by room. On arrival we had to pay extra for a room with a double bed.

Room service was very good however there was a mistake with the bill which the Catering Manager quickly called to apologies , great stuff.

A personal item was left behind in the room which we didn't realises for two days. We called and the hotel said they had found the item. It would have been nice if the hotel had contacted us when the item was found. We drove 3 hrs to collect the item. Unfortunately the item had been tampered with which was disappointing but no damage done.

The spa was OK but not worth the extra money if you are staying at the hotel. Basically the spa is a pool with jets. Otherwise our stay was OK but we would look for something better in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is good, however a little bit impersonal, which is a shame.
we loved breakfast and enjoyed the spa, even though we were wondering what the spa would be like on a busy day. right now we were the only ones there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two lights at the hotel after driving in from Madrid. First, the hotel is a great location to explore the wonderful Rioja region. But besides the location, there were very little positives the hotel had to offer. I will run through some cons and the few pros:

Cons:
- internet connection doesn't work anywhere but the lobby and first floor cafe. We asked the front desk about this many times since it wouldn't work in our room, bfast or anywhere else. They simply just acted like it was our fault and offered zero help.
- TV didn't work...same issue as before. Very little help offered by front desk.
- Phone barely worked with a ton of static...when we would call to the front desk, rarely did someone answer.
- Beds are very umcomfortable even by European 3 star standards. Rooms just didn't quite feel clean.
- AC would not cut on and we had to leave windows open to a loud street at night.
- Spa experience isn't really an "experience" but a less than desirable massage for 90 Euros per person then you have to pay extra for robe and use of facilities...hmmm...we use spas quite a bit and this was one of the worst we have ever experienced
- Staff was particularly unhelpful and you felt lost and didn't quite understand how anything worked at the hotel...this was especially true with the staff after lunch and in the evenings.
- The walk into town is straight uphill (ok for us, but older couples may not like this)...there is another hotel in town that is probably a better option that is simlarly priced

Pros:
- Parking (if not in the garage) is complimentary
- Town of Laguardia is very nice with good restaurant/bar options so location is ok
- Breakfast spread was good
- Close to many great Rioja wineries

Overall the hotel seemed to lack identity and growing in deferred maintenance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights here, booked through Brittany Ferries, and drove over the mountains from Bilbao. We had a prettily decorated room with a view of the mountains. The outdoor swimming pool was closed when we stayed (late September). We found it a good base to visit the wineries - my favourite was Ysios - although we needed to drive up into Laguardia town centre as my husband doesn't walk very well. The breakfast here was good as were the meals in the brasserie (try the carpaccio of Wagyu beef) although there didn't seem to be any regional specialities on the menu. My only quibble was that both evenings, the TV in the bar/brasserie was showing football and it was difficult to sit far enough away to ignore it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights here with our family. Clean and very pleasant rooms. Free wi-fi. Nice swimming pool. Really nice restaurant where we ate at least 4 times. Kids totally loved the food.

Within walking distance to town (15 minutes or so). Laguardia was one of our most favorite towns in Spain. Great surprise.

Hotel has a nice spa, perfect for couples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa De Laguardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa De Laguardia

Address: Paseo De San Raimundo 15, 01300 Laguardia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Alava Province > Laguardia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Laguardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa De Laguardia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa de Laguardia Hotel is a 4 star hotel located in Rioja Alavesa, close to Logrono. Situated among vineyards, this hotel was specially designed to offer you a relaxing stay in an unbeatable natural setting. Our hotel, located 15 km away from Logrono, lies in the middle of different gastronomic and wine tourism routes. The Villa de Laguardia Hotel has 84 rooms and a delightful spa with wine and olive oil treatments. The hotel features two restaurants, Medoc Alaves and El Villa Bistro, and it offers the best services so that our guests feel like at home. Our hotel has free wifi internet. Free outdoor parking. Garden and outdoor swimmingpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa De Laguardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Laguardia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa De Laguardia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.