We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa De Laguardia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa De Laguardia to your Saves list
Hotel Villa De Laguardia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de San Raimundo 15, 01300 Laguardia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Laguardia
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is good, however a little bit impersonal, which is a shame.
we loved breakfast and enjoyed the spa, even though we were wondering what the spa would be like on a busy day. right now we were the only ones there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    168
    49
    7
    6
See reviews for
62
187
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two lights at the hotel after driving in from Madrid. First, the hotel is a great location to explore the wonderful Rioja region. But besides the location, there were very little positives the hotel had to offer. I will run through some cons and the few pros:

Cons:
- internet connection doesn't work anywhere but the lobby and first floor cafe. We asked the front desk about this many times since it wouldn't work in our room, bfast or anywhere else. They simply just acted like it was our fault and offered zero help.
- TV didn't work...same issue as before. Very little help offered by front desk.
- Phone barely worked with a ton of static...when we would call to the front desk, rarely did someone answer.
- Beds are very umcomfortable even by European 3 star standards. Rooms just didn't quite feel clean.
- AC would not cut on and we had to leave windows open to a loud street at night.
- Spa experience isn't really an "experience" but a less than desirable massage for 90 Euros per person then you have to pay extra for robe and use of facilities...hmmm...we use spas quite a bit and this was one of the worst we have ever experienced
- Staff was particularly unhelpful and you felt lost and didn't quite understand how anything worked at the hotel...this was especially true with the staff after lunch and in the evenings.
- The walk into town is straight uphill (ok for us, but older couples may not like this)...there is another hotel in town that is probably a better option that is simlarly priced

Pros:
- Parking (if not in the garage) is complimentary
- Town of Laguardia is very nice with good restaurant/bar options so location is ok
- Breakfast spread was good
- Close to many great Rioja wineries

Overall the hotel seemed to lack identity and growing in deferred maintenance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights here, booked through Brittany Ferries, and drove over the mountains from Bilbao. We had a prettily decorated room with a view of the mountains. The outdoor swimming pool was closed when we stayed (late September). We found it a good base to visit the wineries - my favourite was Ysios - although we needed to drive up into Laguardia town centre as my husband doesn't walk very well. The breakfast here was good as were the meals in the brasserie (try the carpaccio of Wagyu beef) although there didn't seem to be any regional specialities on the menu. My only quibble was that both evenings, the TV in the bar/brasserie was showing football and it was difficult to sit far enough away to ignore it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights here with our family. Clean and very pleasant rooms. Free wi-fi. Nice swimming pool. Really nice restaurant where we ate at least 4 times. Kids totally loved the food.

Within walking distance to town (15 minutes or so). Laguardia was one of our most favorite towns in Spain. Great surprise.

Hotel has a nice spa, perfect for couples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent three nights at this hotel. It is easy to find, only 800 metres from the centre of Laguardia itself (although it is a steep climb!), with very helpful and nice staff.
Our bedroom was well equipped and comfortable. There's a certain hyperbole over the description of the garden but there's a very nice terrace overlooking it, ideal for just sitting having a glass of wine, or eating. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a very wide range of food available to suit all tastes. We ate in the main restaurant one night and were disappointed but that may just have been bad luck in what we chose. The huge pile of cutlets beside a huge pile of pallid chips was most offputting, particularly after one of the specialities, anchovies, which were too salty to eat. Avoid hake gills unless you like slippery, oily things! However, we did enjoy the food we had in the bar/brasserie.
Laguardia is a most attractive town and it's well putting aside lots of time just to sit at one of the many bars with a glass of wine at some 55p a glass, eating pinxtos (tapas), and just watching the world go by. A trip to Elciego 10 minutes away is also well worth while taking in the winery, and the futuristic Marques de Riscal hotel.
Finally, if you have a good map, it's well worth driving to and from Laguardia off the main routes, over the mountains north of the town.

Room Tip: Face ast for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in LaGuardia with this hotel in the perfect location! The staff was quite friendly & more than willing to help us with the details of touring wineries. The room was extremely comfortable & surprisingly quiet. Breakfast buffet was very nice. The main town of LaGuardia was walkable from our room. A nice bonus. We weren't aware until arrival that they have bikes available to rent. Just perfect for Alava wine tours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent just one, very enjoyable night in this hotel. Great location on the edge of the beautiful village of Laguardia - it’s a very pleasant stroll (uphill) into the town. Bedroom décor is old-fashioned (probably not really 4* standard) but the room (and the bathroom) was quite spacious and very clean and we had a lovely view of the garden. I would stay here again for touring the Rioja region; we visited the wonderful Ysios winery, Marqués de Riscal and El Fabulista in the heart of Laguardia itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa De Laguardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa De Laguardia

Address: Paseo de San Raimundo 15, 01300 Laguardia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Alava Province > Laguardia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Laguardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa De Laguardia 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa de Laguardia Hotel is a 4 star hotel located in Rioja Alavesa, close to Logrono. Situated among vineyards, this hotel was specially designed to offer you a relaxing stay in an unbeatable natural setting. Our hotel, located 15 km away from Logrono, lies in the middle of different gastronomic and wine tourism routes. The Villa de Laguardia Hotel has 84 rooms and a delightful spa with wine and olive oil treatments. The hotel features two restaurants, Medoc Alaves and El Villa Bistro, and it offers the best services so that our guests feel like at home. Our hotel has free wifi internet. Free outdoor parking. Garden and outdoor swimmingpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Hotel Villa De Laguardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Laguardia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa De Laguardia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.