We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay in magical city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes to your Saves list
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mayor 46, 48, 01300 Laguardia, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Laguardia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay in magical city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

So we stayed at three very different hotels during our trip through the La Rioja (Haro=Hotel Arrope, Laguardia=Hotel Eguren Ugarte and Laguardia=Hospederia de los parajes) and they all offer different things for diff people (Laguardia and Hospederia is truly amazing however!)

The city of Laguardia is probably the best city to stay in La Rioja (however remember that Haro although close is still a drive so if you want to explore Haro wineries I would stay in that area and then stay bulk of trip in Laguardia)

The entire hotel experience is delightful. The hotel staff are friendly and attentive. We checked in and Andrea was amazing and the Jean-Marie (porter/waiter) was friendly and attentive as well.

The hotel is in the town square (its a small town) and consists of 18 rooms some of which are suites. All of the rooms have a different name or story so you cant go wrong but do try to stay in one of the suites. The rooms are fairly large for European cities and have nice amenities.

There is an underground wine bar which is cool and romantic. .. .

I would highly recommend this hotel for a Rioja wine experience

Pros: everything is great
Cons: parking (but remember the city is walled off and there is no car traffic so not really con); you can park outside of walled city and then walk to main square. We parked near church by La Fabulista winery and parked there overnight (it is within walled city portion) and probably only parking within walled city

Room Tip: you can park outside of walled city and then walk to main square. We parked near church by La Fabuli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    37
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
162
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creeslough, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful Hotel . The Whole experience was wonderful. The Hotel staff were excellent and very Helpful. The room was beautifully decorated,. Right from you walk in through the door you feel very relaxed and welcome. The hotel is right in the heart of the town. Little shops and and loads of wine bars and restaurants within 2 minuets walk . We had Dinner in the restaurant one night and it was 5 star rating. Our waiter Jean Marie was excellent Looking after us and helping by explaining everything on the menu . His English is excellent. The area around Laguardia is wonderful and a car is essential to explore. We only visited one small Winery there at Number 44 in the town Its is still producing wine after 500 years it is well worth a visit.
The hotel was Beautiful and worth every euro Old mixed with modern facilities. In a beautiful town . The breakfast was very good and the service was great .(But they don't make great tea).

I would recommend this wonderful hotel To everyone. It should be on everyone's "Bucket list" We hope to return for our 30th Anniversary.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 and it was lovely Large room and comfortable It was an interior room so no out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel was right in the middle of town. When we got there there was a violin performance on the street - perfect for creating the cosy town atmostphere. Staff gave very good recommendations on places to visit and restaurants during our stay. Room decor was amazing. We had an amazing experience. 5 for 5 from us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-sea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hospederia as part of a bespoke wine tour with The Unique Traveller company for my 40th sorry 50th birthday (I'm getting a little forgetful these days..).
On our arrival we had the most warm welcome & were shown to our suite 401. The room is absolutely wonderful and has so many lovely features. There is a large outside terrace/patio area with comfortable sofa & armchairs. There is a large bathroom & dressing area with a large jacuzzi tub, complete with piles of soft towels & ample toiletries.
There is also an upstairs sitting area in the suite with lounge chairs , also very comfortable.
On our first of two evenings we sat on the tables in the street/courtyard area which is great for people watching. The service provided by Jean Marie Hutu was excellent & as there is such an extensive wine list (with all prices clearly displayed) I gave him a budget & informed him that I like oaked Rioja wine & hey presto an excellent bottle appeared!
The following evening as it was our wedding anniversary we chose the a-la-carte restaurant and found a red rose on our table. I tried to tell my wife that I brought it specially for the occasion - but alas this didn't work!
The food again was excellent & Jean Marie found an even better bottle of wine (Rioja of course)
In summary we had a wonderful stay & I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Suite 401!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you want a cultural experience, if you want to be centrally located for exploring Rioja, if you want to experience northern spain in all of its nostalgic glory...and you want exceptional service, elegant decor, modern amenities, and an exceptional, exceptional, exceptional staff.....stay here. Seriously, look no further.

We had a magical Rioja experience at this historic hotel that has been completely renovated inside to combine the historic, elegant, and the contemporary in a warm vibe. Staff is excellent...can't say enough about that. It just felt magical walking into the walled city, and there was the dining around the square with the "dancing" town clock.

Room Tip: Park at any of the spaces outside the walled portion of LaGuardia. The hotel is located in the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and thought the hotel was lovely....warm and welcoming and spacious attractive rooms....we stayed ( 2 couples) in rooms 204 and 205. Only small issue was one of the rooms stunk of cigarette smoke.... Also as they are interior rooms you miss out on the views to the square and get no natural light as they look into the internal courtyard. very Friendly helpful staff who go out of their way to help you. Breakfast is excellent...do not miss their fresh free range eggs! We had a couple of sneeky desserts at night and they were superb! Perfect hotel for a bit of luxury in the heart of this tiny town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an external view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

In terms of location Los Parajes is excellent - Laguardia is a gorgeous town with a good range of bars and restaurants and a great place to explore Rioja from. A lot of hotels in the area are in the middle of nowhere or tiny villages so this is a good option if the thought of eating in the same hotel every night fills you with dread!

The hotel is lovely but very quirky - obviously the design of the hotel owner who was around a lot and very friendly. We were staying in the penthouse which we chose because of the balcony overlooking the square and giving us somewhere to relax outside after a day in the vineyards - it was perfect for this. However, one major downfall of the room - there is only a jacuzzi bath - that's right, for a luxury penthouse suite, if you want to shower you have to sit in the bath and hold a shower attachment above your head and soak the rest of the bathroom! To me this was a serious oversight and slightly ruined our morning every day! Move the strange dressing area, put in a shower there and have a wardrobe in the room!

Service all friendly and breakfast fine.

I would recommend the hotel for location but perhaps think twice about the luxury penthouse room!

Room Tip: The only room with a balcony to sit on in the penthouse which is stunning, but be warned- there is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes

Address: Mayor 46, 48, 01300 Laguardia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Alava Province > Laguardia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Laguardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.