We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hedonism in ancient mountain citadel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes to your Saves list
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mayor 46, 48, 01300 Laguardia, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Laguardia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing hedonism in ancient mountain citadel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Very nice property centrally located in central square of beautiful Laguardia in the heart of the Rioja region. Hotel was very welcoming & all staff very friendly and customer focused. Room v nice, beautifully decorated with great spa bath. Was a bit noisy at night with windows open as the square is lively but such a lovely location with narrow winding medieval streets. Hotel restaurant was very good, excellent food & service. Overall a very special place, great for a short break. & easy to visit as many bodegas as you like!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    48
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
190
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful rooms, perfect location for exploring La Riaja. Buffet breakfast (included in price) was amazing including made to order scrambled eggs with ham. Yum! Coffee was so strong you could cut it with a knife..Just the way I like it!!! Laguardia is a wonderful Midieval village. So much happening all times of the day.

Room Tip: Our room was so quiet, we didn't hear anything while sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I cannot say enough about our 3-night stay at Hospederia de los Parajes. Everything, from the room, to the outdoor patio restaurant, to the lobby bar, to the indoor subterranean wine bar, to the amazing, friendly, smart, and informative staff elicits charm, romance, and quality. My boyfriend and I booked one of the standard interior-view rooms, and it looked like a honeymoon suite, complete with a canopy bed. We loved the breakfast every morning (included with the rate) -- not only do they have a fabulous spread of cheeses, yogurt, fruit, breads, coffee, oj (fresh squeezed!), etc., but the courteous staff also offers to make you fresh scrambled eggs (which are delicious!). The restaurant is quite expensive, but the lobby bar and outdoor terrace both offer a less expensive menu, and I highly recommend the rabas (fried calamari) and the salad with ham and goat cheese. I cannot speak highly enough of Jean Marie, the restaurant manager (who moved from Starwood to help open this property) -- he gave us so many tips for exploring, and we learned so much about the area just from talkig with him. We also loved having a drink and tapa in the wine cellar each night -- the owner of the bar is an adorable older woman who has lived in Laguardia her entire life. This is by far the best place to stay in the adorable town of Laguardia. You can tell that the owners have poured their hearts and souls into this fabulous, gem of a hotel. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem. It appeared to have been renovated fairly recently and such a good job has been made of combining modern with old features.
The room was really spacious and nicely presented. It had a huge walk in shower area with separate toilet.
The restaurant in the hotel could win Michelin stars. The menu was inventive and the food was amazing - with generous portions. The service was superb too.
The hotel has a lovely bar area and also boasts its own wine cellar - for which you're given a complimentary token upon check in.
I visited the hotel's spa too - which was also well done with reasonably priced treatments.
Overall I can't praise the place enough. If you're visiting this beautiful walled town; you must stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is our 3rd trip to Laguardia on our visits through Spain. First time at this hotel which is located in the heart of village right on the square.We paid for a superior room with a jacuzzi and overlooking the tiny square. Beautiful room and decor, big bed. Little improvements would make it even better - like a waste bin in the room and towel rail. Lovely hotel and location, however breakfast was poor and not able to provide a boiled egg when we asked, awful coffee. Food in the restaurant was very good but overpriced. Free tokens on arrival for a drink and tapa in the cellar bar which was run by a lovely lady, very friendly and informative. The Spa is also in the cellar but didn't have time to try it. The staff employed by the hotel were all very good and helpful. Only the breakfast lets it down but I would probably stay here again due to its location. Parking is just outside the village but an easy walk away. We always visit Laguardia to sample its excellent wines and just the overall atmosphere. Will be coming again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room - pics can be viewed on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days recently- which we found long, since its a very small city. The hotel and its staff are good. Friendly, advising and booking nice nearby wineries. The cellar-tasting room was a lovely experience, restaurant OK, good breakfast. We had a very nice room facing the outside (with the large bath) which was beautiful, clean, with a small fridge and a very quiet airco. On the other side the room could be better made for longer stay: not enough room for clothes, no bin, a bit noisy with everything happening in neighbouring rooms+ at the square right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Recently returned from a trip to the wine region in Spain and was fortunate to have eaten at Hospederia de Los Pajares in Laguardia. The food is outstanding, and coupled with a superb service by Rafael, and Chari's charm, made it a very enjoyable experience. Their "Patatas a la Riojana" are by far the best in the region. Venture into the hotel, and you'll find one of the most unique places in Spain where they have done a great job at modernizing their amenities while preserving the "old." It's located in the most ideal place to enjoy a wonderfully prepared meal, have a couple of glasses of Rioja wines, while watching the people stroll around the plaza.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguardia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa De Laguardia
Hotel Villa De Laguardia
#3 of 5 in Laguardia
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castillo El Collado
Castillo El Collado
#2 of 5 in Laguardia
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Marques de Riscal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marixa
Hotel Marixa
#4 of 5 in Laguardia
3.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Villa de Abalos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes

Address: Mayor 46, 48, 01300 Laguardia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Alava Province > Laguardia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Laguardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.