We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mozart to your Saves list
Hotel Mozart
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 82 | Hafenzentrum, Rorschach 9401, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rorschach
Ho Chi Minh City
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Go back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Situated close to lake and incredible view, this hotel is breathing the era of Mozart in every aspect.
Dining room and reception with it chandeliers. Hotel rooms with red embroidered carpets, and thick but ultralight duvets. When you travel there in winter, do not worry about heating or getting cold, there is abundant heat available.

breakfast is simple with high quality materials, bread -yogurts-cerials-fruits, it is all from Switzerland. parking is easy under the hotel, and staff is very friendly.

When you arrive late, there is no worry t fine any nice restaurant for fine dining, overseeing the lake.

Room Tip: second floor is guaranteed no noise from streets or lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
17
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent just one night in this magnificent hotel. My room was a size of a football pitch..there were three rooms actually and a big bathroom. I have to admit I never had a room like this one in Mozart. Fresh fruits waited for me on the table, I had big TV and huge bed. The lady at the front desk was very kind and wanted to help any time. I needed power adapter for my laptop and there wassn't any problem with it. The food at their restaurant was very good. The hotel itself, the restaurant, the rooms are very elegant..maybe too elegant for some people. The name "Mozart" speaks itself. I wish I had more time at this place so I could explore it some more. Location - excellent, close to the train station in the city center. The night there was really refreshing.

Room Tip: i seen 2 rooms - both huge and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Rorschach is a small place, and there are several hotels. This one was recommended by friends, and I suspect that it is the best in town. It's about a kilometer from the major train station, but if there are no taxis you might take a fresh walk with your luggage along the waterfront to get there. The hotel faces the water on one side and a shopping street on the other. The train runs along the Lake Constance waterfront, but it is not really visible and not really audible, which is great. Not far beyond the town there are rolling ski slopes, and in the distance beyond the lake are both German and Austrian Alps. The atmosphere is friendly and professional, and the décor a little like your lacy pink-and-white grandmother's place (including the need for an update of carpet, which is possibly circa 1980's). Still, it has a "look". There is a restaurant on the main floor which is open to the public, and local people do come for a special occasion or for an intimate coffee.

Room Tip: Lake view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Charming hotel centrally located, near train station.
Very helpful staff, and whilst the bedroom was small, it was very comfortable. Very good food, both at breakfast and dinner

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is located more or less in the middle of the town.

It has a parking garage for a smaller charge. The garage is public but still we felt it to be safe. The spaces however can be a little small for larger cars. There is no elevator from the garage.

The rooms are without aircondition. This can be really annoying because the temperature gets hot in the summer. The windows can be opened but the Bodensee being so close, the number of invading mosquito's are high. The view from the rooms facing the lake is beautiful. The problem is the railroad passing 3m from the hotel. The Swiss are one of the most effective users of railroad in europe so the numbers of passing trains are high.
The rooms are quite large with a tv, mini bar and a spacious bathroom. The rooms are worn but still in a good condition. They even have a genuine key system like the old days :)
If you do not speak german, italian or french, the tv in the room will be a challenge. There are no english speaking channels.

The breakfast is typical european. Bread, cereal and a small selection of jam and cheese. Try the local Appenzeller variants, they are lovely if you like real cheese.

The overall impression of the hotel is good. A bit pricy compared to the standard but Switzerland is expensive even for Norwegians. We payed 203 CHF for one night with breakfast. The parking costs 5 CHF. We came in as walk-in guests so the rate could be cheaper online.
The service is good and the hotel has free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is located next to the train station in a comercial area of the town and from the outside it is hard to see and looks like nothing special. But once you enter you find great staff, a nice restaurant with a lovely patio and large rooms with a good furnishings and a nice atmosphere.
The food is very good including the breakfast food with nice choices from a well supplied buffet

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We spent two nights at Hotel Mozart, a weekend getaway from a difficult month of working engagements. The staff were very helpful. The terrace a great place to relax before dinner, despite the S-bahn just over the wall, with freight trains as well. Our room, top floor, with dormer window, was small but comfortable. Adding to the relaxation was free wireless internet, unusual in Switzerland.
Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were excellent, beautiful food nicely presented by staff who seemed to love working there. Lots of locals seemed to use the cafe/restaurant, always a good sign.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Address: Hauptstrasse 82 | Hafenzentrum, Rorschach 9401, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Rorschach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rorschach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mozart 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nouveau cafe is not only popular for its fine pastries, but also for its lunch- and dinner menus. Only a few steps from beautiful Lake Constance. Some of our rooms have a direct view onto the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mozart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.