We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch -reasonable price by Zurich lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexander Am See

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alexander Am See to your Saves list
Hotel Alexander Am See
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestrasse 182, Thalwil 8800, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thalwil
Brit in Zurich
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great lunch -reasonable price by Zurich lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Just got back from a two course lunch of pumpkin soup and beef fillet with lovely vegetables for a set price of 33 CHf. With water and coffees it was less than 90CHF for 2 people ,which is a good price next to Zurich lake at lunch time. Nice waitress, no rush, we could have sat there for hours...

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We have been coming here every couple of years when we drive through or stay in Switzerland. It has a very cute feeling, like a niche boutique hotel, but it's very professional. I also took a swim in the lake in the morning. Where do you get that? Sure, it's not cheap, but for Switzerland I find it rather affordable. We will go again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever visited (I have visited a lot), with a vieuw that took our breath away. The staff were providing exellent service, and the food is amasing. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela_Schmidt, Direktionsassistentin at Hotel Alexander Am See, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Robin W

Thank you very much for your nice feedback.

We hope to welcome you again, soon.

Best regards

Daniela Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel is fine. The rooms are basic. Slightly dated, as is the hotel overall. The views across the lake from the room I stayed in and the veranda are superb. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station (up a hill) and you can easily walk to a number of restaurants. We took a stroll by the lake in the evening and it feels very safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela_Schmidt, Direktionsassistentin at Hotel Alexander Am See, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter AJSmithy1

Vielen Dank für ihre Bewertung.

Wir hoffen, Sie erneut bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Mit den besten Grüssen vom Zürichsee

Daniela Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The views of the lake are stunning. The location could not be better. The terrace has one of the best views of the lake available anywhere. However the waiter was not friendly and seem to be overextended. The food was ok, not fabulous as it could bd given the prestige and location. We did not stay overnight, just ate at the outdoor restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela_Schmidt, Direktionsassistentin at Hotel Alexander Am See, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Mishapian

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our service staff. We take this to heart and the kindness of the Service team will discuss inside.
We very much hope to welcome them again and to be able to convince them of our measures.

Best regards

Daniela Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Arrived late yesterday and was a little concerned about what we would find after reading a range of reviews prior to booking. Checkin was very smooth and the staff were friendly and helpful answering all questions and responding to requests in a polite and efficient manner. Our room was clean, tidy and over looks the lake, intact was even a bit bigger than we had expected. Sadly the marital bed is too large singles pushed together but so far so good.

Room Tip: Ask for lake views when booking and even an upgrade when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela_Schmidt, Direktionsassistentin at Hotel Alexander Am See, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Susan and Geoff
Thank you for your kind feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay and get a chance to suprise you again.
Kind regards

Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alexander Am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander Am See

Address: Seestrasse 182, Thalwil 8800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Thalwil
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thalwil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alexander Am See 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alexander Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alexander Am See Thalwil, Switzerland - Canton Of Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alexander Am See, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.