We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leadburn Inn

Leadburn Inn
Leadburn near Penicuik, Penicuik EH46 7BE, Scotland
+44 1968 676077
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Leadburn Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Penicuik
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Leadburn Inn is friendly, cosy Country pub serving "real beer and proper food". We pride ourself on totally fresh, seasonal produce, sourced locally. Our menu is classically British comfort food, where the flavours of the ingredients speak for themselves....! We also have an ever changing specials board. Our cask conditioned ale selection changes regularly as does our bottled beer selection. We are independently owned and very family friendly. So much so there is a purpose built, 3 level, kids soft play area in a separate part of the building.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch yesterday sitting outside in the sunshine . Had the venison burger which was out of this world .
The staff were all very friendly and attentive. One of my favourite places to eat now :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    30
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fabulous night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Came with friends on Saturday night for dinner , didn't realise there was a band on later , what an added bonus , great music and a great night .
There were 4 of us , we shared a meat and a veggie platter to start , both came on a large wooden board with delicious dips and bread , we all really enjoyed .
Two had sirloin steak which they reckoned was up there with the best steaks ever , very tender , I had fillet of beef medallions with brie and red onion marmalade which was to die for and last but not least was a homemade angus burger which was wolfed down and enjoyed .
Only 2 of us managed a pud , me who had blueberry cheesecake which was delicious and homemade and the other was homemade banoffii again was fab ( i had a bit )
All in all a great night , food was superb and the wine from the reasonably priced wine list was flowing , the guys enjoyed the range of real ales too .
Staff were friendly and helpful , we will be back , well done Leadburn Inn

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Looked nice from the outside but quality of food not so hot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Starting off with the best bits, this Inn is in a good location for catching passing trade and looks great on the outside and very clean and welcoming inside and the toilets were spotless. The place was quiet on a Thursday lunchtime with only one other couple and the bar looked well stocked with real ales, good selection of other beers and a few specials on offer. The menu looked good with plenty to choose from and a good range from light snacks to heavier meals.
We chose the soup of the day, one had the house club sandwich and I had Aberdeen Angus steak baguette. The soups were fine but the main courses were dry and a bit of a let down. The baguette was hard and didn't seem fresh and the salad leaves were dry and wilting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thrown out of the soft play...!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My sons and I, and my friends and their children who came with us to the Leadburn, were (I swear, you wouldn't believe it) thrown out of the soft play, like a bunch of trouble makers, because my two year old son had a toilet accident inside. I'll spare you the gorey details, but he had his accident, came out, we offered to clean it up but of course they refused (I'm sure that was for H&S grounds) and 20 minutes later we were abruptly, loudly and very publicly marched out, being told that this accident was a health and safety risk that they couldn't have on the premisses.
Had I been less harassed and embarrassed, I would have asked to speak to the manager there and then, but as it was, I was too busy consoling my toddler who understood perfectly that his accident had led to he and his friends all being thrown out.
Of course, I wrote a letter to the manager of the Leadburn, but that went ignored.
We, of course, will not be going back. What a horrible way to treat a young child, going through what can be a difficult transition, and indeed what a horrible way to treat the rest of us too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“disappointed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have eaten here a few times recently and always had a good meal so we were disappointed it was not up to standard on this visit.

My wifes pattie was so runny it was like soup and my monkfish scampi tails were a bit bland. The staff were very apologetic about the patties and knock it and a drink of the bill. They say the chef thought it should never have been sent out - but it was so a fault in the command chain somewhere. Also thought the choive of specials was a bit poor.

As I say, we have had lovely meals there before so dont let that put you off - it was a Thursday evening and everyone can have a bad day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leadburn Inn also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Penicuik, Midlothian
 

Been to Leadburn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leadburn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.