We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bardon Mill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Main Road (A69), Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Bardon Mill B&B and Inns
letchworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent B&B. Angela and Mike very welcoming hosts. Breakfast was v good with Angela's home made bread a real bounus. Although its on the busy A69 there was very little traffic noise in the room and the beds provided a very good nights sleep. Room very clean. Fridge available with a daily supply of fresh milk. There is a TV in the room but there is also a guest lounge with a large TV and freesat. Phenomenal value for money. Only drawback (which we didn't think was one) is it is a bit isolated, although you can walk to the pub in Bardon Mill for a meal. Otherwise its a car trip to a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frayny, Owner at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Glad to hear you were happy with your stay Peter. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
66
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this BnB as part of a tour of the UK, mainly staying at BnBs in the same price category. I feel a bit torn about giving only three stars as there were lots of positives about our stay, but it fell down in the critical area of a hood nights sleep.

It is very easy o find Nd perfectly located for exploring Hadrians Wall. Parking is directly outside the property and easy.

Wifi was good.

The room was very well appointed including a fridge, which was lovely.

Breakfast was excellent.

Out of all the BnBs we stayed in, this was the one where it felt like you were staying in their home and not just a bijou hotel. Some people like this and it was nice chatting to other guests at breakfast around the dining table. However, I felt a little like we were imposing when we sat out in the garden, even though it was right outside our door and they were very nice about it. With he hot weather our door was open and their dog wandered in a lot, but is very mild mannered and wandered out again when shooed.

The BnB is off the main road and there is a lot of traffic noise. This doesn't bother me, but the hose left running all night into the well outside our window did. Also the beds were so soft that they hurt the back. So we didn't sleep well at all.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frayny, Owner at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello again Clare, We are sorry that one or two things did not suit you when you stayed here. We do our best to please all our guests and if problems are pointed out to us we will do our best to rectify them. Taking your points in order, we willingly share our garden with guests but feel that we shouldn't stay indoors because guests are out there. It was a very hot week wasn't it. We did provide you with eating utensils willingly for the take away meals you brought in each night and also cushions for the seat. I fail to see what more we could have done in the circumstances.
I am sorry that Girlie our dog bothered you. If you had said anything to us we would have kept here away. I was not even aware that she had been in your room.
As for the hose running into the well all night you should have mentioned it or better still just pushed the hose in a little further so that you couldn't hear it. We have to keep it running as it is spring water which builds up behind the property if it is turned off.
You are the only person to complain about the beds. they are only 2 years old with orthopedic mattresses and memory foam toppers. Most guest complain that they were too comfy and didn't want to get up in the morning. Obviously this did not suit you but it is not the quality of the beds which is the problem rather a preference for a firmer bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at Strand Cottage to attend our friends wedding. We were delighted to be allocated the annex room which is spacious, airy and well furnished. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Angie and Mike were the perfect hosts, friendly, informative and attentive without being intrusive and we enjoyed our conversations with them. We have eaten many cooked breakfasts and Angie's certainly rates amonst the best, she even advised us where to get the sausages and bacon from a local supplier and we took some home. We would certainly stay again if in the area. Thanks for the rhubarb.
Cannot understand the comments from Switzerland as certainly not our experience.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on the room in the house, but I am sure it would be of a good standard as is the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stay at Strand Cottage since years. Always excellent !!
Very friendly; rooms, service, value, location, sleep quality and cleanliness are very good.

Hans

Frankfurt am Main, Germany

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed last week for a couple of days and had a lovely time. Angie and Mike were so welcoming we felt comfortable straight away. The breakfast was well cooked and plenty of it. It was a tasty and hot with filter coffee and home made jams, delicious. The room was well presented with ensuite facilities and a memory foam matteress. Would I stay there again - definitely I'm already booked for a short break next spring

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawana Island Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After a long car journey it is wondeful to find a home from home. Mike and Angie are the perfect host and hostess. The rooms are comfortable and you are given plenty of choices for breakfast. If you are visiting Northumberland, you will find no better place for an overnight stay (or maybe two).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrearra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived late afternoon after a long journey, feeling very tired but we were refreshed by the welcome and situation of the cottage, it was easy to find
The room was spotless, nice towels, we had everything we needed.
Although we knew what we wanted to do it was nice that there was up to date information on hand and the owners we very helpful so we could get the most out of our day; there is lots to do even if it is raining. We had alreadly looked it up on the internet so we knew everything we wanted to see was not too far away.
The comfortable bed, a bonus when travelling. The friendly atmosphere at breakfast and the gardens surrounding the cottage. Also the view from our window.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Road (A69), Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Bardon Mill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bardon Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Strand Cottage Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Hadrian's Wall country. Our accommodation comprises of a large detached en-suite room with super king sized zip and link beds with memory foam mattresses, a comfortable couch and chair, fridge, colour TV/DVD player, clock radio and hot drinks tray and lovely large white bath sheets. In the main house there is a double en-suite room with king size bed, colour TV/ DVD player, hot drinks tray, hairdryer and lovely white bath sheets. Situated centrally in the Hadrian's Wall corridor this is an ideal location from which to visit all the major Roman sites along Hadrian's Wall and Kielder water and forest, the Lake District and many places of historical interest. Housteads and Vindolanda Roman sites are both a pleasant walk from Strand Cottage. Packed lunches can be provided on request. Langley Castle which is a very popular wedding venue is located close by and a local taxi firm will transport you there and back. Please let us know if you wish to book this service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strand Cottage Bed And Breakfast Bardon Mill, United Kingdom - Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.