We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bardon Mill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Main Road (A69), Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Bardon Mill B&B and Inns
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dog friendly B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Strand Cottage at the end of April 2012. We booked this B & B because it was "dog friendly". Brilliant choice. We were given accommodation separate from the main house which was excellent since it gave us the freedom to take the dog out without disturbing anyone else. The room and facilities were spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was delicious, well presented and nicely served. A coal fire was burning which was very welcoming and homely. Angela was a lovely hostess, very easy to chat to knowledgeable about the local area. The location is excellent for Hadrian's wall and near enough to Newcastle. We arrived late evening on Friday due to work commitments which unfortunately left us little time to look for choices for an evening meal. We ended up in Bardon Mill which was closest and went to the first place that was open. Meal there was just ok - nothing to rave about. Our stay here was pleasant and we would definately recommend Strand Cottage.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, there is a separate annexe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frayny, Manager at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Nice to feel appreciated Vivienne. Hope we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
66
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Strand Cottage in May 2012. We wanted to visit Hadrian's wall and this turned out to be the perfect location. If we'd wanted to we could have walked to Vindolanda from the cottage. Instead on the advice of Angela (our very helpful host) we drove to Vindolanda and walked from there to Housesteads and then along the wall. A really fabulous walk! The B&B is great value for money, the rooms are spotless and have more than you would need for a few days stay. From our bedroon window we had a view of lambs and rabbits - really lovely. Angela gave us great advice on what to do, advice that we readily took. One thing, if you're staying on a Sunday night check where you plan to eat! We found a couple of places didn't serve food on a Sunday...thought we might be headed to the supermarket for a sandwich! However, the Black Bull in Haltwhistle saved us - a fab pub with wonderfull food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Cannot actually rate the accommodation only the host at this accommodation. We booked late in the afternoon and arrived at the b & b shortly after to find the host was out so decided to do some sightseeing. We managed to get hopelessly lost and ended up quite far away north of Carlisle so rang to cancel booking as didn't want to backtrack (were heading north the next day). The host was friendly, explained the cancellation arrangements and when i queried whether we would be charged the full amount she told us we would only be charged $25 pounds which I could live with as we had only made the booking a few hours earlier and there were still rooms available at the b and b so it wasn't as if we had cost her any bookings however on returning home we discovered we had been charged the full $60. Feel a bit cheated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frayny, Owner at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Hello Wendy, We seem to have a misunderstanding here. When you booked the room (my last one as I had my other 2 rooms out of use) it was early afternoon, and you booked it through a booking site which clearly states the cancellation policy. Had you telephoned me any earlier than you did at 6.45 I may have had chance of re-letting the room. As it was it was far too late then to expect another booking. I was busy making dinner with friends when you telephoned, and I do not recall saying that I would only charge you £25. If however this is the case then I will of course refund the difference onto your card if you care to contact me. Sorry you were dissapointed and maybe you will come and see us if in this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed here recently and must say it was a good choice. Although unaware at the time, I wanted to see Vindolanda and this B&B is on a path trail only a few km away so not need to drive and it made a good walk.

The breakfast was good, rooms comfortable and hostess very helpful with local knowledge. You do need to watch the road though as it is a main A road and traffic needs full attention, although it wasn't a problem getting out. The shower/bathroom was clean and worked well. I felt well looked after and if going to this area again would return here.

Also there aren't many eating options within walking distance, but plenty of suggestions at the B&B and a few places to eat in Haltwhistle. I wasn't too keen on Haltwhistle itself, the clientle of the pubs came across as a bit rough. The Black Bull however was a really good pub to eat at.

Also the local pub, Bowes is a nice place to have a drink before bed; the locals were friendly and it was quiet. This is within walking distance, about half a mile.

So if you are visiting this part of the wall, then I would suggest stopping here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frayny, Owner at Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Glad you were comfy here Rob. We do aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had been recommended Strand Cottage by an acquaintance and we were not disappointed. A friendly welcome and lovely warm room was provided along with lots of information about the area from our very kind hosts Angela and Mike. We had come to this area to explore Hadrians Wall and the location of Strand Cottage makes it a perfect base for just that. The property is very well priced for the service, room and breakfast provided. We also recommend the Milecastle Inn not far away for an excellent meal. Christine and Philip Benbow, Tasmania, Aust.

Room Tip: There is a separate room at the back of the house if you prefer to be away from the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

We arrived late but all was ready for us on our comfortable family room...good night's sleep & great breakfast to prepare for our Hadrian's Wall odyssey. Ideal location. Great!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed for one night in a very comfortable room, were welcomed warmly and our hosts very kindly drove us to the nearest pub for supper. Breakfast was also excellent. I can only recommend a stay if you are visiting this beautiful area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Road (A69), Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Bardon Mill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bardon Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Strand Cottage Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Hadrian's Wall country. Our accommodation comprises of a large detached en-suite room with super king sized zip and link beds with memory foam mattresses, a comfortable couch and chair, fridge, colour TV/DVD player, clock radio and hot drinks tray and lovely large white bath sheets. In the main house there is a double en-suite room with king size bed, colour TV/ DVD player, hot drinks tray, hairdryer and lovely white bath sheets. Situated centrally in the Hadrian's Wall corridor this is an ideal location from which to visit all the major Roman sites along Hadrian's Wall and Kielder water and forest, the Lake District and many places of historical interest. Housteads and Vindolanda Roman sites are both a pleasant walk from Strand Cottage. Packed lunches can be provided on request. Langley Castle which is a very popular wedding venue is located close by and a local taxi firm will transport you there and back. Please let us know if you wish to book this service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strand Cottage Bed And Breakfast Bardon Mill, United Kingdom - Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.