We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend at the twelve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Hotel to your Saves list
The Twelve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Romantic weekend at the twelve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Beautiful hotel: Rooms are large, modern decor, bright and airy. bathroom is well equipped with an amazing shower. Bed was huge and extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic break away. The staff were friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to help.

West Restaurant: we dined in the WEST restaurant on saturday 13th feb, the menu had a valentines theme. The food was delicious and the staff were amazing.

If you are travelling to the west of ireland and this hotel is a must and it is a great base for exploring the beauty of connemara.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    222
    62
    29
    8
See reviews for
178
572
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bray
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Excellent stay on New Years weekend. Upgrade on arrival and we didn't look back. Great value, great comfort and great village. Can only recommend to all travellers.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Rooms: Modern, spacious, look just like the photos on hotel website. Lovely bathroom with mood lighting and tastefully decorated. Good shower and bath. Romantic! Bed comfortable with feather and down pillows and duvet

Restaurant: Delicious food, good early bird special. Small and intimate.

Breakfast: we got B and B. breakfast is not your usual continential buffet, you are given a menu and waited on! great first thing! food lovely, far better and well above average. Hot irish breakfast/smoked salmon, eggs, pancakes, cereals, fruit etc. We were late one morning, but they were more than happy to serve us!

Service: Very good, no complaints, staff friendly and helpful

Location: In Barna, 10 min drive from galway city about 15 euro in taxi. 2 mins walk from beach. Supermarket across the road

Overall, very modern hotel. Service is very good. Food delicious. Lovely bar/breakfast area, very cosy with a large open fireplace. Highly recommend!!! Thanks again tripadvisor!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

It was the little touches that made this hotel experience stand out from the rest. First off we got a special deal which allowed an upgrade to a suite for very little extra. A member of the staff contacted me prior to our visit to offer help with booking restaurants or anything else we might be interested in. On arrival to our room the strawberries dipped in chocolate were a welcome surprise, as was a card with a handwritten message wishing us a nice stay. My husband and I were only 2 nights in the hotel and we checked in around 9pm on the first night but we were still able to get food from the bar which was of a high standard. The decor in the hotel is fabulous particulary the enormous mirrors in the hallways. The second night we ate in West, which is the hotel restaurant . The food was top notch and my husband who loves and knows his wines found a great wine on the list to have with our meal. Later the hotel manager , Fergus, who is a sommelier , told us he had chosen that particular wine himself.
Paying for our meal that night was also a thrill as our hotel package had included a voucher each for nearly 20 euro which we used towards the bill ,which halved it.
All through our visit the staff were so helpful and friendly. I was sorry to leave , but we had to pick up our kids from their sitter and return to normal life. Next time I would consider taking the kids as the suite had a sitting room off the bedroom, which had a L shaped couch , which turns into 2 single beds , a table and chairs for eating at and a unit which contains a sink and a fridge . This would allow for more flexible eating particularly with younger kids.
This hotel had all kinds of guests the weekend we stayed, lots of couples ranging from mid twenties up to retirees. Some people had toddlers with them and there was even a hen party who we saw at breakfast but thankfully didn't hear at night. The staff took all the varying groups in their stride and I am sure the guests went home fatter from the fabulous food and well rested from their time out in The Twelve.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a fab hotel.The staff are very helpful .We arrived on friday 15th to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday with his family in Galway and the lovely lady at reepttion upgraded us because of this.The hotel is lovely,the rooms are lovely and modern .We ate at the bistor that evenign which ws great.The staff were so helpful especially the gentleman who came to our room on friday with chocolates.The overnight manager on saturday night/sunday morning was especially commendable-he sorted out early breakfasts very early for us and despite being up all night ,was helpful and professional.We will stay again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Stayed here for an xmas party. We had a fab time. Every single one of the rooms were clean, comfy. modern rooms. I would recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

very modern, beautiful and clean, food delicious and friendly staff

I would recommend this hotel for stay for everybody

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, fun gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The PinsBarBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.