We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option in Galway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Hotel to your Saves list
The Twelve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent option in Galway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I had a two night stay at the Twelve. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the bed was quite comfortable. I think this hotel was quit stylish five years ago, but the decor seems a bit tied now.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    208
    61
    29
    8
See reviews for
168
543
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked the gourmet experience for a romantic couple weekend away.

I can not recommend this hotel enough. From arrival to check out this hotel has the little things sorted. Ice tea on check in, chocolate strawberries and shortcake in the room, mood lighting in the bathroom. The food is to die for and the service is second to none. We've stayed in some 5 stars here and abroad and this place rivals them. Possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Love the gin menu. And what a wine selection!

With Twelve you're onto a winner a must for a romantic weekend away!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a "family" room which put the kids in another room to sleep, they loved that. Be sure to ask about the pizza cooking class for the kids as well. They loved making their own dinner, AND the dessert pizza. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the information the staff provided, plenty of parking, no issues with the food, though we did have to wait for a table one night, but a full pub is more entertaining than an empty one.

Room Tip: As for a room on an upper floor, or not on the main road. Our room was above the pub and while we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed in a suite with 2 adults and 2 small children. Cannot fault the room, it was perfect. 2 single beds in one room, kitchen facilities (microwave, no cooker), king sized double in other room and big, clean, elegant bathroom. The most positive part of the stay was the receptionist who went out of her way to be helpful. We had quite a few questions/requests upon check in and she went above and beyond the call of duty, not just for us, but other guests. Breakfast was great, lots of selection. Slow service on the morning of the last day but they were busy... Could've done with more staff that morning. Even got a free take out coffee from the hotel bakery upon departure. Oh and they gave us children's dvd's whilst staying to entertain the kids. Would recommend and stay again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our anniversary. From meeting the receptionist who offers you iced tea to the perfect double room so comfortable and quiet. The restaurant bar is warm and inviting. All, the staff are friendly and helpful. A special mention for Siobhan who was very welcoming and has a great sense of humour!! The pizzas are made in a special oven imported from Naples and are perfect!
Imagine a hotel roo where everything works!! I always define a great hotel by it's staff and The Twelve is excellent.
Thanks to you all for making the stay so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We chose this hotel (based on other Tripadvisor reviews) for a 1 night stop over while touring around Ireland - happy to say it didn't disappoint. The room was a good size overlooking the car park, with air con so we didn't have to worry about windows being open and excessive noise. Staff very friendly. We had dinner in the pub restaurant and in my opinion it's the best fish and chips I've ever had. It's a short drive into Galway which means the area is not as busy (which we liked). Agree with other comments on the parking that the spaces are very tight. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

From the moment we walked in the door to the reception area we were warmly welcomed by the girl on the desk, Colette.She was so friendly and very efficient, she offered us some home made ice tea which was delicious! The hotel is GORGEOUS, and our room was amazing,so spacious and the were so comfy.All the staff were so friendly and very professional and looked great in their uniforms. We ate in the bar both nights and the food was delicious, also the freshly made pastries for breakfast were lovely! There was a great atmosphere and buzz about the place.Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, fun gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.