We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Hotel to your Saves list
The Twelve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orange, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

After having traveled many miles, we did not want to stay in a big city like Galway - but wanted to be near-by. We saw The Twelve and stopped in - they had rooms available and we were there for two nights. It was ideal - just far enough from the hustle and bustle but near enough to get to the city without any difficulties. The staff was delightful - helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. We discovered several days later that The Twelve is listed in the Top 100 Accommodations in Ireland. I would say that is definitely correct!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    208
    61
    29
    8
See reviews for
168
543
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

What I liked about this hotel was the location for Connemara & Galway. The room had ample space with robes & slippers plus mini bar but we did not use this as there is a fantastic bar & 2 restaurants. The West restaurant we did not try but the Pins restaurant was excellent with wide range of food choices. Breakfast was a good with fruit, cereal and lots of hot choices - service was excellent ! Staff at reception were fab as they even posted back to England my black cardigan that I left in the restaurant, how lovely of them. I would recommend this hotel if you are touring around as you will not get stuck in Galway traffic as it's slightly out of the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in the family suite with a separate twin room and a main double. Despite the room facing the road we still slept really well. Though you can never really shut out the noise of the last stragglers leaving the bar in the middle of the night.
The decor is lovely, as are the toiletries that are organic. Our girls were particularly taken by the disco lights in the bathroom. They are supposed to be mood lights but the kids had a ball lighting up the bathroom to have a shower.
The staff were all lovely and very chatty. We really enjoyed the choices available for breakfast, which included fab croissants. And as were leaving we were given some tokens for a coffee at the bakery which we enjoyed with a scrummy fudgey chocolate fondant cake, while the kids had hot chocolate and a selection of sweets.
Galway is very close and so is the sea and a number of great restaurants. I heartily recommend a stay at The Twelve.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Went to The Twelve Hotel to celebrate a 60th birthday along with my family and our little King Charles!An absolutely amazing stay from start to finish..The staff,rooms and service were top class!
We had a pet suite and an adjoined twin room which was perfect to accommodate the 5 of us!Upon arrival to the fab pet suite,a bottle of Prosecco was cooling and a plate of desserts were on the table waiting for the birthday girl!A personalised card was also such a nice touch and really appreciated!I cannot forget to mention a doggy goodie bag for Milly!!Talk about an added bonus!!!
We love being able to bring Milly away with us and it really is an extra attraction to us choosing the Twelve for our regular stays in Galway.
We had some pre-dinner drinks in the beautiful bar where we got chatting to some lovely bartenders.The stay was absolutely flawless,we have been telling anyone who will listen about our fantastic stay and could not recommend it enough!!We are heading back again this weekend and are really looking forward to another fantastic stay in The Twelve Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Have eaten in the Twelve on many occasions - and love it. the staff are always friendly and courteous regardless of if it is a family occasion, a night out with a friend, or with my partner. The menu states that the margaritas are the best in Ireland - something I would definitely agree with. Food menu is fantastic - will be returning - again and again.

Room Tip: The Twelve is wonderful - you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

No words could describe how fab this hotel is. Also the service from the dedicated staff when I encountered a dilemma after leaving was second to none.
From reception welcome to leaving you will be wowed. Both bar food and The West restaurant are amazing, in the bar the corned beef sandwich was really good with a pint of Paulaner!
Breakfast brought good choices and both mornings we were happy.
The suite we were in 1248 was lovely, dark, seductive and romantic. Our own bar area with mini bar stocked. Bakery treats in our room on arrival such a lovely touch along with welcome note.
If I were to encourage continuous improvement, just a few aesthetics, e.g Wobbly table in our room, paint needs updating in certain areas but these are just minor things!
Again I would like to thank Fergus & Cherlanne for all their help when I had an issue with my bank, they are truly professional and I appreciate everything they did.
Cannot wait to return to The Twelve!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepins12, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Rosiesmall-11,
Thank you for joining us and for your kind comments.

The wobbly table will be fixed immediately and we are painting rooms everyday. We look most forward to seeing you again soon. Delighted we managed to help with everything else. It was our pleasure.
Very best wishes,
Fergus and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We spent a night at The Twelve before taking the ferry to Innis Mien. Our room was comfortable but we were unable to use wi fi in our room or the restaurant - could only get a signal in the lobby.
I had purchased a post card and asked front desk staff person if I could buy a stamp and was told she didn't know the price and I should go to the post office.....not what I wanted to hear. I asked if she could look up the price on the computer, which she was using. She did and I was able to purchase a stamp.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepins12, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Upred,
I have to say I am so disappointed by not so much how we failed you on this occasion, but by how you haphazardly rated us a two! Just because of the two things you felt were worthy of your prose and no mention whatsoever of any of the positives. From the moment you arrived, you were not a person with an intent on having a pleasant time.

I will not stand for my staff to be belittled. They are much more valuable than the price of a stamp or an intermittent free wi fi.

I thank you for staying but certainly not for your remiss in your review. Please try to be a little more humane and considerate the next time your fingers engage a keyboard. This time, I have and I know also that some will consider this response out of tune but sometimes, I too have to tell the truth.
Most sincerely,
Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, fun gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.