We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great discovery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Twelve Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barna
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A great discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We pulled in for a family lunch on 27 March. I was genuinely very surprised at the wacky and interesting menu. If you can't find something you like then you don't like food. How refreshing. Food cooked perfectly and no complaints from the three fussy children. You have to try the dessert pizza, so indulgent. Have a walk along the beach afterwards to get rid of some of the calories. Another reviewer mentioned a perfect experience spoiled by little things. Why o why give you the bill in a cover that was ripped and scratched. Sorry about being pedantic but it's these things you remember. Don't let it put you off however.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    587
    173
    57
    29
    6
See reviews for
137
490
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in January of this year.
On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff and a complimentary glass of fruit punch. Perfect after a long drive. Our room was really lovely, very large with quirky touches, that is seen throughout the hotel. Everything you could want is in your room, such as their own organic toiletries ( which I just had to purchase when I was leaving and still love), bath robes slippers etc. They think of everything. The hotel boasts two dining rooms, one for fine dining, which we did not eat in but it looked very nice. The other one is in the bar area, very relaxed with a good choice on the menu. Pizza bar also and their own confectionery. They sure have it all covered. Breakfast each morning was great, with a wide choice and freshly cooked and pleasantly served by the friendly staff.
We visited some great places while staying in Barna and we especially loved the fish restaurant right on the pier front, definitely worth a visit but book ahead as it does fill up.
All in all a great choice of hotel if you are staying in Galway. It is a few miles outside Galway but easy to access and it has all you need right on its doorstep.
We would love to return again.
Thank you to all the hotel staff for a lovely visit and keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are of equally good quality .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Twelve for our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have been treated better.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and all their little anniversary treats made sure we celebrated our special day in style!
The hotel itself is beautiful and our suite was amazing.
The food in both the West restaurant and Pins bar was gorgeous and the cocktail menu is definitely worth a look!
One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here a couple months ago and you will struggle greatly to find a better hotel on the west coast. As you can see its rated as the number 1 hotel in Galway, it deserves this and more. Upon arriving I was a little hesitant about the way the hotel looked. Dont get me wrong it did not look like a dive just looked like a typical country hotel. This worried me..... however like a million people who have said before me, never judge a book by its cover because this hotel ticks every box and is brilliant!!

We had booked the Luxury suit for two nights and it was exceptional. The room was very modern and huge!! The room consisted of a sitting area and bar which was separate from the bedroom. The bathroom was off the bedroom and quiet spacious. I thought the shower and bath combo could have been a little bigger but that's just nit picking at its finest. Also bed was a king genuinely thought I was lost in it one night.... Drink also attributed to this.....

The hotel has two restaurants, One is on the first floor and has a menu which deserves a mitch star and a price to match(which in fairness can be expected)!! the second is on the ground floor. We arrived late and diddn't book the upstairs one which was my fault but we did eat in the one on the ground floor which was rather nice, from what I can remember it was Italian/other stuff... It was very reasonably priced and again very nice.

This ground floor restaurant also doubled as the breakfast area in the morning! now The breakfast if not included in the rate can be expensive but my god was it a good breakfast!!! so if u plan on staying here book, bed and breakfast not just Bed!!! Now back to breakfast.... There was the usual stuff of full irish, various egg/sausage combos and the fruit and cereal buffet but there was also really nice kinda quirky things too.. such as pancakes and waffles with funky sauces and garnish which I know isn't that crazy but it was nice! Also to be noted is the pastries which were brilliant. There is a bakery beside or apart of the hotel which supply pastries and breads for the breakfast and they were unreal!!!!!! again another lovely touch!!

If you are not a fan of eating in hotels do not fear there is a small pier about a 43 second walk from the hotel which has a pub which has a spectacular menu. This was recommended by everyone I know whom have been to Barna!!

Things to do, well if you like walks on beaches and drives in the most rural parts of the countryside this place is perfect cause there's loads of that or if you plan on visiting Galway city its also perfect. My dad said Galway city is a thirty min drive from here but he was wrong about this and many other things..... It took me 5 mins from leaving the hotel car park one night to arriving in Galway city.... (kmh/mph its all the same).... but on a serious note Galway city is within a 10 min drive.

so to conclude the hotel was:

Well priced
Well located
Staff exceptionally friendly
Great food
Huge room and bed
Very modern
Exceptional Breakfast(make sure to book B&B don't be a cheapskate)
I could actually go on about the breakfast for a while...
Very close to Galway city

never really say this but I have no complaints about this place 9.9/10 (.1 is for the bathroom, I cant help but nit pick...)

Room Tip: Luxury was big dunno about the rest, get breakfast included!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here recently and this has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed in.When it comes to cleanliness,amazing food,friendliness and so on this hotel definitely lives up to all of the above and beyond.The staff are in a league of their own and ensure people are 100% well looked after.I will definitely be back and ensure to let all my friends know there is no hotel better. All the best in winning future awards because this is a guarantee for the twelve.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to The Twelve and not much has changed, surrounding, friendliness of staff and food very good. Ate at Pins restaurant both nights and so good, busy but not too long waiting for tables, Manager excellent. Bakery next door lovely too. Bar, Donnellys across the road is a lovely pub for a few pre dinner drinks. Only problem we had was our room 1227 was next to a suite no 1228 which was really noisy with excessive thru traffic as many people were staying in this suite, especially children, we did mention it to Receptionist and would just advise unless the hotel is full avoid putting couples in this room and also give additional room cards, so they are not knocking at all hours - other than that, a lovely visit and we'll revisit again!

Room Tip: Avoid room 1227!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife booked a one night B&B deal with dinner over the phone for the Saturday of St Patrick's weekend. She said that the girl that she was dealing with on the phone was excellent, really friendly and helpful.
Arrived on Saturday afternoon, checked in by a very friendly person. The bar area was very busy as there was a wedding in the hotel. However the service level did not drop at all during the stay.
The room is modern, nice bright bathroom and a very comfy bed. Even though the hotel is situated on a busy road there was no traffic noise in the room
We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night, not your usual €10 supplement for steak, €5 supplement for certain starters. We had a choice of the full A La Carte menu. The food was excellent, both of us had Dover Sole for main course, delicious.
Freshly cooked breakfast the next morning. There was an older gentleman working in the bar/bistro area who is a real credit to the hotel.
We enjoyed our night so much that we asked about staying Sunday night, we were given a really good deal so we stayed a second night.
As we were checking out we were given a voucher for a take away cup of coffee, a small touch but appreciated
I would really recommend this hotel and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, fun gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.