We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scubado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Hotel to your Saves list
The Twelve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
“scubado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

One of the best hotels i have stayed in. The service from the staff from the minute we arrived till even 5 minutes after we left the hotel when we got our free coffee in the bakery was excellent. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The food is to a very high standard and i would recommend the bread and butter pudding. Have plans to stay there again.Very Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    222
    62
    29
    8
See reviews for
178
571
14
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Twelve is the nicest hotel I have EVER stayed in! Got quite a good deal on the room for a romantic getaway and it really was fantastic! The room was beautiful, the service was great and breakfast and dinner were gorgeous! The extra little touches were lovely too!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Gorgeous hotel, not too far from Galway city. Ate in the restuarant on the second of our two night stay, fabulous food with a massive wine selection. Rooms were clean & comfortable. The service from reception all the way through our stay was marvellous, the staff really couldn't do enough for us. The only warning I would give to any travellers is.............the car park is very very tight, practice your parking before you go!
Would strongly recommend & plan to stay here again

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the entrance/car park - our room faced the main road through the village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The title says it all really. I stayed here for one night as part of a large group. I was incredibly impressed by the food and the service in the hotel. It had one of the best breakfasts I've ever seen.
The rooms are lovely and have beautiful organic cosmetics for your use.
I had been expecting a hotel in Galway so was a little thrown by the location but that was my mistake! It's perfect for a romantic getaway.
My only complaint would be that by the time I took a shower at 10am on Sunday morning the reserves of hot water were running low and it was lukewarm at best.
That said I would definitely recommend and return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just back from an amazing stay at The Twelve. The staff are so nice and attentive and helpful and all the little touches you experience make it an unforgetable stay. Our thanks to Fergus and the team for the wonderful suite upgrade, the lovely card and treats on arrival and the great care we received for my husbands 40th. We had a wonderful massage there which was a lovely experience. Dinner in the West was sumpuous and we had many choices for breakfast outside of the ordinary on offer. We went as a couple but the hotel seems well able to cater to families. We will definately be back and with some friends too! so we can enjoy the bar :)

Room Tip: we were upgraded from the splendid room to the suite and it was wonderully spaceous and very luxurio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

the 12 is stylish with exceptional staff, lovely decor and generous sized rooms. food at both the restaurant and cafe is great. i really do love this hotel but...
we had a family suite and on our hallway it looked like all rooms were set up to have a shared entry way with the room next door. we thought nothing of it until next door came in one night at 1am and the next was in and out at 3-4am. it woke both myself and husband up as it sounded like someone was actually walking in our room when their footsteps clicked on the tiles. the doors slamming and echoing in our room hardly helped either. on the flip side, i can't imagine they enjoyed us clomping in and out at 7am.
to their credit, the staff made sure nobody was in the room the last night there and were very apologetic. if you can sleep through anything, or can book both rooms i can't recommend this hotel enough. however, because i sleep so poorly as it is, this chalks up as one of my poorest sleep quality hotels i've ever stayed in.
such a shame as i really do love everything about this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just had a three night mid-week break in the Twelve, great staff, wonderful food and very comfortable room. Would recommend it highly and a great location, a short hop to bustling Galway with all its attractions and the beauty of Connemara. The food in the West restaurant is superb and very well presented and served. A memorable experience.

By way of suggestions, would love a coat rack/hangers (plenty of space by the door) in the room and a heated towel rail in the bathroom (challenging due to the large walk-in shower).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, fun gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The PinsBarBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.