We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Twelve Hotel to your Saves list
The Twelve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Staff, Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here over the summer and had a superb time. The rooms were lovely and clean, the bar was lovely and the service and food in the restaurant was top notch. Can't fault this hotel. It's not too far from the city. Can't wait to get an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    222
    62
    29
    8
See reviews for
178
572
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

After a long flight and drive from Dublin this was a brest place to stay for my first visit to Ireland. Large, clean rooms; helpful, attentive staff who were always gracious and accommodating. Ate at the regular restaurant and LOVED the staff there as well as David at the bar. Breakfast lasts you through the day. Literally on the way to Connamera, which was great for exploring. I would love to return one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

A friend suggested we stay here when we visited. Such a find, true luxury in the rooms, bar was really nice with excellent wine menu, went to there more formal restaurant upstairs and loved it. Highly recommend the Pizza too...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I used live in barna and always wanted to stay in the 12 but could never justify it as I only lived half a mile away. however, I've since moved away and recently had the chance stay at the twelve. everything was great, from arrival to departure. Samantha at reception was exceptionally friendly. there was a welcome card with a pastry and some chocolate strawberries in the room. the bedroom was divine, it was a suite really, not a room. very luxurious, beautiful fabrics and decor. I ate in the bar, which was busy and had live music. the food was very tasty and reasonably priced. great choice for breakfast, continental and full Irish, or pancakes, eggs benedict etc. free parking. I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed as a family of four - two adults two teens - and from the check-in when you are offered a seat and a cold beverage, you know that things will be very pleasant at this hotel. We were planning to stay in Galway, but left the booking late and it was the Galway Race weekend. Lucky us, we got to stay at The Twelve. Parking is plentiiful, but a bit tight, but only by North American standards :) The first night the boys order pizza from room service and we walked down to a restaurant down the street which was quite good. The second night we all ate together at the informal on-site restaurant and the food really was exceptional and memorable. The mussels were delicious. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the disco lights in the bathroom were a hit! The breakfast was also generous and delicious. Nothing bad to say, although it did cost a bit more than we usually pay, it also felt like we were getting good quality and value for the cost. It was worth the drive to Barna!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is everything you would want for any occasion..............lovely rooms, excellent food, fantastic bar, good entertainment or peace and quiet relaxing.
We were visiting for a wedding and could not have asked for more from the staff and owner!
Would highly reccomend to all.

Room Tip: We had a suite...............great comfort or a party room if there is a gang of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The people, the service, the food - I can't compliment them enough! Everything from reservation to check our was super. They make their own FAB pizzas from scratch in the casual restaurant and have a gorgeous restaurant upstairs for a fancier experience! The steak was one of the tastiest I have ever had! The service was incredible and really helped make our weekend away special. The little touches like the birthday card, juice on arrival, upgrade and coffee to go when we checked out is what made it for us! I can't recommend this place enough!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, fun gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The PinsBarBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twelve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.