We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B; Brilliant Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freeport House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freeport House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Freeport House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Freeport | Barna Galway, Barna, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kilcolgan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B; Brilliant Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at Freeport House in Barna village, Galway; a lovely place to stay. Wonderful view of Galway Bay from the back of the accommodation; plenty of free car parking and walking distance to the excellent Donnellys Bar & Restaurant and the 12 Hotel. Good location to explore Galway and Conemara. Lovely staff and one of the best breakfasts you will ever get!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan C, Owner at Freeport House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank You for your review, glad you enjoyed the breakfast, Regards J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend (now fiance) and I, stayed here for two nights to begin our trip in Ireland. Joan was an amazing host and the rooms were fantastic. We had a beautiful view and the location was great. We were looking for somewhere outside of Galway but within walking distance of several restaurants, this was the perfect location. We would definitely recommend the Freeport House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently stayed here & Joan is the perfect host. Room was beautiful with lovely sea views. Breakfast was great, plenty

  • Liked — Everything. Joan was a excellent host
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything perfect
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, at Freeport House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Trevor, Thank you for your review it means a lot to our business. Regards Joan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed for one night while attending a function in Barna. Would love to have stayed longer - beautiful location, ensuite rooms with amazing panoramic views of Galway bay. (Nothing like waking up to a view like that!). Very friendly host (Joan), and great food too. Reservation was easy and hassle-free, and great value too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHODE ISLAND
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a wonderful time at Freeport House. Joan and Theresa are amazing. Very helpful .I know I'll never look at greyhounds in the same way again ! Joan your the best. Don't forget your invitation here when you two visit Rhode Island.

Room Tip: Read trip advisor reviews....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The location of Freeport House on Galway Bay was lovely. The views were fantastic. The room was cozy - even in the cold of November. Joan was a lovely hostess who also gave us tips about where to eat (we chose the local pub) and what to see in the area. This was the first of five B&B's we stayed at in Ireland. Joan's Irish breakfast was the best of them all. I would definitely recommend to friends, family - anyone!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the bay for an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan C, Owner at Freeport House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks a million for your kind words, glad you enjoyed my breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Freeport House out of circumstances not in our control -- we had actually booked at the neighboring Abbeyville Bed and Breakfast, but the manager there fell ill with a root canal, so she directed us across the street. Joan, the manager of Freeport, was very friendly, warm and inviting. We arrived late and she directed us where to find food at such a late hour and let us stay up in the living room, eating and watching TV. She made us a hearty Irish breakfast and gave us great advice as to how to get into Galway scenically and cheaply. The room was small, but comfortable and the shower was great. Would definitely recommend this place. Barna is also a charming village.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freeport House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeport House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Freeport | Barna Galway, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Property is a family run Bed and Breakfast accommodation which offer the highest of standards and we aim to accommodate and please all our customers who visit our Guest house, Our prices are per person sharing per night. There are tours to the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and the Connemara Tour which departs from our Guest House each morning and return again in the evening, all of which can be organised by Joan. There are also four award winning restaurants within walking distance, and of course the Beach and Barna Pier. We are located on the R336 road 10 mins from Galway city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freeport House Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeport House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.