We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donnellys of Barna

Donnellys of Barna
Barna Coast Road | Galway, Barna, Galway, Ireland
353 (0)91 592 487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a few drinks and some food here this evening. The food and drink were nice but it was the Staff who made the experience so good. They were all so friendly. One girl was humming to herself as she buzzed around serving people. Another girl who had a charming mixture of an Irish and European accent, was very nice too and was particularly kind to an elderly couple who were confused about the menu. A really nice Bar man passed by our table just before I dropped my fork and when he heard it fall, he came back to see what had been dropped and to offer me another one. Just a small thing, but an indicator of the overall type of attention to detail by the brilliant staff!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Gertob1,

Thank you for your review.
It was so nice to read your comments about our staff. It gave our staff such a lift when they read your review knowing that it was down to them that you had such a good experience, so thank you for acknowledging their hard work.

We were delighted that you also enjoyed your meal & drinks.

We hope you visit Donnellys next time you are in Galway.

Kind regards
Cecily & all the team at Donnellys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    96
    29
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Seafood and Service!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Was out for the day with Family and went to O'Grady's for bite to eat. However, could not accommodate us as they did not have what we wanted. Asked them to recommend another seafood restaurant nearby and they suggested the Twelve. Walking up the road to the Twelve we discovered Donnelly's Seafood Restaurant, less than a minutes walk from the other place. They obviously did not want us to know about this gem as the seafood was brilliant and services outstanding. We enjoyed a selection of seafood crab claws, mussels, and trout. Was very busy on a Monday at lunch but were looked after straight away. Bar area is lovely and staff were friendly, efficient. Will definitely be back. Do not miss this Seafood Restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Novak23

Thank you for taking the time to review Donnellys after your dining experience.
We were delighted that you spotted us after you left O'Gradys to make your way to the Twelve.

We we very happy to read that you enjoyed the whole experience at Donnellys from service to your food.
Thank you for recommending us as a Seafood Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Cecily & all the team at Donnellys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went here for dinner on a busy Friday evening,They fit us in without a reservation.Lovely place,great service,fantastic seafood.Really worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Roblinehan,

Thank you for taking the time to review Donnellys and it was a pleasure to read your positive comments about the restaurant, the service & the food.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Donnellys next time you are in Galway.

Kind regards
Cecily & all the team at Donnellys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best GATHERING place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

While planning an Irish tour with my parents, my widowed aunt, and my brother and his wife, I searched Tripadvisor for restaurants in all of the cities we would be visiting, at all price points. I was initially thrilled to find, high on the list of Galway's restaurants, Donnelly's of Barna. My mother's maiden name/aunt's married name was Donnelly ( as is the middle name of my youngest child). The reviews were fantastic, and I knew my mother and aunt would appreciate the connection (since the Donnelly name is mainly based near Northern Ireland, near Antrim, and we were not headed in that direction.) I bookmarked the restaurant, and shortly before the trip, I realized they had a tab on their website about the Gathering. Oh MY.
I made the reservation for the six of us early, because I knew we would be touring the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher that day. We arrived when only a few were in the pub, and no one yet in the restaurant. What a blessing . . .server Lisa (and so sorry, there was another young lady whose name we did not get-she arranged the chairs/took the photos and was so lovely) treated my mum and aunt like the royalty everyone wants to be--the purple draped chairs, the crowns, the photos, the declarations. You made these ladies so happy, and since I instigated the trip, you made the entire trip for me!
The food was fabulous--several "foodies" in our group, and the meal was fabulous, not a single complaint. Chowder was chockful of seafood. Bread was great. Fish was fresh and delicious. Great wine selection. Best service ever. Wonderful, wonderful night. Though we arrived early and the place was quiet, not an open table nor an unhappy diner when we departed.
Donnelly's is worth the short drive from Galway, and is a DON'T MISS if you are a Donnelly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Soccermon844,
Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review of our restaurant. To read about your experience as a "Donnelly" visiting our restaurant was fantastic.
We were so happy to learn that you enjoyed the experience and that we made your trip to Ireland.

To know that you had foodies in your group and that all of you enjoyed your meals & wine is certainly a stamp of approval.

Thank you once again for your great review and should you ever return to Galway we would be delighted to welcome you back again to Donnellys of Barna.

Kind regards
Cecily and all the team of Donnellys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner in the 'Snug'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we were lucky to get seats in the snug in this pub restaurant, it was very quaint. the staff were very friendly and efficient. The fish dish was the big disappointment, especially as it advertises as a fish restaurant, but the other dishes and the desserts were very good. Maybe this was a one off problem with the fish. lovely little flower garden at the back. Reasonably priced and worth visiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ann B,
Thank you for taking the time to review Donnellys.
We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the snug experience. It sure is a popular area with locals & visitors.
We were very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your fish course. As a seafood restaurant this is certainly not something we like to hear. I will privately message you to see what fish you had as this will help us to find out what was wrong with the dish and what we can do to ensure future customers enjoy the course.
Thank you for your good comments on our desserts.
We hope you will return to Donnellys and leave with a more positive view of our Fish Dishes.
Thank you.
Kind regards
Cecily & all the team at Donnellys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donnellys of Barna also viewed

 

Been to Donnellys of Barna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donnellys of Barna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.