We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Restaurant

West Restaurant
The Twelve Hotel | Barna Coast Rd, Barna, Galway 091, Ireland
+353 91 597 000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $31
Cuisines: French, Irish, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Award winning Upstairs at WEST restaurant is located in beautiful Barna,Galway on The Wild Atlantic Way in one of the most luxurious boutique hotels, The Twelve. West features innovative dishes that highlight the region and the season's best ingredients. West holds 2 Culinay Rossetes and is noted as a pioneer of the local food movement. Just 10 minutes from Galway City, WEST is very much about wine. One of Ireland's most exciting collections is on display throughout and celebrity wine dinners are a regular feature. "Celebrate Food, Celebrate Wine, Celebrate Life"
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I ate here with a group for my sisters birthday. It was ok. The food was nice as were the staff. However there was hardly anyone there for a busy weekend, therefore it lacked some atmosphere and was a bit dark.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    22
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just devine! Would recommend people get the wine selection from the sommelier and just enjoy the experience

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Complementary cocktails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

High quality food, great attention to detail, had or maybe still have early bird bargain of 2 courses with a cocktail for E25.00. No cutting corners, staff really helpful, coeliac friendly and lovely ambience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had dinner in the West as part of our package in the Twelve hotel. We had the choice of the full menu. While waiting on our starters we were provided with a choice of breads baked fresh in the Twelve Bakery (sundried tomato, herb bread and soda bread) with a choice of homemade butters and pestos. I could have eaten a meal of just bread it was that delicious! The starters, mains and desserts did not disappoint either.
Aside from the food the atmosphere and ambience in the restaurant was great, really laid back and chilled. THe staff were great, very attentive, very knowledgeable about the food and wines. All in all this restaurant like the Twelve hotel is a gem in the West and somewhere we would definitely not hesitate to visit again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Huge wine selection, very tasty selection of fish & game on the menu. Dessert was quite adventurous. Very satisfying meal

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to West Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.