We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umm basic but beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Talamanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Talamanca to your Saves list
Hostal Talamanca
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Talamanca | Apartado 103, 07800 Talamanca, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Talamanca
essex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Umm basic but beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've stayed here a few times, but not recently , it is very basic the rooms are old fashioned so is the hotel ,but there is something special about it ,I have stayed in the best 5 star hotels with all the trimmings but when you open the doors of your room and look at the view you are on the beach it's beautiful .

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    19
    7
    13
See reviews for
9
37
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having visited ibiza several times and often stayed at the hotel argos we decided to try the hostel as we often eat there and are friendly with the staff.We went in october as we were told by locals it is still warm but with a totally different feel as most holiday makers have been and gone.The hostel staff are warm and friendly and the rooms very clean although smallish if you get a room with a sea view its well worth the extra as you are just yards from the sea.It was quiet but not dead and much more relaxed.Your breakfast is from half eight to eleven with the usual cereals breads and meats with a range of fresh fruit and yoghurts,on the hour they serve piping hot scrambled eggs.Also you may sit from half eight till eleven and have a leisurely breakfast going back for more as often as you want and with the view you will not want to hurry its a lovely way to start your day. The meals served during the day and evening were very good and reasonably price so we didnt go far at all .Unfortunately I was robbed on their little part of the beach just the room and safe keys and the chap on the desk sorted new locks for both within two hours at no extra cost to us and we didn't feel that we had inconvenienced them at all. All in all a great friendly romantic week in a fantastic spot, cant wait for next year.

Room Tip: A sea view is so worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

DO NOT BOOK A ROOM ON THE BACK OF THE HOSTEL AT ANY COST!!!!
I have just come back from a 10day solo tour of the island staying at 6 different places and this place was by far the worst!! The reason i say "chic & shabby" is if you have a room on the front with the nice views of the sea etc then you`re in the "chic" part, but if you stay on the back like i did then this is just pure "SHABBY"!! I stayed in room 124 which measured approx 8ft x 14ft and you could stand in the middle of the room and touch all 4 walls - i now know how ppl feel when they say they feel claustrophobic. My view from my window was of the dusty communial carpark for anyones use and on from that scrub-land. On a few occasions when i did look out my window there were ppl in broad daylight urinating up the carpark wall (as in pic behind burgandy car). Then at night time you had to contend with the busy road that was DIRECTLY under your window which seemed to be a meeting point for the locals who`d turn up at ALL hours, park their cars up with their car music blarring out and talking/shouting amongst themselves, plus scooters and every other form of transport using the road, so if you wanted a early night like i did FORGET IT!!! I was mean`t to stay here for 2 nights but checked out after the first and proceeded to my next destination. Also i asked for a menu at lunchtime thinking i`d be able to order a sandwich or suchlike but everything on the menu started at 9euro`s just for a soup then it all went up to 13+ euro`s, so no chance of a cheap bite to eat. The rooms were dirty and cob-webs everywhere (as in pic) and as the night progressed into morning the bedroom doors were getting slammed louder as there was just one long corridoor the entire length of the hostel so you`d hear every door close/slam. As for breakfast - it was a sdire as the hostel, vending machine tea/coffee - YUK!! I must stress also that in my opinion this isn`t a place for solo travellers as everything seems geared towards couples all trying to look/act suave. I had high expectations when i booked this place based on the "hype" but my heart sunk as soon as i opened the room door :/
This could be a really nice place if the rooms had a makeover and it wern`t so pretencious.

Room Tip: If you book at this hostel DONT get fobbed off with a room on the back!!! Make sure you get a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Talamanca hotels

Gt. Manchester England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed at the Talamanca 16-19 December, we picked it ecause of th egood reviews it already had, plus Parking was available always a plus in Evissa town, we arrived quite late and imediatly was offered an upgrade to a suite right on the beach, I went to check it out, but there was no lighting, so it was a bit dangerous underfoot, I rejected this room because of this and also because the room smelt a bit damp. though it ws a good size. It was only in the morning when I could see how good a position it was in, with a superbe view that I regreted this. instead we decided to take room 118, on the first floor, no lift and the hotel also had the builders in so next morning we were woken up by banging at around 7.30am there was also a lot of cement dust on the hand rails, not that important I know but still off putting. I have to say both me husband and myself said we had never slept in a more uncomfortable bed but other that that the room was ok and had a lovely view of the sea. The breakfast was a cold buffet , I would have prefered to have something hot, which given the fact the hotel has an excellent resturant facility was a bit of a shame. The staff were excellent very helpful and friendly, I thought the cost was a little steep 63 E per night for a double room, the facilities were very basic and we met other people staying at the other side of Evissa town in a beach side hotel, paying only 25 E per night. Would I stay there again? only if I was unable to find something else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howarthhouse
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

this is the second time i have stayed here and again it was perfect the rooms are very basic but what you would expect from a hostel very clean and all the staff are so nice and helpfull the veiw is outstanding and the beach perfect Would i go again try and stop me !!!

Room Tip: ask for and pay extra for a sea veiw worth the differance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong Region, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

If you want to go with your family, or for a romantic gateway, forget it.
If you want to party, but to be in a quiet area during morning to rest a bit, or head to the sea while coming back from the Space, this is a really nice spot.
Rooms are a bit small, not perfectly cleaned, but it's ok for a short stay when you will anyway be most of the time on the beach or the dancefloor.
Seaview rooms have great balcony.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed at the hostal in April 2010.. We were familiar with Talamanca and chose the hostal because of its typical Ibencian characteristics and it's postion on the beach. We had paid extra for a beach view from our room but when we checked in they gave us a room on the road side. When this was queried we were given a beach viwe room which was excellent. You could almost touch the sand. Breakfast was included and was more than adequate. Unpretentious but has hotel qualities. Would totally recommend if you want to experience accmodaion without the corporate slant, Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Talamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Talamanca

Address: Playa Talamanca | Apartado 103, 07800 Talamanca, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town > Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Talamanca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Talamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Talamanca Hotel Talamanca
Hostal Hotel Talamanca
Hostal Talamanca Ibiza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Talamanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.