We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ocean Drive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ocean Drive to your Saves list
Hotel Ocean Drive
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa de Talamanca, 07800 Talamanca, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Talamanca
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“very nice but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

i couldnt really find fault with the place except that it is definately overpriced.
Our room was immaculate but not big, nicely decorated.
Mini bar with no alcohol and a comfy bed.
But £125.00 for one night out of season , no breakfast is simply too much.
To be honest i would expect more for my money or be charged less.
Stayed only one night as couldnt justify the money for longer.
It was described as 10 minutes from Ibiza town but is more like a good 30 minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    34
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
4
50
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Hotel is in a great location, directly opposite the marina. We arrived at the bus stop directly adjacent to the hotel on the 12B bus (12A is the return bus direct to Eivissa (Ibiza Town) as the 12B continues via outlying towns and takes about 40 mins). During a friendly and welcoming check in, we were told that we had been upgraded to a room with a marina view, which was well maintained and contemporary in style and had the bonus of a balcony. A couple of things didn't hit the mark though - the chill out bar on the hotel roof was closed throughout our stay as it was deemed "chilly", this despite a flier in the lift advertising the opening times. The room directory indicated that the mini bar (softs only) would be replenished daily but it wasn't and the flannels were not replaced during room make up - these were pointed out to management and identified as new season staff learning the ropes. The bonus of a marina view room is somewhat tempered by the increased noise - I don't know where they go to but there is a procession of lorries trundling past at all hours, and unless you sleep like the proverbial log then earplugs are a must. Having said all that, a pleasant stay was had!

Room Tip: For sleepers, consider a non-marina view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

The staff were courteous, professional, obliging and genuinely helpful. The rooms are attractively designed, functional and the glass bathrooms is a highlight. The location of the hotel would have to be the best in Ibiza, everything can be reached on foot, there are any number of excellent restaurants within walking distance. We also enjoyed our meal at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

my favourite hotel in ibiza and have tried quite a few , the staff cant do enough for you , the location is excellent for getting pretty much anywhere on the island , the rooms ( particularly the suites ) are very nice since the refurb , breakfast are excellent and can be had until late , roof top bar is a good new addition and although hotel doesnt hava a pool talamanca beach is only next door . restaurant is also better than you might expect and does a very reasonable priced buffet lunch .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Choosing this hotel was an excellent decision for my trip to Ibiza. I was won over both by the place, and by the staff. I'll try not to overstate the obvious, and talk about those often-overlooked things that can make or break a good hotel. Yes, the location is probably the best in Ibiza, and yes, the rooms are top-of-the-range. But having said that, any fool can buy expensive furniture and toss it in with absolutely no taste whatsoever (just watch a rapper, or any nouveau riche for that matter), but it is an entirely different thing to "make it all fit". The room was not big and narrow, so from the beginning it is harder for the designer to create the feeling of space, but a few well-placed mirrors give the narrow hallway the impression of a much bigger volume. The whole room feels cozy, and never cramped. Materials are top-tier, and elemental: stone, wood, leather, metal and glass. "Understated luxury" comes to mind when you look at the whole - everything feels expensive to the touch and to the eye, but it is never ostentatious, but rather like an English butler, who does his job efficiently and discretely. The general feeling was that of great materials integration, and clever use of space. Perhaps that's why I compare this to the bedroom of a luxury private yacht - using the given space to the maximum, the best finishes and amenities, and the best lighting, to create a luxurious, but also homey atmosphere.
The other thing that mattered very much to me was the kindness of the staff to their guests, who went beyond the usual courtesy of their job to accommodate us. I arranged a limousine transfer from the airport to the hotel, through the hotel. I asked for a certain type of car, but another car waited for us at the arrival hall. I told the reception about this, and by the time I checked out they said that because of the mismatch, I don't have to pay anything, because it was their mistake. I was totally won over for their gesture. I however told them that I wasn't really angry (this other car was in the same category, just slightly older and with a diesel engine), I just wanted to know what had happened. It's gestures like this, that set the difference between an expensive hotel, and an excellent hotel, and by handling us as guests with this degree of care, that guaranteed that if I will ever want to stay in the area again, I will choose this hotel, as well as recommending them with no reserve to all of my friends who would want to visit this island.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Upon arrival, I thought the hotel looked more 3 stars than 4. Tiny parking area and very basic reception. However, check in was very quick and within 2 minutes I was in my room. The first thing that I noticed about the room (double deluxe) was how small it was compared to other 4 star hotels. However, the rooms are very modern with a nice balcony overlooking the sea and the old town. I didn't sleep much in my first night as the room faces the road and I could hear trucks coming and going al night. Surely, quality double glazing should be a requirement for a 4 star hotel. The pillows were not great either.I tried to drown the noise by switching the air conditioner but only hot air was turned on. In the morning I woke up with screetching noises upstairs which sounded like cleaning and moving furniture

The staff at reception were wonderful, always willing to help, very knowledgeable and really made the difference. The staff at breakfast were also very nice (except last day when a poor lady was on her own serving the whole hotel and it took ages to get coffee and eggs). Try the pancakes, highly recommended. The breakfast itself was better than what I expected but stay away from the juices. Very bad quality

Don't get me wrong, this is a good hotel in a good location surrounded by very good restaurants and cafes, I just expected more from a 4 star hotel. Did I mention no pool?

I would recommend this hotel if noise is not an issue for you

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Super l hotel, with a super view from our room to the sea and formentera:)!!
Very clean, central in the port and nevertheless still, unbelievable how friendly the people were !!!!
Breakfast had so much, it was truly a hard decision WOW:
We had no complaints!!!
The staff, all the same was very nice, helpful and just with some Viennese touch:)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean Drive

Address: Playa de Talamanca, 07800 Talamanca, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town > Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ocean Drive 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in Ibiza's Yacht Harbour of Marina Botafoch, Ocean Drive Hotel combines retro glamour with its instantly recognizable art deco design. It was inspired by the architecture of Miami's South Beach, as well as New York's roaring 20's . Ocean Drive Hotel is located in close proximity to Ibiza's beautiful beaches, the famous Pacha nightclub, as well as the island's "Old Town", a UNESCO World heritage site. The hotels's art deco aesthetic is reflected by its Mies van der Rohe and Le Corbusier furniture. Each of the 40 elegant guest rooms are outfitted in mellow tones of lavender and chocolate, with views of either the sparkling Mediterranean Sea or Ibiza's mountain vistas. Serving health-conscious cross-over cuisine with Asian, Latin American and European influences, the restaurant is decorated with classic furnishings in muted hues and soft lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ocean Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Ibiza
Ocean Drive Ibiza
Ocean Drive Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ocean Drive Ibiza/Talamanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ocean Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.