We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More welcoming places elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tast

Tast
Placa Pare Camps, 21, 07740 Mercadal, Minorca, Spain
+34 971 375 587
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Mercadal
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“More welcoming places elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Mercadal and having seen previous reviews for Tast on Trip Advisor, decided to give it a go. Unfortunately we cannot comment on the food as we never got the chance to eat there. It was busy when we arrived (about 2.30pm on a Tuesday) but there was a table outside - it only had one chair and wasn't set, but as we had a young child with us, outside was better, so we asked if it we could have it and were told it would be a minimum of a 40 minute wait. Unfortunately this was too long with a young child, so we turned to walk away....only to see a Spanish speaking couple turn up and be seated at the table! The waitress happily fetching another chair and laying the table. With such blatant rudeness, we wouldn't eat there now if you paid us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good service, shame about the football!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have a house on the island and are regular visitors so we're always on the look-out for good new restaurants. We hadn't tried Tast previously but the generally favourable reviews encouraged to give it a try. It was a Tuesday and only a couple of other tables were occupied. My wife's starter of Serrano ham was excellent with a generous portion and my Sashimi Salmon came with ginger and wasabi - superb! The mains of leg of lamb and turbot respectively were excellent and served promptly by our friendly waiter, Martin. The only thing that spoiled the experience for us was the fact that a group of noisy young boys were playing football on the square which is adjacent to the outside dining area. Whilst it's great to see kids enjoying themselves it's not conducive to an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahon, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Elegant food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have just read Andy Durant's review and couldn't believe my eyes! This restaurant has become a firm favourite of ours, ( we have the fantastic luck to live on the island). Our friends and guests have all been delighted with the beautifully cooked and presented dishes and more than happy with the price tag. We are serious foodies, having been involved in catering for the Superyacht scene and also having lived in France for many years, where the cuisine is renowned to be pretty good, to say the least. Don't be put off by Andy's review.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Visited Tast (lack of Tast) after reading some trip adviser reviews.
We went on a Monday evening at around 8.30pm. We sat outside and were fortunate enough to see a local annual festival where the locals sing songs and eat together, amazing. This, sadly is where the niceties ended.
Firstly To put it in perspective we were one of two groups who were eating at the restaurant the whole time we were there, so the kitchen was not busy.
We were spoken to (I can't use the term greeted as that would be completely incorrect) by a waiter who did not smile at any point during our visit, we felt like we were inconveniencing him from the start.
He took our order which consisted of 6 dishes of tapas, and two beers for the two of us.
3 dishes came out which were salmon sashimi, prawns, and meatballs.
No issues with the salmon, quite tasty.
The prawns were completely tasteless, no seasoning.
The meatballs (3 in total) were Luke warm, and in some kind of thin, brown, pond water type sludge.
The next dishes came out which was a scrambled egg dish with pasta, not too bad, but a little bland.
Then a cod and red pepper dish which was served in a martini glass - I can only say that the fish was something like the good old ocean burgers that were served at school, where the word 'ocean' hid a multitude of sins. The only good point about this dish is that the portion was so small that we didn't have to eat that much of it.
We finished with a mouthful of suckling pig each. This admittedly was nice, but the portion size was minuscule.

Whilst trying to eat these miniature pieces of inadequate food I watched the two members of staff, both stood in the doorway to the restaurant, arms crossed, staring glumly into the distance. I can only compare them to door staff at a nightclub. I tried to get their attention to tell them about the meatballs but they both just stood, fixed.

We were extremely disappointed, especially since some of the dishes were quite expensive, compared to lots better quality in other areas of the island.

When the bill came we looked at it and couldn't justify paying it in full. We saw the prices before ordering and were fully prepared to pay the price for a lovely meal, I'm very much a believer in you get what you pay for and love my food so don't mind a hefty bill for it, IF its worth it. On this occasion it wasn't, so we disputed it.
We essentially had a long protracted argument with them for around 10 minutes about the quality of the food and the service. We argued that the prawns were tasteless and poor quality, the meatballs were undercooked and tasteless, the cod was substandard quality. The response was that we should have complained to them whilst eating our meal, and they would have rectified it. Our response was that we don't come out, to a place that charges a lot for food, and expect to complain about 50% of the dishes, and that we would have been there three times as long, and frankly I don't expect to complain about anything when the prices are high. The food should be up to it, without me having to put my opinions across after every bite.

The result (and only reason I've given the place 1 star) was that they agreed to refund us for the three dishes we disputed.

The bill would have been near to the €70 mark had it not been for the refund. If you enjoy eating in places where the food is about all style, no content, then head here, if you want good quality food at reasonable prices, there are a number of other restaurants, particularly in nearby Fornells.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tapas and line-dancing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Arrived at the same time as the 'horse festival' - to find a crowd of line dancers in the square - excellent entertainment. Went for the tapas menu, which could not be faulted, and to our surprise included a pudding choice at the end. Just a perfect way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tast also viewed

 

Been to Tast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.