We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Sands Country Club to your Saves list
White Sands Country Club
Complejo Pinimar, Avda. Port d'Addaia s/n | Port d'Addaia, 07740 Mercadal, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just returned from a late October/early November week at this wonderful place. As some other revews suggest - the area is very quiet and peaceful - which is one reason we chose it. What we did not expect was the beauty of the surrounding area, and the fantastic local walks you can take (and longer walks for those who are more adventurous).
The staff were all very knowledgable and helpful - and were able to recommend some lovely places to visit - thank you.
The apartment seemed pleasant on arrival. However, the longer we stayed, the more we appreciated the design and facilities. We were lucky enough to have a washing machine in our kitchen - but I know not all apartments do) which was very useful. A couple of nights were a bit chilly - and we discovered the wonderful underfloor heating. The beds were the most comfortable I have slept in on holiday and apparently consist of a 'comfort' system - which really works. The bedding seemed like very expensive white high percale cotton - and certainly felt lovely to the touch. We were considering buying some pillows to take back (apparently they are for sale!), but in the end, we just did not have the room in our cases.
The pool and grounds are very well maintained and pretty. Sadly the pool was just too cold for us at this time of year (even for our boys) - but I bet it is lovely in high season.
Other reviewers have mentioned hiring a car. I would certainly recommend this because Menorca is beautiful and there are some lovely places to visit.
NB: I would also recommend the Taj restaurant.
Thank you for a lovely relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, away from the road - but I believe that all the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at White Sands Country Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review of your stay at the White Sands Country Club! We strive to provide all our members and guests with excellent service, and we’re really glad that our team were able to supply you with all the help and information you needed during your stay.

We hope you’ll choose to visit our resorts again in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Begonia Aguirre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a September holiday in Menorca and all we could ask for: sunshine; good accommodation; superb staff; excellent pool; relative tranquility. Immediate locality afforded three restaurants and supermarket with quite reasonable prices for those who self cater.
Added value was the ability to walk out from the resort, along coastal or inland paths. To drive around the island is an absolute delight, as there is very little traffic to get you to the plentiful beautiful beaches such as Carle el Pilar, Cala Macarella, Carla Macarelleta and Sant Thomas.
If it is Festa time then don't miss the opportunity to see the magnificant Menorcan horses that work their way round the local streets.
Diamond Resorts International are continuing their property improvements and, as frequent travellers, we do put this resort as one of the top three.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

White Sands Country Club (WSCC) was OK but nothing special. We've seen better Diamond resorts and the standard is nowhere near as good as the USA. We became Diamond International customers on a trip to Arizona and quite frankly, WSCC would be laughed at over there.

Being British clients who first experienced Diamond International in the USA, we were hoping for the same standard in Europe, but clearly Diamond do not honour their contractual commitment to provide the same level of accommodation, equipment and furnishing across the world. We were very disappointed with that fact, because they make a big deal about this in their sales pitch. We have also been informed by Steve, the Diamond rep at WSCC, that USA owners always get a poorer choice of unit than the European clients and that in any event from the end of this year, we will no longer be able to use other European destinations owned by Diamond. Why? Because although we are British, we bought in the states and therefore we are 'USA customers'. Another unexpected twist. He really made my day...thanks mate.

My best advice is try before you buy and to get written commitments from Diamond in the USA or anywhere for that matter. Otherwise, they'll stitch you up one way or another. Anyway, corporate marketing tactics and porkies aside, let's stick to the resort review...

Situated in a fairly unremarkable location within a small hub consisting of shops, bars and three restaurants, WSCC is indeed quiet and peaceful. So much so, that my family and our friends were accused by some (undisclosed) neighbour of holding a rave up on one cloudy afternoon. More fun and laughter really, but quite amusing because along came an embarrassed receptionist with a compendium of games for our continued entertainment. This only made us laugh louder. I think she was expecting broken glass, cigarette stubs and drunken teenagers, instead she found a group of over the hill 50 somethings have a laugh and a joke. So sssshhhhh...don't wake the neighbours, unless you want a compulsory game of chess or tiddly winks that is.

The country club is a mixture of units, some that are owned and managed by Diamond and others that are privately owned. This leads to a visual inconsistency, because some units appear better equipped and maintained than others. In reality, the owner occupiers have added their own luxuries such as BBQ's, outdoor plants etc.

There is no air conditioning in the apartments. Only ceiling fans which are fine if you like hot wind blowing down on you. Diamond does provide a small portable AC machine in each apartment but it makes a better heater than cooler and we could never get it to blow out cold air. Thankfully, during our stay, the weather was not too hot, but I'm sure it must be quite uncomfortable in peak season. Air con is pretty standard these days so I would have expected it to be part of any so called 'refurb' program. Not in the case of WSCC.

The two bed units are very cramped for a family of four and the daily cleaning regime is seriously lacking, with some days involving just a collection of rubbish from the kitchen. In particular, towels are not changed frequently enough and stray cats are allowed to roam too freely. I've nothing against cats but when you find one on your worktop happily tucking in to your food, I draw the line. It seems that some of the owner occupiers have formed a holiday cat home and they put food out for them. Trouble is, when they go back home, the resort is left with a load of hungry cats.

To be fair, WSCC is quite pretty and surrounded by trees, so the resort looks appealing and is clean and well laid out, although it is a little dated and tired in appearance. Not a great deal of imagination has gone into furnishings etc. We liked the pool area and the salt water swimming pool is a really good size, very clean and refreshing. No complaints there and a pool attendant is on watch all day long...poor girl.

The sister resort (White Sands Beach Club) is open to WSCC customers and is in a much better location, but quite some distance from the Country Club and way too far to walk. However, be aware that getting a sun bed at the beach club pool is like finding hens teeth, so you had better get there early.

You really do need a car if you are staying here. The nearest beach is a five or six minute drive away and if you are going to self-cater, you really should stock up at the big supermarket in Mahon, which is a twenty minute drive. The local shop is good and very handy but as you would expect from a shop totally reliant upon the holiday season, it is understandably expensive with limited choice. If you like fresh bread though, they make their own every day.

Port d’Addia is a little further on from WSCC and is walking distance. No beach though and nothing else in the way of entertainment. It is a lovely place with expensive villas and matching yachts set around a private harbour. If you drive down to the port you can always use the private harbour car park as long as you also visit the one and only bar down there and buy a drink. Then you can take the little footpath from the bar which winds its way in and out of the two coves which make up Addia. A real treat which is well worth the effort!

Also, try hiring a boat in Fornells. Now that was a fabulous afternoon. Great fun fo all of us!

To finish on a positive note regarding White Sands Country Club, we did appreciate the cheerful, friendly and helpful attitude of the reception and hospitality staff. I doubt if we will return so many thanks and farewell to you all. I’m sorry to be a little negative, as you will see from my other reviews, this isn’t my normal style.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at White Sands Country Club, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We’re really sorry that there were aspects of your stay at the White Sands Country Club which caused you disappointment. We strive to provide an excellent standard of accommodation at all our resorts worldwide, and we’re sorry that you had cause for concern in this regard.

We can confirm that US members will continue to be able to made bookings at European resorts, and if you have any further concerns in this regard, we encourage you to contact our Customer Services Team, who will be happy to discuss this with you.

Please be advised that room allocation is based on membership status, as opposed to the Collection that a member owns in. We want all our guests to be happy with their accommodation, and we encourage guests to speak to the resort’s reception team if they have any concerns during their stay.

Thank you for your suggestion regarding air conditioning. We agree that it would be a benefit to the resort and to our guests, and hope to be able to install it in our apartments in the not too distant future. Please be advised that the portable machine in the apartment is a dehumidifier rather than an air-conditioning unit.

All guests should be notified of the housekeeping schedule at the White Sands Country Club upon check-in – we’re very sorry if this wasn’t made clear to you. Unfortunately we aren’t able to offer daily cleaning as standard, as this would necessitate raising management fees and rental costs, although we are happy to provide additional housekeeping if our guests request it.

We’re sorry to read your concerns about pets owned by private owners around the resort – although pets aren’t allowed in the apartments managed by Diamond Resorts, this is not applicable to private owners at White Sands Country Club. We’re sorry that your holiday was disrupted by the presence of cats during your stay, and would like to assure you that we are doing our best to contact the owner of one of the cats in particular to try and manage this issue.

We’re really sorry that you didn’t have a more enjoyable experience on this occasion, but we hope that you’ll give us another try. We look forward to being of service to you again!

Resort Manager
Begonia Aguirre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a Diamond Resorts resort with a few privately owned apartments. We wanted to just relax and this place was ideal for that. Clean, well maintained, well equipped apartment, quiet, clean and nice pool. It doesn't rank as one of the better Diamond Resorts but it can offer good comfort and good value.
Some might find the lack of an on site restaurant, or a gym or site wifi a problem, or the limited number of shops and restaurants on hand, or the fact that a car is necessary. But they do have an arrangement with a bar just metres away which offers food drink and free wifi.
The Beach Resort a few km away seemed to be good and we would try there if we return.
However, this place offers good value decent accomodation in a quiet environment and if you are prepared to hire a car and drive to restaurants elsewhere, or cook at home then this is a good position to explore all of the island from.
Diamond have a rolling programme of improvement so some apartments will be more modern than others and we certainly look forward to when the pool loungers replacement programme is complete!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the white sands country club, port Addaia, Menorca. It is a small group of apartments, with a pool. There are 3 restaurants, 1 shop and 1 supermarket opposite the complex. The apartment was very clean and had everything you needed.The weather was fab, very hot! We did not hire a car and i feel this is a must if you stay here, otherwise you are reliant on buses (which are few and far between) and taxis. We went to the white sands beach club for a day, which was lovely and in a better location than the country club. Fornells is also worth a trip on a Tues as there was a lovely market there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful holiday staying at the Diamond Resorts White Sands country club. Our 3 bedroom house was spacious, very clean with the added bonus of two balconies, one of which overlooked the Port of Addaia. The staff were very helpful with any requests we had. I would also recommend the Taj Indian Restaurant close by. We hired a car to explore the island where we found some wonderful beaches. Also took the opportunity to dine at the White Sands Beach Club in Arenal D'En Castell where the staff were very friendly, especially the waiter Johnnatan Amores who runs a taxi business in the mornings (amoresrentacar@gmail.com).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at White Sands Country Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We’re really glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the White Sands Country Club. Our staff endeavour to deliver The Meaning Of Yes® to all guests, and we’re pleased to read that they were able to offer you all the assistance you required during your stay.

We hope that you’ll choose to come back to the White Sands Country Club, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Resort Manager
Begonia Aguirre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this resort, which is a Diamond Resorts Timeshare.
Our one bedroom apartment has all the room and every thing you need, including sun loungers and table and chairs on the balcony. It is a quiet area and that is why we like it, we hired a car for the two weeks, there are beautiful and interesting places to visit, even walking round the area is enjoyable.
There are a few restaurants close by, but if you have a car there are many good restaurants you can visit.
The pool is clean and there is always a life guard on duty, the staff are really friendly and will help in any way they can, they are very knowledgeable about the area.
If you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday that is not to commercialised this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Country Club

Address: Complejo Pinimar, Avda. Port d'Addaia s/n | Port d'Addaia, 07740 Mercadal, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Mercadal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mercadal
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your White Sands Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Country Club Hotel Mercadal
White Sands Country Club Spain/Mercadal, Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.