We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sa Roca - a true Menorcan dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puig de Sa Roca

Puig de Sa Roca
Urbanizacion Sa Roca, 07740 Mercadal, Minorca, Spain
+34 971 18 86 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Mercadal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sa Roca - a true Menorcan dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a very special restaurant in many ways. The setting, the atmosphere, the food and above all the service are very special and a visit here will stay in your memory! Situated off the Mahon to Fornells road this magical place is worth the journey through the pine forest. Andrea and the family will look after your every need and serve you delicious food. We have been regular clients for over 15 years and appreciate everything this restaurant offers. The menu is unique and most vegetables are grown in the garden at the rear of the property. We especially enjoy the magnificent oven baked sea bream! Try the garlic soup ( cooked individually to order) and the green bean starter. Everything is of the highest quality making every visit a truly wonderful occasion.
Thank you Sa Roca!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    12
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been a regular visitor to Menorca for over 20 yrs now as my parents and sister all live there, this being the case its fair to say I have eaten in my fair share of resaurants on the island. After reading the reviews on TA I decided to book and visited on the 12th August. The place isnt the easiest to find howeve there is virtually nothing in Sa Roca so in short (Turn left just passed Son Park (Fornells Rd) signposted Sa Roca. Head up the hill for about 3k and its on the left with 2 flags.

We arrived and first thought the location and setting was superb. We were met by Andrea who greeted us warmly and sat us down. The tables overlook the pool and , the setting was quite romantic with good attention to detail.

We ordered starters and mains which were all superb. I had the stuffed peppers and then Baby Pig (love the crackling). Both were big in portion size and great to eat. My wife also commented that her meal was loverly.

Andrea advised on the wine and we went for the house which was really nice. To finish off we opted to share the desert which was cheesecake. WOW , it was the best cheesecake either of us have ever tasted (I have had a lot !). Andrea informed me it was home made and gave me some info on the place itself. All in all a wonderfull place for a romatic or nice meal with your partner. Probaly not the place for children however but if you are visiting menorca I would recommend you go . Its not the cheapest (2 of us cost 110 Euro) however , well worth it for the food and wonderfull service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

amazing to return again.
quiet, low music and not as crowded. service only at night, and you have to go by private car because it is in the rural area of ​​Fornells

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

It might be somewhat in the middle of nowhere, but you simply have to give this place a go. Fantastic setting, wonderful staff, great GnT's & the food was delicious. You'll have to book, but you'll see why. Had stuffed courgettes for starters which were awesome, whether you have meat or fish for mains trust me it'll be excellent. I will certainly be going back whenever I'm on the island. Top marks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahon, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I would give 6 stars if I could! Amazing food, service and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Wow what an amazing restaurant! The service, food and atmosphere was excellent and by far the best we have experienced on the island after 6 years of visiting. My only regret is that we didn't find it a few years ago!

The service provided by Andrea was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The tables were beautifully set and spaced out. There are only approximately 8 tables and a total of 30-40 covers. On arrival we ordered two pomadas and enjoyed these while browsing the lovely hand made menus. Andrea was on hand to make recommendation and suggestion when asked.

The menu is impressive and after some deliberation I chose the sizzling prawns with garlic chilli and olive oil (an excellent choice even if I do say so myself!) and my partner chose the goats cheese salad. Both were excellent and left us excited for our mains! Both mains were fantastic and the meat (shoulder of lamb and steak) was cooked to perfection. The deserts were very good too!

In all the evening was thoroughly enjoyed and I can not recommend it more highly for a romantic meal during a stay in menorca. We loved it that much we will be staying there when we visit next year. Roll on summer 2014! A 6* restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puig de Sa Roca also viewed

Son Vitamina, Minorca
 
Ciutadella, Minorca
 

Been to Puig de Sa Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puig de Sa Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.