We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Im a regular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   288-292 Main North Rd | Prospect, Prospect, South Australia 5082, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prospect
Parndana, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Im a regular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I live on Kangaroo Island and travel to Adelaide every 2 months. I have stayed in many motels in Adelaide, most quite nice, then I tried the Sombrero 2 years ago and have not stayed anywhere else. The location is excellent in relation to shops, services and the city. The rooms are comfortable, clean and the restaurant has great food. But the best thing about this motel is the owners and staff, very friendly and extremely helpful. Everybody has bad days but these people never seem to show it, they truly care their guests have a pleasant stay. Also Marley, the dog, is awesome if your lucky enough to see her.

Room Tip: Both standard and double rooms are fine, depends how much room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Con K, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you Craig,

We always look forward to you arrival and catching up when you are here.


Regards.

Con
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
11
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here overnight. When I booked the room over the phone the woman said the room was $125 inc free continental breakfast. She stated that the room was normally $159 per night, but I was quite unimpressed with what I saw on the Internet to what I saw when we arrived. The room was out dated 70's style with exposed brick, bed lamps didn't work, just not a very welcoming room. The bed spread was stained but other than that it was clean and tidy. Not something I would pay $125 for again, so if I was charged the original price of $159 I would be extremely annoyed. Our windows were closed and we had a room at the back of the complex, still very loud all night. On the upside, free parking! Normally we stay at Adelaide Granada when we come to Adelaide, very cheap and renovated rooms are lovely. I thought we would try somewhere closer to where we needed to be but next time I will stick to what I know it think.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Con K, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations.

It is always good to get feedback though and I appreciate your honesty.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have travelled to Adelaide 3-4 times a year for the past 12 years and always stay here. The rooms are always clean and presentable (and we have stayed in most of them over the years). All the staff are all very helpful and pleasant and 24 hour reception for late check in or early departure is also good. The location for us is also great, being only 20 minutes drive to the CBD, and plenty of shopping and eating within walking distance. HIghly recommended!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street are very quiet, especially with the shutters down
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I recently spent a short holiday in Adelaide staying at the Sombrero in Prospect. I found it to be a perfectly pleasant motel that provides all that you would expect in a quality motor inn and more. Prospect is a perfect location to base a holiday to visit the Barossa, Clare Valley and the Adelaide Hills. Free parking is always a bonus.

And one more thing. The in-house restaurant, not widely advertised, is one of Adelaide's hidden secrets, you should check it out for sure!

Room Tip: Part of the hotel is situated on a main road, so you might want to ask for a room that is not sited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hi All,

I stay at the Sombrero Comfort Inn whenever I am in Adelaide with work and have never been disappointed with the service, rooms or friendly staff. The rooms are always clean before and during my stays and if you need special requirements they go out of their way to try and help you. Never disappointed -- Grant - Sales Manager from Melbourne.. Aust..

Room Tip: I find aqll rooms to be just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Con K, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you Grant.
It is always good to see our regular guests.

Regards.

Con.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne,aust
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights with the family. Well located with good access to CBD, friendly owners and staff, well priced and comfortable accommodation. Would stay again when in adelaide. A definite thumbs up!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I relocated from Darwin to Adelaide and during our stay we have found the staff so welcoming even the housekeepers were fantastic the rooms are very spacious and even the busy road that our bedroom faced wasn't a a downfall as the staff and hotel was wonderful. As I work in the hospitality industry I have found every stay so comforting and any requests to reception wasn't a drama thank you to the staff and the hotel for making our stay so lovely. And to the lovely lady on reception at night for helping us with the laundry and the lovely housekeeper for your welcoming smile and chats in the morning. Will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and anybody relocating to Adelaide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero

Address: 288-292 Main North Rd | Prospect, Prospect, South Australia 5082, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Prospect
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn and Suites Sombrero is located 5kms north of the centre of Adelaide. We are close to Regency Park, and with good access to the Northern Industrial Precincts and Ports area. Comfort Inn and Suites Sombrero is rated by the RAA as a four star establishment. We have also undergone a lengthy and stringent process, successfully meeting the criteria to become recognised by the Australian Tourism Accreditation Association. We have a fully licensed restaurant, which has a changeable menu and enables us to bring to you fresh foods that are compatible with the seasons. Even if you choose to eat in we can do room service. We also offer cooked breakfast in our restaurant every day of the week. We have a sauna, heated spa and swimming pool which is semi enclosed to enable you to enjoy it any season. Our suites are designed to make you feel comfortable, they have queen size beds, ensuites, airconditioning/heating, direct dial telephones, free wi-fi, flat screen televisions and the latest swipecard access entry sytem. We also have fully furnished 1, 2 or 3 bedroom Townhouse Apartments. They have a fully equipped kitchen with dining room and separate lounge. All our two and threebedroom apartments have their own laundry facilities. Its like a home away from home. Parking is not a problem as we have a large free onsite car park available which has security gates with secure after hours card access We are located within walking distance to a regional shopping precinct,with supermarkets, banks,coffee shops restraunts, gymasiums and a large varirty of shops and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.