We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO SLEEP” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zhero

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zhero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zhero
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Palma-Andratx 6, 07181 Cas Catala, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cas Catala
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“NO SLEEP”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The outside pool-area, the reception,bar area is beautiful and has wonderful designer ideas.

We have been a few times to this hotel, we have enjoyed the pool area, however.......
the last bank holiday weekend, it was an absolute nightmare.

We’ve booked 3 nights and we slept 0 nights.
The first 2 nights they assigned to us the room 105 (Please if you go and they give you this one, please ask for a swap to another room, or you won’t sleep.) as every client passes the room on their way to the rooms!!

The hotel is a very old hotel from the 60-70’s , it has been refurnished but the walls have not been sound proofed to todays standards.
The walls are like “cigarette paper”, plus the door was ill-fitting,
As the room is exactly on the stairs where all the guests go to their rooms, (no lift),
every few minutes late at night and early morning,
you can imagine all the voices after a few drinks and even the shadows of them were clear under the door..

We asked for a new room the next morning. they said the Hotel was full and we could swap over on Sunday,
we accepted this and had the second night , same same, no sleep until all guests were in their rooms. The
Hotel is also on the main road with a bar opposite, so you really do get noise from both sides!!!!

The third night we were very excited with our new silent room,as the receptionist promised. but OMG !!!

We arrived to the room at 00:00 aprox and a few minutes later started the music "so loud" you could feel the Bass through your body as you lay in bed.
The music was from the bar in reception, so we went down at about 12:30 and asked the receptionist, what time will the music finish? As we have had little sleep over the last 2 nights and was looking forward to sleep!! The reply was 30 minutes.

We waited patiently for a while in our shaking room , with very loud Bass music, coming from the room directly below us!! Room 103

Around 1:30 we went down again, to ask, which we got the same answer 30 minutes.
We waited again, for another hour this time 2.30 and went down again!! We were just ignored, so we called the Police. The Police informed us to talk to the General Manager and make a formal complaint to the official Council Offices, a Police unit was asked to visit the Hotel, but they could not give us a time! (I do not know if they arrived as the music stopped at 3am so we were sleeping very soon after that)

As the General Manager was fully aware "as she was the host of the party for her friends" of our complaint she didn't once try to reassure us, every bit of information (30 minutes) was given to us they the receptionist.

The next morning at check out the General Manager was at reception, she completely ignored us, no attempt was made to justify keeping us awake until 3am, not even a smile!!! However she again communicated to us by her receptionist that our lunch bill from the day before would be cancelled. 40--45 euros.

, At this point we were very annoyed, at the General Manager thinking that throwing a few Euros at us would make us happy. We had paid for 3 nights,slept little all 3 nights, spent time and money in the hotel, and the unprofessional General Manager did not introduce herself, did not affront the problem and left us no alternative to ask for a formal complaint form as the Police had advised us the night before.

The moment we asked for this form, the offer to cancel our lunch bill was revoked and the General Manager still not talking to us, got on the phone as they did not have a complaint form to hand. We filled in the form, left a copy with the receptionist and filed a copy in Palma Council.

If you are reading this General Manager we have added a (What we would like the out-come to be) to the council copy.

We asked the council to look into the General Managers qualifications to operate a Hotel, as we found your manner rude, plus we have asked that the council rule that our accommodation charge should be refunded as we got little sleep all 3 night!!

Would we go back.....................??

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
4
49
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Zhero for a week with two kids (two rooms). The hotel is really nice with great "touch" from design to staff. The hotel isn't really for kids but we never felt that our two kids (7,9) were in the way.
Food is really nice and the poolside music played all of the time is to die for (if you like lounge music that is - we certainly did!)
The staff is always at hand with a kind smile and very attentative to details. We would be more than happy to come back again and warmly recommend the hotel.
Don't miss the grill night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have been staying at Zhero for the 2nd time this year: once in April and once in August!
For sure there are things that could be improved or renewed; this especially from an infrastructural point of view but the atmosphere and the feeling of this Hotel just put you in a such relaxing and extremely comfortable mood that you will forget these details! A big thanks to the staff who is always very attentive and really treats you like a real Customer!
I can only recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

With 4 friends in total from several nationalities ( 1 Italian/German, 1 Russian and 2 Dutch) we enjoyed our 4 day visit in this hotel VERY much. Rooms were very clean and quiet and perfectly air conditioned, beds were very nice. The whole hotel gives you a peaceful and relaxing feeling in a way you do not want to leave anymore. Great service and great staff who also express a lot of positive energy. We arrived on a Sunday when it is BBQ & open grill party. In the evening at the swimming pool delicious food was being cooked on the BBQ. Together with great music and good friends, a super start of a holiday, what do you want more? The hotel can be good base to explore the island as we did a little to some beautiful beaches and visiting the city of Palma. Around the corner of the hotel also a beach. Summarized a place TO GO and for us definitely a place to go back! I can recommend this hotel to everyone. RS

Room Tip: We had a great room with view on the swimmiung pool & sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a belated honeymoon and it was so worth the 2 year wait. We were greeted with complimentary cava upon check in. They waitstaff and front desk staff were so helpful and nice and made you feel like home. The hotel is very boutique and small which we love but has all the amenities of a full 5 store resort - no spa but they can arrange for you if need be. Overall the hotel and experience was amazing, tucked away in a less touristy area but still close to lots of local restaurants and small beaches. Their new Zhero Beach Club that just opened is a 5 minute walk but it's a great alternative to the hotel pool or the small public beach down the street. Pool and lounge chairs with wait staff and delicious asian/sushi overlooking the Mediterranean. I highly recommend this hotel to any young adults (children not allowed which was great/relaxing) and anyone looking for a holiday/escape from the world but still close to lots of things to do in Old Town all with Spanish culture and European lifestyle.

Room Tip: And as a tip, the city bus reaches the hotel, only a block away you can catch a ride from Plaza Espa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are a couple in our late 20s, we spent 5 nights here and found it the perfect base for exploring Palma and the west of the island. We hired a car but there is a bus stop right outside that takes you into Palma or out to Andratx.

The pool area is just as good as it looks on the photos, Ibiza style loungers and chill out music playing all day. They also have a beach club 5 mins down the road which is just as cool and does club sandwiches, pasta, seafood etc all day.

The design of the hotel is really cool, everything white and lots of candles/lanterns at night time. We didnt have breakfast but the BBQ and tapas nights were delicious although a bit quiet in terms of other diners.

Our bedroom was fine, comfy bed, decent balcony with pool view, modern bathroom. The rooms are very sparse in terms of furniture and could do with a mini fridge, and a bit more attention to detail on the cleaning wouldn't go amiss. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples or chilled girls holidays, its a bargain when you consider the cost of other boutique hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter and higher up floor is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

(Sorry for my poor english) I was totally disappointed by Zhero , rooms was small & overlooking main road & walls are too thin , terrace of the room was very small too , The entrance of the hotel & decoration looks good & you expect what you don't get . Staff many times looks busy & do not attend costumers as they should . Pool area is very nice with Ibiza style look but as it is between walls you don't have breeze . Breakfast is OK & the location is good as you have a nice little beach very close to the hotel , but forget sun after 6 Oclock in the beach . The area is not a place for night life as everithing is close around 23:00 , only enjoyed in bistro 319 where i had a good time and prices where reasonable . Some pictures in triopadvisor do not correspond whith the hotel as it is not in first line of the sea . This pictures should be removed . Personally will no go back , perhaps i am too old for Zhero

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie01090, Manager at Hotel Zhero, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

at first of all thank you for your time for writting us a coment regarding your stay in our hotel.
We really do apologize for the inconvenience which we caused to you during your stay.
You are right that we are not directly on the beach but as you mentioned you just have to go 5 minutes and you are directly on a lovely, small beach.
The pictures on Trip-Advisor are from the hotel and as well from our new Zhero Beach Club. The view is exactly the same as in the pictures.

We are a small Designe Hotel with a very familiar atmosphere, a minimalist design and lovely staff.

I hope you will give us a second chance and we are all looking forward to welcoming you soon in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Melanie Grulke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cas Catala hotels

Been to Hotel Zhero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zhero

Address: Carretera Palma-Andratx 6, 07181 Cas Catala, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cas Catala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cas Catala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zhero 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zhero is located in Cas Catal, a seafront resort with plenty of restaurants and shops, only a 5 minute drive from central Palma. Nightlife is active and connections with public transport to Palma City Centre and other areas of interest are excellent. Walk to the beach in just a couple of minutes. Hotel Zhero is a Fashion Concept hotel with 36 designer double rooms, two Junior Suites and one Pool Suite, all of them with terrace and a beautiful view of the Mediterranean Sea or the pool. The rooms are all equipped with twin beds, security box, air conditioning, flat plasma screen TV, shower, hairdryer and wardrobe. Our large swimming pool surrounded by a teak deck and beautiful king sized sun beds is open from 9 o`clock in the morning until the sunset. During the night it becomes a beautiful background with its magical and sophisticated atmosphere for our parties and events. Our la carte Restaurant offers elaborate Fusion Food with Mediterranean flavour. Fresh Zhero Bar with its indoor lounge and terraces. Every Friday evening we offer the best chill out and house music between 09.00 pm and 00.00 am. Enjoy relaxing ambiance at our candle lit pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Zhero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhero Hotel Cas Catala
Hotel Zhero Cas Catala, Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zhero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.