We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for a Beach Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel to your Saves list
Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vlade Tomasica bb, Krk 51500, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Krk
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for a Beach Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great hotel for Croatia! It caters to Germans which is always a good sign because Germans have a high expectation when it comes to hotel cleanliness. The hotel is a European four star hotel which is equivalent to a US three star hotel. Everything is written in Croatian, German and English and most major staff members speak all three languages. The hotel public areas were clean and fairly up to date. I had the Premium Twin Room Park View room which was sufficient considering I only slept there and spent a little time there in the evenings. The view from the room was of the lovely gardens with tall pine trees for shade. The room was clean and had a reasonable amount of space to move around with two people. The bed was comfortable with its medium firm mattress. The shower was small and it was difficult to shave my legs in the shower with the curtain closed. The carpet needs to be updated, but all in all the room was clean and livable. I peeked in the rooms with the suites and "private" terrace and they seemed large and nice. The terraces are not private though. I would not want the four rooms on the main hallway/stairwell leading to the pool though because of the noise.

On days that are around 35 degrees Celsius, the AC is only to about 23.0 degrees Celsius which is warm. If you keep the windows, shutters and curtains closed the room might get to 22.5 degrees. I asked the receptionist if that could be repaired and she said someone would come the next day. After it was repaired the room was around 22.0 degrees Celsius with everything closed. The room’s mini fridge keeps items slightly cooler than the room. We also reported this to the reception and were told that since the fridge is so small and full of mini bar items it does not cool well. They sent someone to look at it and the temperature did not change. Do not plan to bring items that need to be kept cool in the fridge such as insulin, medications, milk for a baby, etc. Finally the room is advertised as having an in-room safe. This is not the case. We were told that the receptionist could store items in the hotel safe, but they were not responsible for lost or damaged items. This defeats the purpose of a safe! We just went to our car each morning and afternoon to store our valuable times in the locked glove box of the car.

The beach is directly below the hotel and there are several series of steps to get there. The beach and hotel are not for people with limited mobility. The beach is a typical northern Croatian style beach. The hotel beach is on a bay and the water is surrounded by a concrete terrace/path. You must take four to five steps to get in and out of the water. The bay is filled with sand once in the water. There are lounge chairs for rent on the terrace if you so choose which are located by the bar area. You must reserve the chairs in advanced because many chairs were “reserved” a head of time and stayed empty for days. Large families of ten were allowed to rent just two chairs and congregate around others which was a little frustrating. The public path following the water’s edge came right through the beach/terrace area so people were constantly walking back and forth and the local kids were jumping in the water from the terrace. The water was clear and a lovely turquoise color. We really enjoyed the beach, but do not expect a large beach with lots of personal space and white sand. Around the corner of the terraced area is a beach area with large stones and some small rock pebble beach areas. Bring your water shoes. The snorkeling is good around the stones.

The hotel offers noon water aerobics/Zumba which is a lot of fun and in the water at the beach. It was a great 30 minute fun work out to keep off some of the extra pounds you will gain from the delicious hotel food!

The pool is nice, but the lounge chairs have beach towels on them reserving the spots by seven each morning. There are chairs throughout the gardens which is nice with its nice grass and tall trees. The gardens were well kept.

I liked the parking in the front of the hotel. Just make sure you call ahead to reserve a spot or you will be parking in a dirt lot secured with a rope fence and a small arm gate.

If you have limited mobility or plan to use a stroller it is not a hotel for you as the hotel has many places where there are steps on the same floor as well as lots of steps around the pool, gardens and to the ocean.

If charging things such as drinks to the room, make sure you check the receipts they give you before paying at the end of your stay. There were two erroneous charges to my bill which they immediately took off because the signatures were not the same as all the other receipts.

All in all this is a great hotel for Eastern Europe! The rooms were comfortable, clean and the hotel food was great! Do not expect a romantic luxury hotel, but it is a great place to spend a week with your family, friends, etc.

The location is great. The quaint town of Krk is a 15 minute walk from the hotel on a lovely path along the water. There are some vineyards within a 15 minute drive. This area is predominantly an area for water activities and hiking. Krk Island is a paradise. Skip Italy and stay in Croatia where it is cheaper and just as pretty!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Pavlica, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Many thanks on your great review. We are thrilled that your stay with us was enjoyable. We must say that your opinion is very valuable for us. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, restaurant, pool and beach. We are looking forward to see you soon in Hotel Koralj. Best regards, Mile Pavlica Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    90
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
109
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a week's self arranged tour of north west Croatia. The plus points of this hotel are the free parking (although you'd think that a hotel of this standard would invest in surfacing the second car parking area properly); its position right by the sea and a lovely shady 15 minute stroll to Krk Town along a seaside path; and the breakfasts which provided every conceivable breakfast food including many items for those with special dietary needs. On the downside were the room which we had was small and rather dark; the tiny shower which I can't imagine how any above average sized person would fit in with the way the tap opens; the pool area which is far too small for the size of the hotel and the pool staff need to stop allowing guests to reserve sun loungers with their towels and the restaurant seating area which has rather a canteen feel. The highlight of our stay was a special evening at the hotel's taverna. The hotel's 'all round animator' Elena deserves a mention for her constant cheerfulness and friendliness without being pushy. It was she who asked us if we'd like to go to the taverna for a set five course meal one evening with live music and we were very glad we did as this provided a lovely relaxing atmosphere sitting at outside tables surrounded by pine trees and the food was more adventurous and delicious. Finally, Krk Town is a lovely place for a wander and if you have a car definitely take the road to Stara Baska which is truly spectacular.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Pavlica, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Valamar Koralj during your vacation in Croatia. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services; with Your comments we can devote ourselves to improve our accommodation in a way to upgrade pleasure of staying. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Best Regards, Mile Pavlica General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first time to Croatia and we liked it a lot. The reception check in was easy, the staff found me a local map and asked if we needed anything else. Our room was fine, the view overlooked the pool and sea in the distance. Quite a small shower but the housekeeping was done daily and done well. The staff continued to be charming at mealtimes and late at night. We ate well and managed to totally relax, just doing very little. This was one of those weeks you want to do all over again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Pavlica, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Steve K, thank you on your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and had a great experience. We definitely look forward to welcome you again in our beautiful hotel. Best regards, Mile Pavlica Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel wasnt as romantic as we expected, unfortunately. The premium room was verrrry small, with barely seesight (sideways), no space to open the fridge, no warm water, no space in the shower..the food in the restaurant was way too salty and the staff was unfriendly (in the restaurant). There was also way to less staff; therefor the service was bad and the staff was unfriendly.
There was free wifi and free parking.
The beach was great, sand in the see in stead of rocks, which is rare in Croatia.
You have to pay for the beachchairs and also for the showers on the beach. The pool was fine and the hotel offers towelservice.

Room Tip: Check before what you get when you order a premium room. Ours was disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Pavlica, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay in Hotel Valamar Koralj through Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments which have already been passed to our team members. I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. We took this really seriously and Your comments are going to help us in future in order to develop our service quality, especially with staff difficulties and salty food which You have noticed. Also, In the following years we plan to invest in accommodation facilities. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards Mile Pavlica Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My whole experience was a bit tainted by the false advertising of the hotel. On its website you can either purchase a "seaside" room or one overlooking the parking lot. Our room faced to the side & overlooked concrete & pine trees. When I complained I was told a sea view was 14 euros more a day. I upgraded but was put-off by the false advertising. That said, the hotel is above the water and it is a charming 15 minute walk into the walled city of Krk, which is picturesque. The breakfast in the morning is large. The lay-out is crazy, stairs in the middle of hallways that you have to schlep your bags over. Our room was small and had stains on the carpet but a flat screen TV. The WiFi service was spotty. Sometimes we could get on & other times not. In summary, this is a commercial hotel & has some nice amenities but it nickel & dimes you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Pavlica, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I would like to thank you for recent staying in our hotel. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards improvements. I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Mile Pavlica
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Székesfehérvár, Fejer, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have been in the hotel with my family (little children as well) in a family room 2 times already. The hotel room was gorgeous with a huge balcony and with comfortable sun beds. The restaurant also offered suitable food for children, so had no problems to eat with the children at the same time. The food was always fresh and delicious, and the restaurant windows show a great view of the sea. With a seaside walk on a nice path you can get to the town, which offers good entertainment possibilities and aslo place for gift shopping.

Room Tip: The room/apartments on the ground floor seemed to us the most cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Pavlica, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is a pleasure for us to have you and your family as our guest and friends. We are always improving our service and we are delighted to see that we are doing it well. We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel Valamar Koralj, and I hope we make your next vacation in our hotel even better. Best regards,
Mile Pavlica
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Malo, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

There are so many wows about this hotel, located a little outside of town, right on the beach. Good parking outside, even for buses. Staff very competent and welcoming, rooms a little small, and when two people stay in one room, very crowded; no bath tubs, only showers. The interior design is very pleasant, and the outside pools (4) plus the jacuzzi are just a delight. The arrangement of the rooms in relationship to the elevator is crazy, you have almost always to walk up and down stairs, with heavy luggage and no ramps. Breakfast is fabulous, a huge buffet, and the dinner, included, really amazing (all you can eat; but all drinks are charged, including water!). The location is stunning, right on the beach, so you can walk along the cliffs and watch the sun-set. The view over the Adriatic Sea is breathtaking, and anyone will enjoy this resort hotel. They had live music at night; exercise rooms and wellness rooms are superb. You can even rent bikes. This promises to be the highlight of our entire trip, although we still have 10 days to go,.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Pavlica, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Valamar Koralj during your vacation in Croatia. We really appreciate your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Koralj. In the following years we plan to invest in accommodation facilities. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards,
Mile Pavlica
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel

Address: Vlade Tomasica bb, Krk 51500, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Kvarner Bay Islands > Krk Island > Krk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Krk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above an idyllic island bay and engulfed by thick and scented pine forests, this Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel is perfect for a relaxing holiday with your loved one. Contemporary design and Mediterranean feel of all rooms and romantic suites provide sanctuary after a day spent exploring the quaint town of Krk, savouring the beauty of surrounding beaches or unwinding at the Spa. Gourmet experience is ensured by a show cooking buffet restaurant serving international and Croatian favouritesThe Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel and its subtle romantic design touches create the right atmosphere for your next romantic holiday. Soft music, candlelight dinners on the restaurant terrace, four poster canopy beds with specially designed linen and breakfasts served either in bed or on your room terrace are all sure to put the spark into your love life. For your special anniversaries or weddings, be sure to check out special event packages available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.