We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better ... much better.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Logis de France Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Logis de France Hotel to your Saves list
Logis de France Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 place de la Republique - BP 20, 72340 La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Berks, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Could do better ... much better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I've not stayed at, or eaten in the restaurant of, La France hotel for 10 years. We used to stop here regularly on our way down to Dordogneshire. It used to be good.

We've just spent a night at La France, where we met up with some friends for a meal ... despite the 2 recent poor reviews on TA.

Maybe my expectations were too high, but the service we received smacked of indifference. I don't expect to be greeted as a long lost friend when I check in, but I do expect more than (in french) 'here's the key, the room's on the second floor' especially if I've driven some distance to get to the place. And if I order a second bottle of wine to go with the main course, I do expect it to arrive sooner than 20 minutes later. And when it does arrive, having had to remind the waitress that we were still waiting, I do expect an courteous apology - not necessarily in English.

The food was of reasonable quality and the wine list was ok.

The decor of the hotel in the communal areas has seen better days; it could do with a bit of a face lift. The stairs and corridors are as shabby as the student accommodation I lived in the some of the less desirable areas of Birmingham in the 70's and as we approached our room on the second floor there was the distinct whiff of stale cigarette smoke (again similar to the afore-mentioned student accommodation but without certain additives). Our room was at the back of the hotel and although the room was clean, the cigarette butts on the asbestos-like lean-to roof just below our window bore witness to the fact that a smoker had been puffing away in it (room 12). Disgusting! The room our friends were in (7) was at the front of the hotel and was, by all accounts, very nice. In fairness, they're experience was not the same as mine/ours.

Breakfast at £7.50 was ok but the inflamed flesh pink walls of the breakfast room made it hard to swallow.

I don't like writing negative reviews, but this place could be, as someone has already put it, a real gem. This stop over was at the end of a very nice holiday (see my other reviews); of all the places we stayed La France was the most expensive and it was the worst. Maybe we had been spoilt ... or maybe the other hoteliers/b&b owners where we stayed were and are trying harder.

Come on la France pullez votre socks up.

On a positive note, WIFI worked a treat!

Bonsoir.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
45
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

The reception at this hotel was grudging. We speak reasonable French, smile, say please and thank you. It is beyond understanding when you come across people in the hospitality business who seem to dislike their jobs and visitors so much. The hotel could be a real gem,
but it isn't.
The swimming pool was very welcome at the end of a long hot day, but dog faeces on the lawn by the pool were not what I would have expected. Our room was large and clean, wi fi was easy to access.
Overall very disappointing, cheap, but not cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This hotel was very disappointing on our trip to France. We had stayed in Alistair Sawdays B and B's, excellent, a wonderful hotel in Monpazier and also an excellent hotel in Madrid.. The room was very basic, the breakfast the poorest that I have experienced in France and the restaurant was closed on a Sunday evening. No advice was given about where to eat and we found a good restaurant across the road. It wasn't cheap at 84 euros, the poorest value for money in our 8 days touring France. This will be the last time that I will stay in a Logi

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed two nights (not consecutively) in this hotel while on a biking trip along Le Loir. This hotel has everything you could ask for from a small family run hotel. I had different rooms the two nights I stayed here and they were both large and clean. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was superb and the swimming pool felt fantastic after beeing on a bike for four long days. Staff was nice and helpfull and the breakfast was typically french with coissants, yoghurt and fruits.
La Chatre Sur Le Loir is a charming village and the hotel fits in perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

We loved this hotel. It was charming and full of character. The building is in the middle of a lovely village, with an excellent restaurant and bar. There is a heated swimming pool by the river too. It is the sort of hotel you dream about stumbling across while travelling through France, but rarely do. A classic French hotel - even down to the slightly frosty attitude towards young children - but everything else made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

A 2-star hotel (Logis de France) and bar/restaurant in the main square of this very pleasant town, which has a number of interesting shops. It’s a good base for exploring the ‘little’ Loir valley, north of Tours, from Château-du-Loir to Vendôme Fairly typically French with narrow corridors and old-fashioned décor, but rooms are a reasonable size, clean and comfortable. There’s even a heated pool. Double en-suite room at 53 Euros, breakfast 8 Euros. Food in restaurant is fairly good and reasonably priced; friendly and helpful staff with fairly good English.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Narrow corridors
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Logis de France Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis de France Hotel

Address: 20 place de la Republique - BP 20, 72340 La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > La Chartre-sur-le-Loir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Chartre-sur-le-Loir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis de France Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the northern edge of the Loire Valley, the Hotel de France, in La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, with its ivy covered Art Deco facade, offers chic and luxurious rooms. With a sun drenched terrace, a superb restaurant, bar, inviting swimming pool and gardens that back onto the Loir River, the hotel serves as a comfortable and relaxing base from which to explore the countless delights this region has to offer. The Hotel de France, famous for its long association with the teams, drivers and cars of the Le Mans 24 hours race, overlooks the main square of the charming town of La Chartre-sur-Le-Loir, in the Sarthe department of the Pays de la Loire region in north-western France. It has excellent access to the main Autoroutes, heading north to nearby Le Mans, south to Tours and Bordeaux, and east to Paris. The airport at Tours and several main line train stations are also close by. Used as a destination of choice for leaders of state, film stars and motor sport royalty, the hotel has welcomed the President of France, President Kennedy's family, Steve McQueen, Sir Stirling Moss OBE and a regular guest for the Le Mans 24 hours, Derek Bell MBE. These are just a few names from a long list of personalities that have enjoyed the hotel's hospitality over the years. The Hotel de France has been privately and independently owned for over 100 years. The beautiful Art Deco style building boasts many traditional features, both inside and out. An extensive and sympathetic internal refurbishment was undertaken in 2014 following a change of ownership. Each of our 22 individually designed bedrooms, finished to the highest standards, have a chic and luxurious look, with modern en-suite facilities. Residents can also enjoy our heated riverside swimming pool and garden. Our restaurant, Le Relais de Ronsard, is the ideal place for a long, leisurely lunch, a romantic candlelit dinner for two or a family celebration. Enjoy delicious seasonal dishes, prepared by our chefs, who have served at the hotel for over 25 years. The entire team at the Hotel de France look forward to offering you a warm welcome and to providing a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Logis de France Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis De France Hotel La Chartre-Sur-Le-Loir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logis de France Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.