We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A living museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadel of Bitche

Citadel of Bitche
rue de Bombelles, Bitche, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Bitche
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Strasbourg, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A living museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Getting the feeling you leave with the soldiers and share their life

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice weekend brake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The drive from Germany to France is gorgeous. Getting there is very tricky, especially if you have a Tom Tom GPS. The tour admission includes headphone in multiple languages, including English for €10 per Adult.

Be prepared to do lots of walking in cobble stone grounds and hill.

Another plus side, free parking and toilet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Historic and atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Visited here with my brother and my son in 2010. The place had special significance for us as my Dad spent a few nights here after his company liberated [town name] in World War 2. He and the other G.I.'s had cards printed up years later identifying themselves as "sons of [insert town name]" (Had to edit that....Tripadvisor cited my review for profanity!)
The tour of the castle is well done. As you make your way through, screens embedded at strategic locations play scenes from a film that depicts a historic siege where the locals held off those crazy Bavarians. The film is well done but very French...in one scene a unclothed woman runs across the screen, in another a young Frenchman seduces a country maid:
"Let us make love my beautiful flower, we may die tonight!"
"No, it would be a sin and we will go to Hades!"
"Oh, Mon Cherie, how can we go to Hades when I only see Heaven in your eyes.."
The fortress itself is impressive, and feel like a place built to hold off invaders, unlike many of the Disney-esque castles you run into in Europe.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.. a brief one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The citadelle is lovely on a clear day. the installations are impressive and worth a visit. Don't plan to spend the whole day unless you bring a picnic .. worth combining with other attractions in the area (Simserhof etc..)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weilerbach, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best fort tour yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My family, my husband and 2 children (ages 8 & 3), thoroughly enjoyed our audio tour through the citadel. It was fascinating the way the headphones would register where you were within the citadel and played accordingly. The movie, which ran through the whole undergrounds helped us learn about the Franco-Prussian War from the perspective of a soldier who lived it. There were some portions of the movie that were over my children's heads, but it was fleeting and not a reason to miss the movie. The citadel's topside provide beautiful views. The prices at the gift shop were very reasonable, and at the snack shop.
The Peace Garden was fascinating, and the kids loved the Swiss Family Robinson tree fort at the back of the garden. The garden produces its own honey, which is sold at a good price and is tasty.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citadel of Bitche also viewed

Bitche, Moselle
Bitche, Moselle
 

Been to Citadel of Bitche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadel of Bitche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.