We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“le XII” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le XII de Luynes

Le XII de Luynes
12 rue de la Republique, 37230 Luynes, France
33 (0) 2 47 26 07 41
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Luynes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a new semi-gastronomical restaurant that we stumbled upon during our chateau visits this summer. We have a French cafe in California so we know a bit about food....and we have rarely eaten so well and at such a reasonable price.
valbonne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“le XII”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

we spent a night at this hotel, the bedroom and bathroom were very comfortable and clean, although the lack of lift could make the access difficult, having to climb the steep outside steps to access the room (No 3 ), unfortunately the restaurant was closed as it was a monday, the lack of choice in the village makes it difficult to find another alternative nearby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knokke, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“vaut le detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great food, nice wine, good value. Can't remember everything we ate (it was the first in a series of gastronomic delights) but it was all delicious and the wine (the "Clos des Messieurs" Reuilly from Claude Lafond) was a revelation. See also the XII de Luynes hotel review.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great cuisine at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Menu choices, and a lighter style of cuisine featuring a palette of flavors. A favorite of locals and reasonably priced.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A place to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We visited some friends in the Loire Valley and were invited to this restaurant. What a pleasant surprise! We were expecting just to have a good basic dinner in a small village near Tours, but ended up having a gastronomic feast. The fish was cooked to perfection. I had the roasted monkfish and my wife the chef's fish of the day. The vegetables were fresh and served al dente. Our friends said they come regularly to this restaurant and they have never been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place for good food lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

A fantastic restaurant which we stumbled across accidentally whilst visiting the Loire. We weren't sure what to expect however the restaurant was nearly full which is usually a good sign. The food was sublime, each course was innovative, tasty and left us eagerly anticipating the next dish. Decent wine list and the wines we had were great.
Would definitely recommend to anybody visiting the area.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le XII de Luynes also viewed

Luynes, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le XII de Luynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le XII de Luynes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.