We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Freisinger Strasse 94, 85445 Oberding, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oberding
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed just one night after arriving on a Thursday evening. We were warmly greeted and check in was simple. The rooms are very clean , comfortable and provide all you require- hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities.
We had drinks in the bar and a pizza- great value and very friendly atmosphere, pizza was great and beer and drinks great. On check in the reception desk helpfully informed us that as BA frequent flyers we could benefit from 10% discount by joining holiday inn club.
Rooms were excellent, very clean and comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was included and we had a good choice of cereal, pastries, fruit, toast, juices etc and it was constantly refreshed. Breakfast was til 1000 so didn't have to wake up too early. If you want a convenient hotel not too far from the airport this is a perfect place- great value. Staff were really friendly and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    230
    128
    30
    18
See reviews for
142
132
47
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robertsdale, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Positives: Room was small but well organized, quaint and clean. Location of course is great for getting to airport. Front desk staff were helpful.

Negatives: The mattress was horrible and very cheap, the restaurant staff was rude. The pizza was horrible and undercooked. Had to pay for parking. No room service. Air condition didn't work, which could have been OK by just opening a window during this time of year but we were on the first floor.

Room Tip: If you are having to stay here I would ask if any of the rooms have upgraded mattresses. If you avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Tana C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received accommodations that were less than satisfactory, but pleased to see the staff was a highlight of your stay. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Very close to the airport. They also have a shuttle service.
If you want to get into town it is 30-45 minutes.

Staff was excellent.

Charging to park in an industrial park is a little much though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Only a shuttle bus ride away from the airport. We found it ideal for getting into Munich and our flights. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I arranged for a group of 18 people to stay at the Holiday Inn-Express at the Munich Airport. I am a Priority Club Platinum member and they treated me as one. But no one else in the group was a club member and they treated everyone with great respect and courtesy. The staff was accommodating, pleasant and helpful. The hotel was very clean, modern and well-maintained. I would certainly consider staying here again. Very convenient location to the airport and autobahns but yet quiet. We did not use the shuttle as we had rental cars. We paid 8EUR to park - but I'm ok with that. It was just my daughter and me in our oversized room. We had others with children and I can see where the same room might be a little tight, but it was ok. I had no complaints from anyone in the group - quite the opposite.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Nice rooms, good/excellent business hotel, pay 8 euros per night for parking though it's out in the boonies (no curbside parking possible - they really get you here...), airport shuttle COSTS 5 euros, pay for internet. Friendly staff, breakfast ok - looks like they may be cutting back on salami (or we were there at the wrong time, could be).
Shower curtain dirty at bottom, discolored, sticks to shower at bottom - yuck.
Aside from this, modern room, well equipped.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Navratil46140,

thank you for your altogether good review of our property. I would like to apologize for the dirty shower curtain in your room. It is definitely our focus to provide spotlessly clean and tidy facilities when our guests arrive.

Thank you and kind regards,

Arndt Writzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here 1 night and it was ok. The price for a family room was good, and it even included a free buffet breakfast (open from 4am!) for all of us. The room was clean, but tight for us (2+2 kids) as there was almost no space left between the second bed and the little table. Staying for more than 1 night would have been a pain, unless one takes a higher category room. There was no noise from the planes, although they were closely flying by (kids loved watching them from the window). We liked the shuttle - it's a private mini bus (actually 2, cruising every 30 min, costs 5 euros per person, but the kids came free) which drove us swiftly from the airport to the hotel and back. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Octavs,

thank you very much for your positive review. We are aware that rooms are tight with 2 adults and 2 kids in there as they had been planned with 2 adults in mind. However, the kids come free and also have free breakfast in the Great Room.

Thank you and kind regards

Arndt Writzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport

Address: Freisinger Strasse 94, 85445 Oberding, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oberding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel is ideally located near the Business Park Hallbergmoos and a mere 4km from Munich International Airport (MUC) - a 5 minute drive with the recommended hotel shuttle service (charge 8 per room / max 2 adults, 2 kids).The hotel is a convenient location for guests visiting Munichs international exhibition centre Neue Messe München (ICM) as it is accessible by car within 45 minutes.It offers 150 modern non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms equipped with flat screen tv and a variety of international channels, high speed Wifi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities.Are you booked on an early flight? The extensive cold buffet breakfast is available from 04 a.m. It is complimentary for all guests.The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel provides a full service bar with 50inch flat screen tv, a comfortable lounge area and air conditioning as well as high speed Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel.With the business executive in mind, our exceptional conference facilities accommodate between 2-60 persons and benefit from natural daylight and high ceilings. Hot & cold buffet lunches are available to our conference guests in the lounge area.On-site car parking with 120 lots and direct access to the hotel is available for your convenience. All bedrooms and public areas are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel Schwaig
Holiday Inn Express Schwaig
Holiday Inn Schwaig
Schwaig Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Germany/Oberding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.