We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guides, and a good way to learn about Tokyo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours

The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours
4F, 7-13-5 Nishigotanda, Shinagawa, Tokyo Prefecture 141-0031, Japan
+81 80-4421-8366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 activities in Shinagawa
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Want to see the real Tokyo and Kyoto? Then hire one of our private tour guides or join one of our group tours. Friendly, personable and passionate local guides and custom designed itineraries from local experts who really care. Be a part of Tokyo or Kyoto, not just a tourist.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great guides, and a good way to learn about Tokyo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are a family of four with two boys, 4 and 10. We had a 3 day stopover in Tokyo and had some things in mind that we wanted to see. I booked a guide for a one-day Tokyo tour, and the Kamakura tour the next day. Mikiko was our Tokyo guide. She was wonderful with our curious kids. We did their itinerary, but skipped a few things and stopped a little earlier since it was in the mid 90s, and we were pretty tired by mid afternoon. Rie was our guide for Kamakura. She showed us lovely shrines and temples beyond the big Buddha. It is nice to see the forest areas as well. The lunch in Kamakura was at an incredible traditional Japanese restaurant--where you can get meals with many different dishes to try. We would have spent so much time just trying to figure out transportation if we were trying to do this on our own in such a short time without a guide. It was also nice to be able to ask about Japanese culture and particular things we were seeing. I highly recommend Backstreet Guides.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSG_Team, Owner at The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello Tokyo visitor! Thank you very much for spending the time to review your time with us here in Tokyo, we genuinely appreciate it. Isn't Tokyo crazily HOT in August. We always think how well our customers do to cope with it, so well done! I think that time saving is one of major benefits of having a good guide in a city as confusing as Tokyo and allows you to concentrate on other things, such as enjoying yourselves and talking to our guides about what it's like to live in Japan. Again, thank you for using our services and recommending us. Kind regards from all of The Backstreet Guides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    2
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First time visit to Tokyo - five days to explore. We went on the small group night tour first and spaced out over four days two private tours - day tour of Tokyo and day trip to Kamakura (a bit ambitious - no?). Rie was our guide for all three and she was excellent - fun, friendly, patient, and knowledgeable (and excellent English). She's extremely well-traveled and offered a lot of insights on Tokyo, Japan, and her extensive travels. The night tour was fascinating, if we tried to cover the same areas on our own it would have taken days of research and then four times as long to cover the same area. The day tour of Tokyo was similarly excellent - since it was a private tour, we were able to be more flexible in our sights and pacing and Rie was very accomodating to our interests and multitude of questions. The day tour of Kamakura was also interesting and offered a glimpse outside of Tokyo. They're very responsive by email, on-time, and extremely well organized. The meals that were arranged/recommended were always small family places with great food (the ones you always look for when travelling, but have a hard time finding unless you've lived there for years). FWIW, it was August and ridiculously hot - Rie was a real trouper and always had a great attitude thoughout - from her demeanor you wouldn't have known that the heat index was off the charts. Highly recommend. Hope to return and take another tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSG_Team, Owner at The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Konnichiwa Tokyo visitor! Thank you very much for spending your time to write this review of your Tokyo experience with us, we really do appreciate it. It's always so nice for us to hear that our customers have enjoyed their time in Tokyo and even want to come back fore more, there is always more to see here! I also want to say well done to you all for bearing with the heat, summer in Tokyo is not for the faint hearted and you were here at the height of the humidity. But it sounds as though you still had fun! Take care and we look forward to meeting you all here again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I did the night tour with my brother. We had 5 other people with us. Overall the tour was pretty good. The guide was really nice and very informative. She gave us advice on all sorts of topics not related to the tour. They really want you to enjoy your stay in Japan.

We started off going to a yakitori restaurant. I though the food was so-so but my brother loved it so there you go. Don't get me wrong, it was not bad at all, I think I couldn't keep up with the rest of the awesome food in Japan!

After hanging out in Shibuya, we walked to and then observed the crossing. We then took the train to get to Shinjuku station and then walked around Shinjuku. We did a lot of walking and saw lots of interesting sights. After that we went to Roppongi to check out the Tokyo tower. It was a very interesting experience and I highly recommend doing it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSG_Team, Owner at The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Konnichiwa Tokyo visitor! I have to say a big thanks for spending your time to review our group evening tour you joined recently. Isn't the food just so awesome in Japan! It does make it hard to choose somewhere to take people, but we do get great feedback from the yakitori we use so I'm happy your brother liked it! We really appreciate you recommending our "Night Out Tokyo" tour and maybe if you ever make it back here again, drop us an email and we can take you somewhere more amazing for dinner! Arigatogozaimasu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Can't stop talking about it"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've been back from Japan for a month now, and I can't stop telling everyone I know about Backstreet Guides. We (my husband, two teenage kids, and sister) only had a day and a half in Tokyo before going on to Okinawa to visit family, and we knew that we wouldn't have much time to negotiate the city on our own. Our tour guide was just fantastic. We got to see so much in so little time.There is no way we could have done it on our own.

The other major benefit was that our tour was customized. Every other tour company I looked at prior to finding Backstreet Guides didn't have a tour that could accommodate all of our different tastes. We ended up creating a tour that included a traditional Japanese garden (just beautiful!), a visit to Senso-ji temple, shopping at Electric Town and Harajuku (teen fashion district for my daughter), traversing Shibuya crossing, and eating at the Tsukiji fish market where we had miso soup and sushi. Our guide also took us to lunch on day 1 to eat and experience shabu-shabu, a meal prepared by boiling thin strips of meat and veggies in a pot on our table, then dipping in sesame sauce -- delicious! We took the train everywhere, and our guide navigated the entire thing, including storing our luggage at Tokyo station on day 2 so that we could head straight to the airport after the fish market tour. Everything was like clock work.

We will definitely return to Japan, and we will definitely use Backstreet Guides when we do. And, the total price for five people ended up being comparable to other standard tour companies, but I know we experienced so much more.

Visited June 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSG_Team, Owner at The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello Tokyo and Okinawa visitor! What a lovely review of your time with us here, thank you so much. Although you didn't have very much time in Tokyo, I'm so happy we could help your family see lots of the best areas of the city and it sounds like you had a fun time and now have a taste for Japan! There is of course much more to see so we look forward to meeting you again some time in the land of the rising sun! Take care, The Backstreet Guides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good daytrip for first time in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We did the Absolutely Tokyo Daytrip that included a trip to the fish market, Sensoji temple, rikshaw ride, visit to the base of the SkyTree, Akihabara Electric district and shopping in the old Yanaka district.

Even before the tour, the company was very responsive to emails, send you a map & instructions as to where to meet & how to get there.

Rie was our tourguide who spoke English well and was informative. For our first day in Tokyo, it was nice to have someone else plan the itinerary and figure out the subway. Some of the things we could have done on our own, however, it was particularly helpful having a tour guide navigate us through the fish market, arrange the rikshaw ride, find non-crowded & good restaurants and point out good city-view photo-opps.

The tour lasted from about 8:30am - 3pm. Given middle of the summer, we were exhausted from the heat by the afternoon, so it was just the right length.

Given small group size (5ppl) there was plenty of opportunity to ask questions, stop to browse stores or take pictures.

I would recommend this Absolutely Tokyo tour to those visiting Tokyo for the first time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSG_Team, Owner at The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Konnichiwa Tokyo explorer! A big thank you to you for taking the time to give some feedback on your experience with us. It really helps us and makes it easier for our future visitors to make decisions. From memory I believe you originally wanted a private tour with us but unfortunately we were fully booked. So you decide to join our small group day tour and I am so pleased you enjoyed your day and got out of it exactly what the tour is designed to give first time Tokyo visitors. Maybe next time you are here we will be able to give you a private tour of other areas of the city! Best regards, The Backstreet Guides Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Backstreet Guides - Day Tours to your Saves list