We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our TRip to Mt Fuji - September 2013” 1 of 5 stars
Review of JTB Sunrise Tours - Day Tours

JTB Sunrise Tours - Day Tours
2-3-11 Higashi-Shinagawa | JTB Bldg, Shinagawa 140-8604, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-5796-5400
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Super Saver
$375*
and up
Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our TRip to Mt Fuji - September 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

On Friday, 20 September 2013 we were to be picked up on a day tour to Mt Fuji and Hakone. The meeting time was at 8:10 at the ‘Front Information’ desk at Keio Plaza Hotel in Tokyo. We were waiting at the meeting place from 8:00 to 8:30 but no bus came to pick us up. We requested the hotel reception to find out what caused the delay. Following inquiries made by the hotel staff with the bus company (Sunrise Tours), approximately at 8:45 they advised us that the bus did not stop at the hotel and asked us to catch two taxis to catch up with the bus already on its way to Mt Fuji. We were also asked to pay the taxi fare. This was the most unbelievable, ridiculous proposal after having paid the tour in full. We were very annoyed and the payment request was vehemently refused. The attitude of the hotel management was disgusting. Few minutes later, the Operations Manager of the bus company rang me via the hotel phone and provided us with two taxis at their costs to catch up with the bus which was about 30-40 minutes away from the hotel, at that moment.

What a dreadful start of a day on a foreign tour! We were surprised that the ‘Sunrise Tours’ representative (guide) who was in charge of the tour did not pick us up (6 persons) and still not realised the missing persons in the ‘list of participants’ and not noted the six vacant seats on the bus. This incident caused so much psychological stress early in the morning and we did not get the value and satisfactory service for our money. After returning to Australia, we strongly demanded an investigation to find the offender responsible for the ‘big blunder ‘and we are compensated for the agony and stress.

Following investigations, our travel agent (in Australia) informed us that the representative in charge of picking up the tour participants in the Shinjuku area
was not feeling good and suddenly collapsed on the job. For that reason, the
hotels had to be contacted and hotel staff was requested to
advise tour participants. This was never advised to us when we were making inquiries from hotel staff about the delay in picking us up. Who picked up the other passengers on the bus if the representative was not feeling good and why we were not advised of his/her illness when we were waiting at the meeting place? We do not believe the reason for not picking up is true. We are very disappointed with ‘Sunrise Tours’ and will not recommend them to anyone that we know.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    24
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent large tour ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Did the Kyoto and Nara one day tour. Both guides were excellent and the tours were well organized. Lunch was very good. If and when I come back to Japan, will almost definitely do more tours by this company.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery but a waste of time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you're the kind of traveller who loves to optimise your time in a foreign country this will drive you crazy, you take quite a while getting organised and travelling to destinations. At the destinations you have too much time allocated to site seeing and gift buying. The tour guide was over informative, she insisted on telling everyone the most trivial useless information - don't get me wrong she was amazingly knowledgeable but there comes a point when it is overkill. We we arrived at Mt Fuji the weather was poor so our entire day was rescheduled which I did not mind, but again it felt like time was wasted just to ensure we remained on tour for the predetermined time frame. As far as the company goes they were well organised, helpful and ran on schedule it's just my understanding and expectations of what the day would involve was not satisfied

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Mt. Fuji World Heritage Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Note: 3/5 because of content, but quality is otherwise great.

It is so easy to arrange a day trip to Mt. Fuji through Japanican -- I was keen to see Mt. Fuji and they offered several ways to go about it. Having already been to Hakone, and not really excited about Yokohama or Gotemba, I decided to take a tour to Mt. Fuji as a standalone. JTB was the tour provider for this particular trip.

I think the best things about taking this tour are:

1. Convenience - a tour bus will take you there, around and back to Shinjuku without any hassle. I don't know any other way to commute there. I saved time researching my just booking a tour. I also got the meal plan, which saved me the trouble of worrying about lunch (but more on this later).

2. Care - Our tour guide (Ako) was always doing the headcount, offering to take photos of everyone, and updating us on traffic conditions. We had a wailing baby but she kept on explaining things, not ruffled or distracted (allowing the parents of that baby to save face). She was a true professional. She made sure all lunch orders were right and everyone knew how to get back to his or her hotel (a standard procedure for JTB tours).

One aspect that requires improvement was the food. The cold tempura and small portions made for an unsatisfying meal. The good thing is they were careful about food allergies and vegetarian requirements. On one hand, getting the meal saves you the trouble of finding one; although for the Mt. Fuji tour, there were other restaurants in the area where we ate, and the non-meal plan tourists ate well.

------

Now about content:

1. Fuji -- the only climbing to be done is the walk to the parking lot from the toilet. We were driven up to the fifth station and just walked around. If Mt. Fuji is hiding, sorry, there's nothing here but a temple, souvenir shops, food stores, your free lucky bell and the smell of horse pee.

Reminded me of Baguio.

2. Springs -- nothing to do but take pics and buy souvenirs. To be fair, it's pretty.

3. Falls -- repair works kept us from getting close to the waterfalls. It was fairly nice (reminded me of those Jeju waterfalls).

4. Temple - nice temple and pond; people splashing around a river.

If you felt that wasn't much of a description, that's because there's not much to describe. We were in each place for 30 minutes, but this tour still took several hours because of the drives.

Tips (summer).

a. Wear light clothes and leave the climbing boots at home. It was cool at the fifth station but boiling everywhere else. Had I known, I'd have gone in flip-flops or sneakers. Have a hat and sunglasses, too.

b. We were caught in monster traffic going back to Tokyo, so have some food in your bag. We left at 5 PM and arrived in Shinjuku at 9:30!!! Horror. Don't take this tour and have tickets for the evening (flight/play/cinema). You never know what's on the road home.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F'ville, GA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Tour & Awesome Tour Guide (Mai)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We did not have reservations for the Dynamic Tokyo Tour but we took a chance and walked to the Cerulean Tower from our hotel (Shibuya Excel). This hotel is a pickup point for various tours. The pickup time is 7:40 and we arrived about an hour early and ate breakfast at this hotel. Luck was on our side because we were able to get two spots on the tour bus!

Our first stop was Tokyo Tower...it was nice. You get to see panoramic views of Tokyo. There are signs letting you know the direction/distance of certain landmarks (i.e. Mt. Fuji, Imperial Palace, etc.). The next stop was Meiji Jingu...which was full of culture, sacredness, etc. After that we had lunch (Japanese BBQ) at the Chinzanso Restaurant. The grounds at this place were beautiful....the gardens were nice which included a sacred tree, a 3-story pagoda and the Gojo waterfalls. Next we went to the have a view of the Imperial Palace and the Nijubashi Bridge. After that, we took a cruise on the Sumida River and ended up a short distance from the KaminariMon gate. This gate was awesome as you will see from the crowd standing outside of the gate taking pictures. It is the entrance to the Senso-Ji Temple. Between the gate and the Temple is Nakamise street shopping. This is the place to get (mostly) authentic "made in Japan" souvenirs, etc. Before you get to the Temple, there are various activities to participate in and there is also a 5 story pagoda.

I recommend this tour to everyone visiting Tokyo. Our tour guide, Mai, was very informative and most of all nice! She did a good job of making sure everyone knew what time we were leaving each place and at the end of the tour, she made sure that everyone knew where they were going and how to get there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JTB Sunrise Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to JTB Sunrise Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JTB Sunrise Tours - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.