We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertainment with superb sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushiryori Inose

Sushiryori Inose
2-20-2 Higashigotanda | 1F, Shinagawa, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinagawa / Gotanda)
+81 3-3443-1719
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,929 Restaurants in Shinagawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $65
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinagawa / Gotanda
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Entertainment with superb sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Some purists may scoff at this place for being too commercialised and of course having such prominence in Tripadvisor means it is frequented by many "gaijin" (non-Japanese). Being a gaijin on holiday myself, I would never proclaim to be such a purist and we ended up having a great time and great food.

I truly love the bar counter style of service because you can get intimate with the chef and your fellow diners. You have to be adventurous and just go for the "omakase" which means leaving it to the whims of the chef. You can advise him 1 or 2 things that you don't eat.

Be prepared for a long drawn out evening of fun and dining. Chef will prepare each piece (sometimes 2 varieties at a time) and place it gently on your "plank" (I'm sure there's a more civil name for it). There is no need to dip it in soy sauce as it is already seasoned and feel free to use your fingers to down the whole piece in one bite. Outside Japan one typically sees more rice than fish on a piece of sushi but here you cant see the rice because it is entirely covered by the fish!

Inose is run by a couple. The husband is the chef and the wife (or "boss" as the chef refers to her) manages the place as maitre d', waitress, steward, bartender - all in one. They are such good fun, it's like a double act and the whole restaurant gets in on it as well which creates a circus atmosphere almost.

Be prepared to share your sake with them so dont be surprised if one or two pieces come out a little wonky but rest assured that it will be absolutely delicious no less.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great sushi night in a very friendly environment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The couple who are the owners of this Restaurant are the nicest ones so far. We worried about having our 5 Year old with us, but she also loved the EXPERIENCE. Food is great and it's fresh made in front of you. It's very Good sushi for a fair price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is the kind of place you just can't reproduce - amazing food in a truely authentic environment. The owners are wonderful, friendly happy people who get you to enjoy every moment of your stay.

The food is simlply wonderful, prepared right in right in front of your eyes.

If you are staying in Shinagawa, or simply looking for the best sushi - this place is a must.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We arrived in Tokyo and wanted authentic, local sushi. Our hotel recommended Inose and we could not be more impressed. Everything was fresh and delicious. I even went outside my comfort zone and ate thing I would normally never try.
The owners made us feel like locals and even shared bottles of beer after we noticed that another patron had left his cellphone at the sushi bar. Inose ran after him, catching him at the train station. Amazing food, amazing owners! We definitely plan to return before we leave Tokyo.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

For,our first Japanese meal, we wanted sushi, and this was the highest rated place near our hotel. Thank you trip advisor reviewers! This was by far the best sushi we've ever had and the experience of dining with the nice couple that run it made it even better. Yes, there isn't much in the way of decor or style, so don't look for a Michelin star anytime soon, but if you want a fantastic meal in a typical Japanese restaurant, look no further. Book ahead because it's quite small, but we had no problems a few days out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushiryori Inose also viewed

Shibuya, Tokyo
Taito, Tokyo
 

Been to Sushiryori Inose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushiryori Inose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.