We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - in more ways than one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harbourmouth, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6PL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding - in more ways than one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Pier is outstanding by virtue of being the main building on the pier! But regarding the quality of the experience, we also found that outstanding. We have eaten there before, but needed accommodation for a couple of nights to have a family function. The rates were better than another estblishment. Our sea view room was excellent; the staff were very helpful; breakfasts well organised (including genuinely vegetarian yoghurts). They were also quite happy for us to leave our car in their car park while we caught the bus into Yarmouth to do some sightseeing. The one dinner we had was well prepared and served, although more than one vegetarian option would have been nice. Overall a good hotel, we think.

Room Tip: We picked a sea-view room. Not a big premium, but well worth it. From the third floor we were on we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
54
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel has the best location in the Norfolk area. Right on the beach and the sea is clear for swimming and the sand is golden. The view from the premier room on the second floor was amazing. Breakfast on the baclony was excellent and the little extra touches the hotel did made it all worthwhile. The food in the bar is great and the staff are realy friendly and service is quick. Could not fault anything and will be going back as soon as we can. Don't choose any other hotel.... this is the one, I pondered for over a year before booking but am so glad I did.

Room Tip: The premier room on the second floor is the only one with a balcony and is well worth the extra few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in a few hotels in Norfolk with my partner we thought the pier would be an excellent choice due to the location and great views, but we were let down. It seemed quite unclean with sand over the seats which wasnt something we wanted to sit on and it did take a while for us to be served even though it wasnt even busy. When it got busier in the evenings we found the bar area to be very cramped to stand in and walk through due to how small the width is. It would help if there wasnt tables in the middle... In the outside area the chairs were pretty all over the place with parasols fallen over which wasnt a good look, that could have been due to the weather though. It was also quite dark sitting in the bar area which wasnt good when it was so sunny and bright outside. On the upside the food was good and we definately weren't disappointed with that. Unsure whether it would be somewhere we would return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel from check in to check out. Room attendants couldn't do enough for you I asked for extra decaf coffee and they gave me plenty without hesitation. Breakfast was to a high standard quality as well as quantity. Rooms spotlessly clean, bathroom could have done with being upgraded but still clean. Windows very stiff to open but managed to open one out of three. Would recommend this hotel, we stayed for a long weekend excellent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This little hotel is charming, the staff are outstandingly attentive and polite from the proprietor to the room attendants the impression is that you are staying with a team that not only work cohesively but that they actually care. We stayed in the Sunrise suite and it was clear that the room had been refurbished recently to a very good standard, loads of space, decent furnishings and a balcony opening onto the view of the bay. The receptionist couldn't have been more helpful and actually made our suite available 5 hours earlier than check in, just because we arrived for a full day on the beach at 9.00 - an unexpected facility and very welcome. The owner is very approachable and works with his staff wherever he sees a need and the whole thing just works and works well!
We had a problem with the quality of our evening meal but it was dealt with swiftly and put it down to an issue with the kitchen on this occasion ( we've never come across a fish platter where the fish is served on slices of baguette before, and hope never to again and we would recommend avoiding twice cooked fries!) but the breakfast was very good and the breakfast waitress was delightful.
All in all superb, nobody can run a business of this nature and get it spot on for every customer every time and those who purport to don't. It's how you manage your customer's expectations that counts and this place does it very well.
We have no knowledge of the background to the owners of this hotel but on the way home decided that they had probably served their time in a very professional and upmarket business prior to taking this place on and if they did, it shows, if they didn't it doesn't !

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Built in 1897, this delightful late Victorian era hotel sits front and centre overlooking Gorleston beach and is surrounded by echoes of the hey day of the English seaside holiday. From the front steps of the hotel you can hear the bingo caller chanting out the numbers "key of the door, number 21"; the clangs , whoops and whiirrs of the amusement arcade across the road and you can smell the onions accompanying the hot dogs being sold from a cart on the esplanade. Next door is the town's circular theatre, a more recent addition. The beach is sandy and welcoming but the lively grey sea is for the brave hearted. Inside the Pier hotel you are surround by a bygone era, the carved oak bars, stairway and the high ceilings, the black and white photographic prints on the walls and the warm attentive service of a cheerful team of young people. Our room was not large and the door to the ensuite was at an acute angle but once we worked out the space limitations, my partner and I were comfortable. Best of all, the sash window worked and, in the health and safety mad world we all now live in, I was able to fully slide it upwards to get a wonderful flow of fresh sea air. The hotel common areas were all well maintained and mostly original though somewhat spoiled by the ubiquitous flat screen TV's around the cornicing. We didn't lunch or dine in the Pier but a glance at the menus suggested honest, standard British fare. The breakfast was superb. A cooked to order traditional full English or, a pair of Scottish Kippers and blissfully, smoked haddock with poached egg. How good it was not to join a queue for the bain-marie buffet line up containing steaming food of unknown age, the monstrous toaster that either cremates or does nothing to a slice of stale bread and, the soggy fruit bowl that has been picked over by every other guest before your arrival. Well done Pier Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed your trip down memory lane hospitality- and long may you prosper. Cost for one night, £90 including vat and the sumptuous individually crafted breakfast for two.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times recently due to being on business close by.
Staff friendly, restaurant great for both evening meals & breakfast.
Great location by the beach.
Rooms are clean and have pretty much everything you need.

Room Tip: I prefer a beach view to that of the docks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel

Address: Harbourmouth, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably one of the most beautifully situated coastal hotels in England. Now a three star establishment; the relaxed surroundings of the Pier Hotel combined with quality home cooked food, great wines and friendly service make up the perfect ingredients for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Pier Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.