We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ian & Veronica H.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jennis Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorleston-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jennis Lodge Guest House
Save
You added Jennis Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
63 Avondale Road, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ian & Veronica H.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We needed accommodation to attend a funeral at the local crem. My Brother, his wife and grown up son together with my wife and I stayed at Jennis Lodge for just two nights.
Vicci & Paul were aware of our situation but were very supportive, kind and helpful to us all.
My wife and I had an evening meal booked and it was excellent as were the good English Breakfasts that kept you going all day.
Excellent and clean rooms and the luxury of a quiet location so we slept soundly.
We have no real reason to return to this area but would recommend a stay at this B & B.
Good place to eat out was at a pub called 'One' recently opened.
Only small point was that it is on street parking which could be a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
35
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had only one night to stay in Jennis Lodge but would like to say that the family running the B&B were great! we were struggling to find somewhere nearby to have dinner as it was Saturday and very chaotic in the local pubs with hen parties etc we walked back to our B&B and asked Paul if he new of any where to eat well he came up trumps and found a great newly opened restaurant in town called "One " I seem to remember, he even phoned them up and just managed to get us a table!
Very kind of him to help out. The breakfast was good and the room was too.
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We found the service to be warm and friendly and were made to feel welcome
The food was excellent and well presented at a convenient time
The room was clean and tidy and well supplied and we felt safe and at home

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very friendly, welcoming hosts. I only stayed one night but had the best nights sleep I have had in years, the bed was so comfy, the room was spotless. I had an early interview so Vicki and paul arranged an early breakfast for me, which set me up for the day. Thanks Vicki and paul, I sincerely hope to be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

stayed here for 5 nights from 19th july, paul & vicci brilliant host realy made us feel welcome nothing was to much trouble for them, even freezing our ice packs..room was plenty big enough for the two of us breakfast was realy nice, a great location for the beach 2 mins walk hope to return in the future well done to you both jeff & diane,

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Unsurprisingly- as it turned out - Jennis Lodge was almost fully booked, but I was upgraded to a double room at minimal extra cost. Mine hosts, Vicci and Paul, are a charming couple and genuinely interested in their guests. I was given excellent local information, including on public transport availability, which they had tried out themselves to ensure their information to visitors was accurate.The hotel was spotless and located in a quiet residential street next to the beach.
I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Gorleston. The freshly cooked breakfast alone makes it worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for only one night, but we are glad we did. Vicci and Paul are lovely owners and accommodating hosts, very happy to see you well settled in and to have a chat too.
The whole guest house was spotlessly clean and tidy and breakfast is delicious too. We took our dog and he was very welcome too for only three pounds a night extra. All the doggy rules are clearly stated on the website and are very reasonable and, if you take your pooch to the large dog friendly beach, they can provide a towel, if necessary, for a good rub down.
Rooms contained towels and basic toiletries and parking is free on the street outside, although one should turn up early to secure a spot right outside.
All in, a lovely place to stay. We will not hesitate to use again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jennis Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jennis Lodge Guest House

Address: 63 Avondale Road, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly, family run guest house open all year, situated just off the beautiful sandy beach of Gorleston-on-Sea 3 miles south of Great Yarmouth.All of our rooms are En-Suite. Your room will be comfortably furnished and have facilities for making tea and coffee, a radio alarm clock, flat screen TV / DVD, toiletries, towels, plus free Wi-Fi.Our freshly cooked breakfast is made from quality produce and a vegetarian choice is available. Evening meals on request. Children and dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jennis Lodge Guest House Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jennis Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.