We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pilgrims at Lovington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pilgrims at Lovington to your Saves list
The Pilgrims at Lovington
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Pilgrims Way | Lovington, Castle Cary BA7 7PT, England (Formerly The Pilgrims Rest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Castle Cary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for my wife's birthday and had a wonderful time. We received a warm welcome and were shown to room 1 which was very comfortable and tastefully decorated and had a wonderful bathroom/ wet room. The evening meal was excellent and the breakfast was a great start to the day.

We would definitely stay here again; the only comment I would have is don't be put off by the outside appearance as it does not do justice to the experience you will have there.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
61
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We were amazed when we stayed at The Pilgrims at Lovington. Though it looks like a traditional country pub from the road, they have 5 really beautiful designer bedrooms with comfortable beds and fabulous bathrooms. The restaurant has great food - all locally sourced and deliciously cooked by Julian, a really friendly, creative chef. We could see why he's won loads of awards. His wife Sally runs the front of house in a very efficient, friendly way. We'll definitely be back as soon as we can.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Divine - bedrooms with facilities are first class & food of a high standard. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I last reviewed Pilgrims way back in September 2009. I waxed lyrical about it then...nothing has changed.

It is still a delight to stay here. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully designed with clever use of Farrow & ball paint. The bathrooms are extremely well appointed with roll top baths and walk in monsoon showers...then when you think life can't get any better, Jools the chef patron cooks you sublime food to die for. All locally sourced...beautifully cooked and presented...this is a chef at the top of his game. Breakfast is equally good....He even makes his own bread.
Sally, the other half of this exceptional couple handles front of house, serves the food and handles all the other many things that make this establishment such a joy to stay in. This is hotel keeping at it's very best...Worth a long detour.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

we stayed at the Pilgrims for three nights in November with two other couples.

From the moment we arrived we were so well looked after by Sally and Jules, the bedrooms were great big comfy beds, great showers and spotlessly clean.

We ate in the restaurant on the Friday and Saturday and the food was fantastic all freshly cooked by Jules, the breakfast was lovely too.

Would definitely recommend you stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Having done the same old thing for New Years Eve for the last decade we decided to return to The Pilgrims at Lovington having spent a night there in 2010.

Once again Sally and Jules succeeded in making our one night stay one to remember.

The food was superb, the service exemplary and the accommodation as before did not disappoint.

Jules talent in the kitchen has to be experienced. His enthusiasm for food shines through in the dishes that are served.

We had Pilgrims on Horseback (Scallops on blackpudding) and tempura prawns to start, then we both went for the fillet steak for our mains. There really is nothing negative I can say about the food at all. I went for a 'Little pot of chocolate with stem ginger' for desert which really was a taste sensation, whilst my better half decided on a selection of local cheeses.

Having jokingly suggested to Jules that she would like her breakfast in tempura batter as it was that good, Jules presented her with a tempura poached egg at breakfast which was a lovely touch, and also delicious !! This is the sort of personal service you can expect if you visit The Pilgrims at Lovington.

Will we return ? Without doubt.

A big THANKYOU to Sally and Jules for making this New Year one we will remember.

Room Tip: All the 5 rooms are similarly decorated to a very high standard with lovely wet room style bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormskirk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Just stayed four nights at The Pilgrims we were looked after and feed to a very high standard nothing was any problem can reccommend as a perfect bolt hole to unwind

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pilgrims at Lovington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrims at Lovington

Address: Pilgrims Way | Lovington, Castle Cary BA7 7PT, England (Formerly The Pilgrims Rest)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Castle Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pilgrims at Lovington 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pilgrims is a 4 star Restaurant with Rooms and holds 2 AA Rosettes. It's as relaxed as a country pub but the food is better than many a city restaurant - not least because all the ingredients come from 'just over the brow of the hill.' And the rooms are simply stunning, Egyptian cotton, king size beds, roll top baths and walk-in showers. The Pilgrims - the best of Somerset on a plate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Pilgrims at Lovington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pilgrims At Lovington Hotel Castle Cary
The Pilgrims At Lovington Castle Cary, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pilgrims at Lovington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.