We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent ubication - friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of bAKpAK Tokyo Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added bAKpAK Tokyo Hostel to your Saves list
bAKpAK Tokyo Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   3-12-5 Ryusen | Taito-ku, Taito 110-0012, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 43 Specialty lodging in Taito
3.5 of 5 stars 50 Reviews
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excelent ubication - friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights intially, location was great close to subway and JR Ueno St, walking distances, at least for me, and it is walking distance from Asakusa.
Staff is friendly, when I decided to stay longer, there was a Japanese person who doesnt speak english, but he has flash cards to communicate, after explain my desire, in my basic-basic japanese, he understad and offer me a beer for free :)
social life in the hostel I cannot say anything because I was leaving too early and arriving too late, lol

Room Tip: the wifi does not work on the 4th, stay in a lower floor it worked on 4th but in some strategic loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
9
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Went in the quiet time of year, as this was my first solo trip and totally mistook how long it would get there, luckily at 12:30AM they were still open and I was served by a very nice oldish gentleman who didnt know much english but was very helpful and was happy i didnt get lost.
I met a fellow aussie who gave me tips on where to go in tokyo and the old gentleman showed me many places to go, so I went to Ueno on the first day (nice and close and a good stepping stone to see what japan had on offer).

Again, it was very quiet but the old gentleman took very good care of us, bringing us Japanese snacks and drinks all the time! And ill never forget the last day where the day had been really horrible and I came back early annoyed. I was sitting outside smoking=, he saw I was in a bad mood and remembered that I drank coke all the all and he went to the vending machine and got me one and said "Cheer up, things will look better!).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Without question my favourite hostel in Japan! There were a number of things which made this a cut above the rest i stayed at and they included: 1) The price. This has got to be the cheapest hostel in tokyo and still fairs better than some of the more expensive places i stayed at. 2) The people and environment. Being the cheapest means that the hostel will attract many backpackers all looking for the best bargains and cheapest deals so you are guarenteed to be accompanied by many many backpackers which si always good if you like meeting new people and sharing experiences.

The hostel itself is a fairly old building which you can tell has deteriorated over the years but for me this added to the experience. The hostel was regularly cleaned and the rooms that i stayed in were everything i expected considering the low price i payed per night, which was a bonus. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm for a few nights which happened to have a few long term stayers in but i found this a bit boring as they were never there so i decided to move to the 12-bed dorm. This was an excellent choice as it was on the first floor which was also where the common room was located and was a lot easier to interact with people, considering i was travelling solo. The 12-bed dorm was quite small but there was enough space that everyone was comfortable and to be honest you rarely come across big dorm rooms in Japan in general. The bed was comfortable and the linen was clean, having been changed every few days. There was a heating unit in each of the rooms so that it was always nice and warm before you went to bed.

The common room was a spacious area with a big TV and loads of dvd's that you could use whenever you wnated. The kitched area was within the common room and there was enough space in the fridge so that you could store any food you may have bought and even room for more alcohol. The constant influx of people is what really gives this hostel a great atmosphere and is just so much fun in general which is why i rate it so highly.

The location of the hostel was quite good as it was a 5-10 minute walk to the nearest subway station (minowa) which was on the Hibiya line (the grey one) and that took you to major parts of tokyo such as Akihabara (4 stops) or Ueno where you could connect to the JR Yamanote line. There was also a 7-eleven just up the road and a super market which made purchasing food and drink a lot cheaper than constantly going to restaurants everyday.

Security at the hostel was fine, as you got to know the people in your dorm and everyone would look out for each other. There was always someone at reception to keep an eye on things from 9am to 10pm. Once reception was closed at 10pm there would be a key code door, for which you had the code and that allowed entry after hours if you came in after a night out.

The best tip that i can give you about this hostel would be that make sure if you go to kyoto to book with them as they have another hostel over there, and you will receive a discount!

When i return to tokyo i know where i will be staying!

Room Tip: Choose the dorm room, not only is it the cheapest but it is the most fun! Families should choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

This was my first major bit of travelling alone and i could think of nowhere better to visit than Japan! After checking out hostelworld i found Bakpak Tokyo hostel and decided to book as i was in my last few weeks in Japan and was low on cash. I didn't really know what to expect as i had stayed in various capsule hotels, and other hostels all over Japan but it turned out to be my favourite place! The mixture of people was great and we soon ventured out into tokyo together for many nights out and this was great as it gave the hostel a great vibe all the time! As i said, this was pretty much the cheapest place in tokyo but i felt like i got much more of a memorable experience from this hostel than many others i had stayed at. The staff were friendly and were always at reception (during open hours) so anything you needed they would help sort you out. The hostel had a nicely sized common room area with a big tv and satellite to keep you occupied if you were not out and about. It also had loads of dvd's which you could watch for free on your laptops or even on the big screen. Free internet was provided on the two computers downstairs at reception and wifi was available for a small fee (150 Yen) so you could use laptops and iPad's etc in the common room. There was a code on the main door ( which was changed every thursday) so that you could let yourself in (or try to after a nights drinking) if you return after the main reception has closed, which was around 10pm every night. I stayed in the 12 bed dorm which was the cheapest and it was all i expected from a 12 bed dorm, a bit small given the number of triple bunks that were in there but the beds were fine and the linen changed every few days so no problems with cleanliness. The only thing i found slightly annoying was the fact that if you stayed on the first floor where the 12 bed dorm was and a few private rooms then you only had one toilet and shower on that level and therefore had to go downstairs to reception to use the other toilet down there. It wash;t that much of an issue but they can get pretty messy especially when there are multiple drinking games going on in the common room (which is also located on the first floor). The common room contained the kitchen area where you were free to store any food and drink in the fridge. This could get quite full and occasionally stuff got thrown away but there are a few people who stay long term so they would generally know what to throw and what not too. There was only one stove in the kitchen as one was not woking but i had no problems as i bought fresh food from the super market at the top of the high road and made food whenever i needed and the hob was always vacant. The location of this hostel is quite good as it is a 30 minute walk to Ueno but its a 5 minute walk to the nearest station 'Minowa' which is on the Hibiya line (grey subway one) so very easy to get to major stations such as Akihabara (about 4 stops away) or Roppongi (about 10 stops away). The best thing about this hostel is that they own another one in Kyoto so if you book with that one via reception you will receive a discount on the price!

Room Tip: Always go for the dorm room if available unless you are a family, then the private rooms are best fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

One of the worst hostels I've been in.
First of all - the pool table in their pictures is broken so you cant use it.
If you go in winter like I did, there was no blankets provided and no heating... I had to wear all my clothes at once to stay warm.
The communal bathrooms were filthy as was the communal kitchen.
My twin share room backed onto a massive 12dorm room that was filled with a contiki style tour - and yes, it was like being in the same room as their parties that went til 4am.

Its also a pain to get anywhere - you have to take at least 2 trains to more central parts of Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hostel in March 2011, just after the earthquake hit. When I contacted the hostel they said everything was fine and the city was operating as usual and the hostel would still be open and running as normal. So we decided to go... on the first day of our arrival we found out that the whole hostel had just cleared out and everyone was leaving because many places in the city were closed, the subway was running on half schedules, and there was some concern that the city might go completely without power. But when we asked the staff they said that no everything was fine... but that they would all be leaving!? But we were welcome to stay in the hostel for the time we had reserved if we wished but there wouldn't be any staff there to run the hostel. And NO you can't get back ANY of your payment for your stay if you wanted to leave early. I have never heard of a hotel/hostel/anywhere that wouldn't refund even a portion of your payment for leaving early. And we had booked for 2 weeks. It was a bad time for everyone but the treatment by the staff was inexcusable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

One thing I will say for this hostel is that it is the cheapest in Tokyo. Without question. We stayed in a private twin with our own bathroom and toilet for way, way cheaper than anywhere else could offer. If you're not all at fussy about cleanliness, availability of staff or a quiet location, then by all means, this place is for you.

A couple of notes - perhaps due to the earthquake, the receptionist is often not there. He wasn't there when we checked in (key was left in a basket on the counter!) and we had no power for hours. There is no 24 hour security, as stated on their website, as apparently due to aftershocks the front doors are never locked. Everything is quite dirty - the communal kitchen in particular looks like it hasn't been cleaned in years. The little complimentary milks in our room had gone solid with age. Wifi will not work above the 3rd floor, and even on the 3rd floor it is intermittent at best. The laundry is neither on the roof (which is full of stagnant water and bags of old belongings) nor the second floor, as the signs say, but around the side of the building, where you have to fight your way through masses of rubbish to get there. The hostel-branded vending machine outside is almost always out of stock, or not turned on at all. The location is very, very quiet, and it's a good 40 minutes by train to Shibuya or anywhere happening.

Still, when the receptionist is there, he is helpful and speaks English perfectly. Personally, I wouldn't stay there again though.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to bAKpAK Tokyo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about bAKpAK Tokyo Hostel

Address: 3-12-5 Ryusen | Taito-ku, Taito 110-0012, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — bAKpAK Tokyo Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japan Tokyo Hostels - Backpackers Hostel and budget accommodation for travelers or family vacation. Cheap Tokyo accommodation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Venere, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your bAKpAK Tokyo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakpak Tokyo Hotel Taito
bAKpAK Tokyo Hostel Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage bAKpAK Tokyo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.