We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in an amazing location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ueno East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ueno East to your Saves list
Hotel Ueno East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5-5-6 Higashi Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value in an amazing location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a very good hotel for my stay in Tokyo. The price could not be beat, and the location was fantastic. It was right next to the Ginza Line at the Inaricho stop. From there you can get virtually anywhere in the city with ease. Another perk was that the Keisei line (the cheapest and easiest way to get from Narita airport to Tokyo proper) ended near where the hotel was. The hotel also had a restaurant, which I did not eat at because there are so many restaurants in the area.

The cons were few and far between. I think the air conditioner could have been better (room was still kinda hot, even with the A/C on at full blast). My room was also incredibly tiny. I was expecting a tiny room, as I was a lone traveler, but it was hard to move around in at times.

Overall it was a great hotel, and I will stay there again next time I find myself in Tokyo. The staff was very helpful (although a little hard to understand at times, but they tried).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    83
    45
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
36
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent Hotel with great service and great location. Staff could speak some English but it never felt like a struggle to communicate all things considered. It is no frills but your in Tokyo, go out and have an adventure. We came here for our honeymoon on a budget initially but we have generous loved ones so came with a lot of spending money.

Tokyo is an amazing city and the location of the hotel is just far enough away to get a quiet nights sleep but close enough to have access to everything through the incredibly well run metro service.

I don't want to squawk too much but on a budget you cant get much better!

Loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms are small so don't plan on spending too much time there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hello my fellow readers,

I just want to give my two cents on this hotel. I thought the hotel was ok. The internet service in the rooms is reasonably good and not slow, which is a big plus for me. The hotel room itself is pretty small but I'm guessing it's one of those Japanese style rooms. The staff here don't really speak good English, just a few sentences or words. The hotel restaurant's food selection is quite limited and 100% Japanese cuisine, no western food here. The hotel's location is pretty quiet and safe and it's only 10 minutes away from the Tokyo metro which is very convenient. The hotel is located near the train you take to go to the international airport which is also convenient. The hotel is situated in Ueno District which is considered Old Tokyo, so you're going to notice plenty of museums and parks here. This district is not as exciting as Shinjuku or Shibuya but it has its own charm with the Tokyo Zoo and National Museum located nearby.

So all in all,
PROS: Good internet, Convenient Location next to a metro, room price
CONS: Hotel staff language skills, tiny room, hotel restaurant menu selection, not so exciting part of town

CONCLUSION: I give it a 2 stars out of 5.
I only took this hotel for the price, because I was cheap at the time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We slept in the studio twin room with 2 toddlers so it was a bit tight but expected for a typical Japanese hotel room and it was a great price ($70/night) so no complaints!

Staff were helpful and friendly.

2 convenience stores close-by so if you don't have breakfast included, take a 2 min walk and pick up some stuff there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in May 2013 with a school group of 22 students. One thing above all was the excellence of the food and the friendly staff. The kitchen was open to view, which is a good sign as the chefs were exceptional and both western and Japanese food was incredibly good. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in 10 days in Japan. Dinners were fantastic including a wonderful Japanese fried chicken and a traditional curry with wonderfully fresh salads and soup. Our fussy eaters found something to eat at every meal.

The local area had wonderful restaurants, incredible shopping, temples and walking distance to the new Tokyo "sky tree" tower. The Ueno station was right around the corner and the subway system 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked the hotel 2 days before check-in date and it was still quite cheap for the area! (about 10000Y a night for two, superior double, no breakfast) The room is tiny, especially since we had to install a baby bed for our 1&half year son, but clean and quiet (despite clearly being "old").
On the bad side, no ramp/slope or elevator from street level to 1st floor!!! About a dozen steps which can be quite a challenge for a family with luggage and a stroller!!!!
The hotel is also located about 15min fom Ueno station so we appreciate the quietness. We also walked to Asakusa and the Tokyo Sky Tree (20 and 40min away). Staff was unhelpful. No wifi in the room but lucky for us we carried a home wifi router that allowed us to play on our tablets and phones.
I guess in the end, we got what we paid for...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Rooms are really small for a couple and the bathrooms also a bit on the small size. But in the end one does not stay in the hotel the whole day as the UENO area around the hotel is buzzling with life. Close to the UENO railway station and many interesting shopping streets as well as the UENO Park. Plenty of good restaurants around five minutes walk from the hotel and.....the hotel is located in a quiet street so no street noise can be heard. Breakfast choice is okay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ueno East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ueno East

Address: 5-5-6 Higashi Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ueno East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel Ueno East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Hotel Taito
Hotel Ueno East Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ueno East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.