We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chisun Hotel, Ueno” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chisun Hotel Ueno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Chisun Hotel Ueno to your Saves list
Chisun Hotel Ueno
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5-5-6 Higashi Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
3.5 of 5 stars 146 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Chisun Hotel, Ueno”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Even though hotel is slightly far from Ueno station, (10 mins) walking in the cold could be demanding for children. But the location in Ueno is great and easy excess to many other places of interests. Quiet hotel with basic amenities.

Room Tip: Budget within Tokyo area and good enough with 2 young children with no extra charge. Much better tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    77
    44
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
36
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

I love the Chisun hotels. I enjoyed the hotel and didn't find anything to complain about. The bed was so comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and non-smoking rooms. There is LAN available but no WLAN. The breakfast is a japanese style buffet which has been very good. The location is only 10 minutes away from Ueno station and 10 minutes from Asakusa. The price is a little higher than in other cities like Kobe oder Hiroshima, but for Tokyo it is a really good deal. All in all we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location... not far from Ueno Train station, and a little walk from asakusa and ameyoko. Would definitely stay here again. The staff were friendly enough and the rooms were clean (albeit small, but we did not spend our time sitting in the hotel room). My only gripe was that the pillows were made of little bead things inside a pillow case... but I think that they are commonplace in Japan hotels?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed at this property for 3 nights in early September. I will say that it might be a little hard to find if you aren't familiar with the Ueno area. For those new to travel in Japan, only the major streets are labeled with street signs, so following a map to a given address involves some guesswork. Once you find it though, the location is good, being only a couple minutes walk from Ueno station, which gives you access to several subway lines, JR lines, and the Kesei lines (which you can take directly to and from Narita Airport).

My room was a single, and it was tiny, as Tokyo hotel rooms tend to be (see picture). This was no surprise to me, but could be shocking for someone unfamiliar with Japanese hotels. However, it was also impeccably clean. I heard stories of rolling brownouts to deal with the fallout from the recent damage to power plants in northern japan. However, I encountered no such issues, and happily enjoyed my air conditioning after I found the controls (which are located on the wall at the head of the bed).

The staff was courteous, and spoke enough English to get through the check-in process smoothly. I didn't test them beyond that as my Japanese is passable and I already knew the area anyways. There are also plenty of restaurants and shopping opportunities nearby (A stroll through Ameyoka is always fun).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I've arrived at the Ueno station in the evening after travelling from Europe, so several hours of flying.
I've had some difficulty in finding the hotel even if I had a google map of the area, especially the area outside the railways station is a little misleading.
Anyway, after you know where the hotel is it is very easy to come back to the hotel.
I've chosen this hotel because it is not expensive and quite near to the underground station.
The area is very calm so if you like more "life" this is not a good area for you.
The breakfast was not included in the price so we went in some place near the hotel.
As it is usual in Japan there is no difficulty in finding a restaurant and we have found a little restaurant that we liked.
The hotel is a typical business hotel but clean and safe. We have spent there 5 nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUstralia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We arrived here, first port of call. So handy to JR rail and skyline. Excellent local attractions. Other than small rooms if you plan to stay a while, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chisun Hotel Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisun Hotel Ueno

Address: 5-5-6 Higashi Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chisun Hotel Ueno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Chisun Hotel Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Hotel Taito
Chisun Hotel Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chisun Hotel Ueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.