We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Andon Ryokan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andon Ryokan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Andon Ryokan to your Saves list
Andon Ryokan
Ryokan
  |   2-34-10 Nihonzutsumi, Taito 111-0021, Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE for 5% OFF
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I love Andon Ryokan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I stayed at Andon Ryokan with my husband for 4 nights during our honeymoon and I was extremely impressed. The room was very comfortable and the staff was so nice. They helped us plan out our activities each day and had great suggestions. They made us breakfast fresh each morning, and the cinnamon french toast was delicious! We had a great time being taught origami one night, and the location was great too. I guess the only drawback would be that we didn't have our own bathroom and had to use the public one. But there was a fabulous jacuzzi in the basement! I would definitely recommend Andon!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    52
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
15
92
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Staying at Andon Ryokan was a good experience: the building is stylish, the staff is friendly and really helpful, the breakfest was good and cheap, free internet (wifi + two computers available).

The jacuzzi is beautiful, everything is clean. The towels are changed daily and the sheets after 3 days. The beds are comfortable and the street is quiet, so we slept really well. There are free toothbrushes/paste, soap, shampoo, razor and cotton buds available.

The rooms are small and the lighting is dim, so the Andon is not appropriate if you want to spend a lot of time in your room, but if you look for good rest and breakfest, it is the right place!

The location is ok for sightseeing: the Minowa station is close (Hibiya line, only two stations from Ueno (Yamanote line)). But if you like to party, it is better to stay in another area: it takes 45 minutes to go from the hotel to the Shinjuku and Shibuya area, and there is no train/subway after 00:30.

Last point: it is not really a ryokan, but rather a guesthouse.

I liked:
jacuzzi, breakfest, staff, design, comfortable bed

I disliked:
Location, small shower, dim lights

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I had to sort my way through hours of websites, only to find that most of the places were full. I got a referral to Andon and it was an absolute jewel. I have been back three times since. It is perfect for first-time visitors to Japan, it has a dramatic, spare modern design that is still welcoming and comfortable. The staff speak great English (and Spanish too, I believe!). All the spaces are tiny - it is Japan! - so after more than two nights, a person could feel a bit cramped. It is a brisk ten minute walk from the station, so don't choose it if you're lazy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

In January 2011 my husband and I stayed in the Andon Ryokan for 12 days to visit Tokyo. The rooms are very small, but if you want to see the city and not spend much time in your room, they are absolutely adequate for sleeping. Even though we had quite a lot luggage (three trolleys) we could store everything. The futon was very comfortable and the location was quiet, so that we could sleep very well. The toilets and the shower are also very small, but functional and always clean. We shared it with the others guest on our floor, but it was never too crowded.

The ryokan looks like on the pictures on the internet. It is stylish and simple. If you set value of high comfort and space, the Andon Ryokan probably is not the right choice, but if you want a low priced, but nice place with helpful staff the price-performance ratio of the Andon Ryokan is unbeatable for Tokyo. We were the first time in Tokyo and the owner and the staff were all very kind and cooperative. We got lots of recommendations for restaurants and sight-seeing trips and every question and request was patiently answered (in a very good English). The breakfast was very good for the price of 500 yen and you get coffee and tea for free the whole day. There is also WI-FI available in the lounge/reception until 10 p.m.

The area (Metro station: Minowa) where the Andon Ryokan is located is quiet which we appreciated very much after a long day in the noisier and crowded parts of Tokio (like Shibuya and Shinjuku). There are some restaurants and a very nice bar (called „Lyphard“) only a few minutes walk away.

One of our highlights was the daily bath in the jacuzzi. It can be reserved for private use for free for 25 minutes between 4 and 10 p.m. We also participated in the tea ceremony (500 yen) which was an interesting experience for us.

To sum it up, we can highly recommend the Andon Ryokan - especially for (young) people who want a stylish and functional atmosphere and who can disclaim the comfort of a western style hotel (e.g. space, private bath and toilet).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at Andon Ryokan for 2 nights in January 2011. We caught the train from Shinkjuku to Minowa with 2 big ski bags - luckily there was a lift at the station so we didn't have to drag our bags up the stairs. Before we left we printed a map of the Ryokan off the website - Im glad we did this because we came out of the station from a different exit that the Ryokan tells you to take! The map has pictures on it so you know if you are going the right way.

We were greeted by a Yuka, who was shy but very lovely. The room was clean and compact - enough space for us to lay our ski bags down and still roll out the tatami.

The Ryokan has a great spa that is great to use after a long day of sightseeing.

We enjoyed a cooked breakfast each morning that was cheap and filling. There are some great maps and information for guests in the lobby area, including directions on how to get to the airport. The Ryokan is in a great location, close to the station, supermarket and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Andon Ryokan was easy to find from Minowa subway - there is an English map opposite the ticket office with Andon Ryokan marked. Area was a breath of fresh air from overwhelming shoppers in Shinjuku and close by in Ueno there are 2 fabulous art galleries. Andon Ryokan was clean, rooms weren't too small and staff were very helpful. Might be loud in a room near stairwell and toilets but ear plugs solved this problem. Free internet, tea and very good coffee a huge bonus. Breakfast especially omelette was delicious and very good value. We participated in the tea ceremony which was a wonderul and special experience lead by Andon Ryokan staff and tea master. Jacuzzi was a welcome relief after a day of rain soaked us through. Really enjoyed shopping at the kitchen utensil stores in Kappabashi dori and went to a fabulous restaurant there. Will visit Andon Ryokan again if in Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

This ryokan is a great option if you are looking for a affordable stay in Tokyo. It is not a ryokan in the traditional sense, but an interesting design ryokan with cool interiors and facade. The ryokan is situated a little in the outskirts of the large hubs, but is still only 2 stops away from Ueno. The closest metro station, Minowa, is 5 minutes away by walk. Buy a 1-day travel card for the Tokyo Metro.

The rooms are clean and functional. The futon was great, I slept very well and the air con worked perfectly. The tatami in the room was also fresh and clean.

All the amenities including shower and toilet worked well. If you are tired after a day in Tokyo, you can soak up in the jacuzzi (free, just make a reservation at the front desk), or rent a DVD (deposition 1000 yen).

Breakfast is a bargain and well cooked. You can sit next to a table or on cushions on the floor, next to some really nice japanese antiquities. There is a vending machine just outside the hotel where you can buy water, soft drinks and beer. Also, there are several restaurants in the neighborhood.

There is no wi fi, but 2 computers for common use at the ground floor.

The people working at the ryokan speaks good English and are extremely helpful! All in all, I can really recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andon Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andon Ryokan

Address: 2-34-10 Nihonzutsumi, Taito 111-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Rakuten and Agoda so you can book your Andon Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andon Ryokan Hotel Taito
Andon Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andon Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.