We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location as a first night in Japan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Park Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Park Side to your Saves list
Hotel Park Side
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-11-18 Ueno, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 110-0005 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Nerja, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great location as a first night in Japan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed there on arriving in Japan - it was really easy to reach from Narita airport via either of the train stations nearby - just a 5 minute walk. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby plus some convenience stores for fast food. The room was fairly typical in size for Japan with slippers for the room, yukata (bathrobe) and toilet slippers. Also you can open the windows a bit to get some fresh air which I like to be able to do instead of breathing the same interior air all the time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
19
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Park Side for 3 nights in December 2013 and it was a great experience. The deluxe twin room is of a good size, has a separate sitting area with a sofa bed (great for our shopping bags) and a wonderful bathroom with a separate shower and bath area with onsen like fixtures and a small but comfortable sink-in bathtub which we soak in every night, no matter how late. The single beds were big and comfortable and the room is clean. The hotel is about a 5 mins walk from the Keisei Skyliner station and Ueno station. It is located at the perimeter of Ueno park and there is a street full of bars and restaurants behind the hotel. We got a room facing the main road so we are not sure if the rooms facing the back lane will be affected by the noise from the bars. The hotel is very near to the shopping, food and entertainment areas in Ueno. We paid about SGD200 per night and its well worth the money. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of a tour. We found the staff always helpful and polite and the room clean and pleasant, if small. Ueno is an ideal location, with transport nearby and the park accross from the hotel. restaurants of all sorts and the wonderful openair market are all a short walk. e highly recommend and will stay there next time we get to Tokyo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Perfect location, great value (140 US$), occupancy 90% Japanese, 9% Korean (most speak Japanese), 1% other foreigners so little need to speak English or provide the typical foreign traveler advice. 5 days a week there is one woman at the front desk who speaks good English, can answer questions, is friendly and helpful: Ishizawa. Terrific, she saved our 4 days there.

Special deluxe top 8th floor room, tiny twin, tiny bath, couldn't go to the window (blocked by bed, chair and tiny closet) but had great view of Ueno park and pond from the middle of the room, no storage drawers, couldn't unpack. Bed and bathroom updating was good. Air conditioner worked first 2 nights, 3rd day, housekeeping turned it off but we did get it going again. Last day and night housekeeping turned it up to 26 C and we couldn't read the Japanese control info, were undressed so didn't call the reception, hot, hot. TV had only Japanese stations, no guest computer. Must be a better foreign oriented but also reasonably priced hotel in Tokyo but, knowing the lack of English and room storage, guests would appreciate the Skyliner service direct to hotel area, Ueno, gorgeous adjacent park and pond for early morning walk, several of the best Tokyo museums, and close by one of the best French restaurants ever, Grill Fukushima, also in Ueno Park. Don't bother with the far away top rated (also French) Park Hyatt New York Grill, mediocre food and house wine, prices 50% higher than other top restaurants - the great 52nd floor view can be obtained from the adjacent New York bar. I shouldn't forget the marvelous hotel Parktop Lounge, view, ambience, excellent 10$US house wine from Chili, and access to items from the Chinese and Italian hotel restaurants to also dine in this pleasant lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their larger rooms, if they have any.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Park Side Hotel

Located to the south of Ueno Park, this small hotel has been my Japanese home for years. While the location is amazing – less than 10 minutes from the Ueno station – there are some issues with this house of charm.

Firstly the staff are capable of being extremely short and rude. While this is virtually unheard of in the hospitality industry, the staff – and one assumes the management – have mastered this trait.

The rooms are generally pleasant. All are smoking, which is somewhat of a drag for the non smokers. While the immediately visible room is quite clean, if you move a few things you will generally find a lot of dust and uncleaned surfaces. During one visit I turned over the futon, only to find it terribly stained and dirty. They replaced it immediately.

During one visit to the hotel I left a Mont Blanc pen on the desk, which went missing immediately. Yes it is my fault, but how do you lock everything down. Now I have a system – Do not disturb signs most of the time.

All of this said, it is a great price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spent 3 nights at hotel we had used on previous visits some years ago. Reserved twin room as offers more space at modest additional cost. Fairly easy to walk from Ueno JR (a major junction), 10+ minutes, shorter walk to Keisei station (not a JR station) and its fast direct services to Narita airport (Y2400pp); there are also other nearby subway lines. Reception area doesn't feel like one but more bottom of an office block. Staff fairly responsive and efficient. Luck of the draw whether you get a smoky or non smoky room, ours was smoking but no trace of smell. Our twin room was a little tired but an upgrade going on and doubles have been done (or so I understand). Nevertheless, spotlessly clean as is usual in Japan. Plenty of space for 2. Adequate bathroom with usual accessories and with plenty of hot, strong water pressure. Modest wardrobe space for 2, fridge, TV with plenty of channels but all in Japanese. View over the park (at extra cost) but ask for at least 7th floor, 5th is on line with a/c units and park's outdoor entertainment block. We had requested park view and given 5th floor but staff did work hard to change it to 7th floor. Free wi-fi only works in the lobby and was fine for my UK smart phone. At rear of hotel is a well known "entertainment" area with masses of bars/restaurants. Doesn't feel edgy although some women may possibly not feel at ease. Didn't have breakfast in ground floor Italian restaurant that hotel uses but prices seem reasonable. Expensive Chinese restaurant on top floor and overpriced bar. Would certainly use again.

Room Tip: Request at least 7th floor for park views (at extra cost)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Hotel Park Side is a good option for the weary traveller.

Friendly and professional, the staff can help you with almost anything you need. I found their English is a little limited but is still more extensive than my Japanese, and we got assistance with everything we needed during our stay.

Having just got off a 14 hour flight and train transfer, the first thing you want is a shower, and this hotel delivers in spades. Hot, strong water in a nice deep shower room.

The hotel bar on the top floor has a wonderful view of the park and lake across the road, and some excellent whiskey`s, including one from the Mount Fuji region.

I tried to stay here again nearing the end of our trip, but they were fully booked.

The only thing to note (which they can`t do anything about short of physically moving the hotel), is that Ueno is about a 30 minute JR Yamanote line train ride away from Shibuya, Harajuku etc. Not a big deal for us, but if you were madly trying to do a few things in a short space of time on the other side of town, its worth considering whether you`d want to stay here or somewhere closer as the JR line can be busy and tiring.

The only other consideration is they don`t seem to have smoking and non-smoking floors, so some our non-smoking room had a very slight smokey smell to it initially, but soon cleared out once the aircon was on.

All in all, a good experience and a good value hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Park Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Side

Address: 2-11-18 Ueno, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 110-0005 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Park Side 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Park Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Taito
Hotel Park Side Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Park Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.