We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Park Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Park Side to your Saves list
Hotel Park Side
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-11-18 Ueno, Taito 110-0005 , Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
4.0 of 5 stars 84 Reviews
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great location, good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in December, 2012. Had a twin room, which turned out to be a smoking room although they didn't ask me at check-in whether I wanted smoking or not. The room was pretty smelly from old smoke but other than that it was pretty decent. I had a nice view of Ueno Park. The desk personnel were very friendly and spoke English fairly well. The breakfast was quite good. I would stay here again because it was a good deal for Tokyo and in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
19
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently stayed there for a night in the standard twin room. When we called the front desk for an extra bath towel and a pillow, the reply was simply 'no'. We was very surprised by the answer, so we thought that they might not have understood our request, hence, we repeated the request. The reply is still 'no' and the staff even added an impatient 'ok?' We were very shocked by the rude reply.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have stayed there alone during winter just a month ago, and it was of good value. if travelling via keisei skyliner from Narita, its just about 5 mins walk away , 10 mins if you are with luggage. an extra 3-5 mins to the JR lines and subways . left my luggage there since it was before check in time, when i returned and checked in, its already in the room.
the rooms are small but comfortable. as in many places in Japan, it is clean. it is in a happening area(Ueno), opposite is Shinobazu pond and a bit further, Ueno park and zoo. behind(not directly but a bit to the side) is a small pub/red light/night life area , may worry about noise but dont worry about safety, Japan is a highly safe country.
will be staying there again in 2 months time for spring.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is an old-school business hotel... renovated, comfortable, well-located, but old-school.

The building must be around 30-40 years old, but the front looks out over Shinobazunoike (Ueno Park's lotus-covered pond), which is a great view. The lobby is gloomy and a bit cramped, but respectable. Check-in was efficient, and as usual in a business hotel, you pre-pay.

The room was a good size (reflecting the hotel's age), plain, but quite well equipped with cabled internet (free - and free wifi in the lobby), a kettle, and a good sized bathroom with a long bath. I had a twin room that overlooked the park. The bed was a little too soft but I still slept well.

I didn't eat in the hotel, but there are three restaurants attached (and hundreds within a 5 minute walk). I did have a drink in the bar on the top floor, which was like a 1960's period drama - dark, armchairs, bow-tied waiters, bottles of whisky, ashtrays - and a hefty cover charge for a quick beer.

I should mention the neighbourhood. Right behind is Ueno-hirokoji, one of the major nightlife areas in Tokyo, choc-a-bloc with bars both respectable and not, restaurants (from fast food to memorable), as well as soaplands and other pinkish entertainment. The next door area is Yushima, renowed for its hourly rate hotels. This is Japan so it's perfectly safe, even for a single woman, but your business associates may snicker if you tell them where you stayed. However in front is Ueno Park, with the Metropolitan Museum, half a dozen other museums and galleries, the zoo, and avenues of cherry blossoms, and a short walk away is Tokyo University, at the top of Japan's "Ivy League" of universities. It's a great combination of contrasts for a tourist.

There's also the Keisei Skyliner to Narita Airport, faster than the JR Narita Express, so this is very convenient for pre- or post-flight resting.

Check out was very straightforward. I didn't have breakfast - it's a buffet in the attached Italian restaurant and was very crowded - but there were half a dozen options open in the early morning on my way to the train station, all good (and cheaper!).

This is a solid good quality hotel, a little faded, but comfortable and well located.

Room Tip: spend a little more for a room at the front - or splash out a lot for the rooftop suite with its out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from Ueno JR and Keisei station.
We booked a japanese style room. It was clean and wide, compared to Japanese Hotel's standard.
It's a pity it faced the back side of the hotel, with a view over Ueno's roofs and Tokyo's crows, not the Park's pond.
No non-smiking japanese style room were available. Nevertheless there was no smell in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

This restaurant is a perfectly pleasant place to stay, and is very convenient, being a block or so away from the Keisei Ueno train station (to catch the express from Narita Airport), the JR Ueno Station (to catch the trains and subways all around Tokyo), the Ameyoko Markets (which are adjacent to Ueno station), as well as Ueno Park itself (including the Ueno Zoo with its famous Panda Bears and many fabulous museums). A perfect spot to base yourself, with plenty to do and see close at hand. We caught the train from the airport straight to Ueno Station and easily rolled our suitcases with the kids to the Hotel.

We chose this hotel for its Tatami Rooms, which accommodated our family of four in one room at a reasonable cost. The hotel does have rooms with a view of Ueno park, but not ours, alas.

The hotel has two restaurants, one which serves a full western and Japanese menu breakfast. But this was quite expensive at ¥1,365 per person. Probably only worth it once, for the experience. Much better options present themselves at Ueno Station, with numerous coffee shops that sell reasonably priced and tasty breakfasts for tourists on the go.

Tea facilities are at hand, but only green tea is provided. I suggest bringing coffee, sugar and a teaspoon with you. We bought milk at a deli and put it in the bar fridge provided, which wasn't overly cold, but it was lovely to be able to relax in the pleasing room with a coffee.

The other restaurant serves quite classy meals for dinner, including Shabu Shabu, which is worth the experience.

Japanese dressing gowns are provided for use during your stay, together with slippers for each occupant, which you are free to take home. We brought ours home and have delighted in them.

The hotel has two exits. One faces Ueno Park, and is quite pretty and safe. The other faces onto a street full of night clubs and bars, with plenty of touts in evidence. Quite safe to walk up and down, but I would only go inside one with a group of people.

The hotel had a free internet cable that we borrowed from reception and plugged our laptop directly into their computer to be charged and to access the free internet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Easy to get to from Narita Express, 200m walk, excelent service. Nice breakfast. Italian and Shabu Shabu restaurants OK. Good rooms overlooking the park. Plenty of retaurants locally as well as a number of interesting looking clubs!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Park Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Side

Address: 2-11-18 Ueno, Taito 110-0005 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Park Side 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Park Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Taito
Hotel Park Side Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Park Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.