We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Park Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Park Side to your Saves list
Hotel Park Side
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-11-18 Ueno, Taito 110-0005 , Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
london
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Second time in Tokyo. Stayed 3 nights in a 5th floor superior room (the L shaped type), which can be checked on hotel's good web site. Therefore reasonable room and very well planned bathroom with best of both western and Japanese features - what we now call a wet room with small but very deep bath for saoking. Ask for room on higher floors and facing park - very pleasant and no noise. Easy access from JR or Keisei (1 minute walk nearer) stations with ease of access to Narita airport. Keisei also has helpful tourist booth who can tell you how to get to airport by cheapest route etc and for info on say getting to Nikko (highly recommended) a beautiful small cultural town 2 hours ride from Tokyo and can be done as a day trip. Did not breakfast in hotel but a lighter meal in one of many pastry shops/station nearby. Ate in both the hotel's Italian and Chinese restaurants and had a drink in the well placed top floor bar. Food good all round and reasonably priced although bar a bit pricey. Behind the hotel there is a maze of good restaurants of all mainly Japanese type at fair prices. Ueno park (across the road) and zoo are fine for a walk and the metro gives easy access to all districts and hotel does not feel "out" of the centre. Hotel seems to be continually busy and proably need to book well in advance. Our dealings over the internet with them were excellent and they were very obliging. Only down side is the already commented upon charge for TV/internet at Y1000 - but the free 30 minutes seem enough if you just want to check mail. We paid Y18000 for the better room exc breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    57
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
22
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

This is very convenient if you arrive on a late evening flight. It's just one direct train (Keisei Skyliner) to Ueno and a 10min walk to the hotel. Make sure you print out the hotel map to ensure you walk in the right direction.

On our return journey to Narita airport, we took the 7.07am skyliner direct to Terminal 1. Although our initial reservation tickets were for 7.57am, they allowed us to change as were arrived at the station so early. You can get the schedule booklets at the Skyliner station.

Also the Tourist Information counter is also located at this station - get your english brochures etc to make your sightseeing so much easier.

After checking in, we managed to have lunch at one of the outlets along the road leading to the hotel - you grill your own beef. Nice affordable tasty lunch.

Most of the 3 nights we ate at the Italian restaurant at Park Side. The food was better than we expected - pretty authentic. Enjoyed the minestrone soup, mushroom pizza, pizza with 4 kinds of cheese (not heavy going because of the light crust). The seafood spaghetti was thankfully not heavily dunked with sauce and had the right al dente bite to it.

As for the meats, we thought the lamb was wonderful. The few pieces were just nice for one person if you arent famished. The beef dish was average.

This restaurant is so convenient if you are too lazy to walk out and prefer to have an early night. In case you are wondering why we went all the way to japan and ended up eating italian- it's because we stayed at 3 ryokans during our 2 week holiday and had lots and lots of fine japanese cuisine. So having italian was a nice alternative. One thing I noticed about japan, the french and italian food tastes good! To them, it's always an art when it comes to cooking at the restaurants.

Hotel reception was helpful with queries and our rooms were very clean. Our Twin bedroom & one double room faced the pond - nice big window view. The outside temperature was only about 19degrees but sometimes the room aircon was changed to warm air. So no need for warm clothes inside.

Comfortable and larger than Toyoko Inn rooms or Star Shinjuku. On the whole, bigger than most business budget hotels.

Just type hotel parkside ueno on google and you should be able to locate the hotel's nice informative website - there's an option for the english version when the japanese page opens up.

I emailed them directly & they were prompt and helpful with their replies.

The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of places. There's a convenience store across the small alley if you walk out the exit on the LEFT of the reception. The main exit is to the right of the reception, next to the italian restaurant.

For a change from the museums and park, try taking a stroll amongst all the shops at the Ameyokocho area. (look up your tourist brochure). You have to walk to MacD and cross the big roads to the other side.
Lots of shops lined up (something like a bazaar) - they opened till quite late on sunday till 10pm but on weekdays it's earlier. You can get lots of stuff here, from cheap budget to pricier items.

Joshua bought a good pair of boots in one of those small shops when his present one gave way. There was a very nice upmarket store called THE SUIT COMPANY amongst all these little shops - nice business shoes and jackets. The store seemed out of place and the first thought was - oh must be expensive. Not so bad as the stylish business shoes were around USD125-160. Joshua managed to get a nice stylish jacket (looks like leather) for USD180.

The JR train station is a 3 min walk from the Skyliner station and has quite a large shopping mall.

Do try the soft icecream at one of the shops there, lots of flavours with the icecream nicely sandwiched between two round wafers. It's beside the Andersen's pastry cafe (which is great for a continental breakfast) - that's near the entrance to the train ticket gates.

There's also a Reservation Office in the mall for JR trains if you want to book your Shinkansen or Limited Express seats in advance. The great part about Ueno is it's convenient location for travelling by trains. But first do your homework on the subways and train routes before you go to japan. It can be pretty mind boggling.

  • Liked — location, nice & comfortable for the price. Italian restaurant was convenient place to eat if one was too tired to walk out.
  • Disliked — Personally felt they didnt need the central heating in the room at night as it wasnt that cold outside when we were there. However, the smaller window can be opened.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

Excellent place to stay if you are going to museums in Ueno Park. Less than $100-, but it costs 1000 Yen for more than 30 minutes computer use. I had a great view of park from my room. Easy connections to Narita and subway. Good restaurants (and a McDonalds) nearby. I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — paying extra for internet
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2006

I have stayed here a few times before, always a top floor room overlooking the park with its ponds and paths. This is a great part of Tokyo and I am very happy to have found the Parkside a few years ago. Pity they are a bit mean with the internet, but I found a good 24/7 internet cafe up the road. Connections to Narita are so easy (Keisei Line) and the subway stations for other lines are nearby. But walking every morning (whatever the weather) in Uenokoen is a great pleasure. And a concert at the Bunka Kaikan is so easy, too. The food in the restaurant is quite nice and service is attentive. Front desk folk here have limited English but they do try. I will certainly be back here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — -
  • Tips/Secrets — morning walks with the ducks
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

Got a room facing the park. It has a great view over it. Think it would be better during the April time (spring period). Nice clean room - very similar to etap style at Paris.

- All rooms have ADSL connection. Only 30 mins is free but enough to check your emails.
- Close to the airport. You can catch Skyliner train (express to Narita airport - 55 mins) at Ueno station.
- Cheap food & market around this area but beware Japanese gangers behind the hotel.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel parkside in a Japanese room for 18,000 Yen a night.
The Hotel is situated in Ueno which is close to many attractions (Ueno park and temples, National Museum). There is some great restaurants nearby. It's a 5 minute walk to the Metro and Keisei Line. It's great if your catching the train from Narita as you only have to catch one train to Ueno then walk from the station.
The rooms were a reasonable size for Tokyo and renovated in traditional Japanese styling. Service was always helpful and friendly although not all the staff spoke fluent English.
The only Con's of this place would be the Tv and Pay TV (1000 Yen extra) which is only in Japanese, and the Futon beds on the floor were a little uncomfortable. There are Western Style rooms available.
Overall I'd recommend this Hotel if you want to be close to all the main attractions in Tokyo, and like to stay in new and comfortable surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Ueno, Asakusa
Centurion Hotel Ueno
Centurion Hotel Ueno
#68 of 107 in Taito
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Kinuya Hotel
Kinuya Hotel
#60 of 107 in Taito
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#9 of 107 in Taito
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#52 of 107 in Taito
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Side

Address: 2-11-18 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Park Side 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Park Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Taito
Hotel Park Side Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Park Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.