We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old hotel, in good condition, and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Park Side

Save Saved
You added Hotel Park Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Park Side
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-11-18 Ueno, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 110-0005 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 84 hotels in Taito
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“An old hotel, in good condition, and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is an old-school business hotel... renovated, comfortable, well-located, but old-school.

The building must be around 30-40 years old, but the front looks out over Shinobazunoike (Ueno Park's lotus-covered pond), which is a great view. The lobby is gloomy and a bit cramped, but respectable. Check-in was efficient, and as usual in a business hotel, you pre-pay.

The room was a good size (reflecting the hotel's age), plain, but quite well equipped with cabled internet (free - and free wifi in the lobby), a kettle, and a good sized bathroom with a long bath. I had a twin room that overlooked the park. The bed was a little too soft but I still slept well.

I didn't eat in the hotel, but there are three restaurants attached (and hundreds within a 5 minute walk). I did have a drink in the bar on the top floor, which was like a 1960's period drama - dark, armchairs, bow-tied waiters, bottles of whisky, ashtrays - and a hefty cover charge for a quick beer.

I should mention the neighbourhood. Right behind is Ueno-hirokoji, one of the major nightlife areas in Tokyo, choc-a-bloc with bars both respectable and not, restaurants (from fast food to memorable), as well as soaplands and other pinkish entertainment. The next door area is Yushima, renowed for its hourly rate hotels. This is Japan so it's perfectly safe, even for a single woman, but your business associates may snicker if you tell them where you stayed. However in front is Ueno Park, with the Metropolitan Museum, half a dozen other museums and galleries, the zoo, and avenues of cherry blossoms, and a short walk away is Tokyo University, at the top of Japan's "Ivy League" of universities. It's a great combination of contrasts for a tourist.

There's also the Keisei Skyliner to Narita Airport, faster than the JR Narita Express, so this is very convenient for pre- or post-flight resting.

Check out was very straightforward. I didn't have breakfast - it's a buffet in the attached Italian restaurant and was very crowded - but there were half a dozen options open in the early morning on my way to the train station, all good (and cheaper!).

This is a solid good quality hotel, a little faded, but comfortable and well located.

Room Tip: spend a little more for a room at the front - or splash out a lot for the rooftop suite with its out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    40
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
17
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from Ueno JR and Keisei station.
We booked a japanese style room. It was clean and wide, compared to Japanese Hotel's standard.
It's a pity it faced the back side of the hotel, with a view over Ueno's roofs and Tokyo's crows, not the Park's pond.
No non-smiking japanese style room were available. Nevertheless there was no smell in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

This restaurant is a perfectly pleasant place to stay, and is very convenient, being a block or so away from the Keisei Ueno train station (to catch the express from Narita Airport), the JR Ueno Station (to catch the trains and subways all around Tokyo), the Ameyoko Markets (which are adjacent to Ueno station), as well as Ueno Park itself (including the Ueno Zoo with its famous Panda Bears and many fabulous museums). A perfect spot to base yourself, with plenty to do and see close at hand. We caught the train from the airport straight to Ueno Station and easily rolled our suitcases with the kids to the Hotel.

We chose this hotel for its Tatami Rooms, which accommodated our family of four in one room at a reasonable cost. The hotel does have rooms with a view of Ueno park, but not ours, alas.

The hotel has two restaurants, one which serves a full western and Japanese menu breakfast. But this was quite expensive at ¥1,365 per person. Probably only worth it once, for the experience. Much better options present themselves at Ueno Station, with numerous coffee shops that sell reasonably priced and tasty breakfasts for tourists on the go.

Tea facilities are at hand, but only green tea is provided. I suggest bringing coffee, sugar and a teaspoon with you. We bought milk at a deli and put it in the bar fridge provided, which wasn't overly cold, but it was lovely to be able to relax in the pleasing room with a coffee.

The other restaurant serves quite classy meals for dinner, including Shabu Shabu, which is worth the experience.

Japanese dressing gowns are provided for use during your stay, together with slippers for each occupant, which you are free to take home. We brought ours home and have delighted in them.

The hotel has two exits. One faces Ueno Park, and is quite pretty and safe. The other faces onto a street full of night clubs and bars, with plenty of touts in evidence. Quite safe to walk up and down, but I would only go inside one with a group of people.

The hotel had a free internet cable that we borrowed from reception and plugged our laptop directly into their computer to be charged and to access the free internet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Easy to get to from Narita Express, 200m walk, excelent service. Nice breakfast. Italian and Shabu Shabu restaurants OK. Good rooms overlooking the park. Plenty of retaurants locally as well as a number of interesting looking clubs!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Very good hotel overlooking Ueno park and only 5-7 mins walk from Ueno Metro station so a very good location to explore Tokyo via the metro system.

Staff were friendly, spoke good English and were very polite.

My standard room was very comfortable and a good size with a very decent en suite with bath/shower. The rooms seemed a littel dated and decoration was a bit plain but the bed was big and comfy and the rooms were clean and well maintained. Ask for the highest floor you can so you get the best view of the park, which is amazing in the springtime when the blossom is in bloom.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

My husband and I visited Japan for the first time on our honeymoon in May 2010. We moved around a bit and stayed at different locations, with the first being the Hotel Park Side in Ueno. This was a great choice for first timers. It is very close to the train station (including access to the all-important Yamanoate line that connects to all the major stations in Tokyo) and it was easy to navigate to our hotel when we arrived on the Keisei Skyliner. (As a side note, if you're bringing a drag along suitcase, invest in the ones with the 360 wheels - the sidewalks are bumpy and prone to snagging wheels, so the 360 wheels proved their worth time and time again.)

The lobby of the hotel was nice and elegant and the desk attendants were polite and helpful, although not very talkative. We didn't delve into deep conversation with the hotel staff, but their English was always adequate enough to help us where needed.

We stayed in a stardard double room with parkside view. It was western-style, non-smoking, with private bathroom. My husband was surprised by the smallness of the room but it was about what I expected, given Tokyo's reputation for small rooms. There was a small closet, and the main portion of the room basically just consisted of the bed, two chairs along the wall, and a desk in front of the bed. Atop the desk sat our TV/computer. I believe you got about an hour's worth of internet time for free each day, but if you wanted to use it for longer than that you needed to purchase a time card. In any case, we didn't use the TV or internet for much other than to check the weather each day (and the first few days of our trip it sure did rain A LOT).

The bathroom was clean and roomy (my husband joked he would sleep there since it seemed larger than the room proper). It featured the characteristic high tech toilet and a western style shower.

Cleanliness is a big issue with me, and I can be a bit neurotic about staying in hotels on vacation. However I felt very comfortable at Park Side Ueno, moreso than I have felt in many U.S. hotels.

As far as Ueno itself, we found it to be the perfect Tokyo outpost for us. We loved being a little removed from the more bustling parts of Tokyo while still have access to all kinds of shops, restaurants, and attractions nearby the hotel, nevermind easy access to the train when we wanted to visit the other parts of Tokyo. We enjoyed the local temples (it's so unique to make a stop to a post office ATM and see a HUGE temple across the street as if it were the corner Walgreens) and we also went to the National Museum (easy walking distance - and we walked everywhere), which was interesting. There is also a zoo in Ueno Park, but we did not go there since I had heard the conditions were not the best for the animals. Also one day a flea market set up shop literally across the street from the hotel by the pond.

As far as the "red light" street at the back of the hotel, well, we cut through there many, many times, including at night, and it was not really much of a bother. We're from Chicago so maybe other people would feel different, but we found it to be pretty subdued.

Overall, as the title of my review sums up, we found the Hotel Park Side to be well-priced and in the perfect location for all kinds of touristy fun and adventures. At approximately $160 USD per night it was one of the more reasonably priced hotels we found while still providing the cleanliness and location we wanted. If your goal is to stay in a clean hotel in a convenient and pleasant area, without breaking the bank, you will not be disappointed in Hotel Park Side.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We came to explore and enjoy the local culture and sights. Our host Shree did not disappoint. He went out of his way to ensure our group had a great experience. The hotel was comfortable without being lavish. The staff were very welcoming and the hospitality great. Thebuffet meals were most enjoyable and the dining atmosphere relaxed. The jungle exploration was a highlight. Our group of Aussies and Canadians had an extremely enjoyable time. Thanks Shree.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Park Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Side

Address: 2-11-18 Ueno, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 110-0005 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 84 hotels in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Park Side 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Park Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Taito
Hotel Park Side Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Park Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.